INDAVID WORKSHOP

Re: Where can i get pure honey

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » January 29th, 2015, 1:29 pm

Postby SR » January 29th, 2015, 3:00 pm

Ah the 3rd test a drop on thumbnail seems to be a good way when looking to purchase from roadside vendors

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 30th, 2015, 12:45 am

dais some good info in that vid!! nice

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 2nd, 2015, 4:47 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
javishm wrote:valencia side?

Overpriced waterdown crap. Call apiaries unit of ministry of food production

they have a honey bee farm you could walk in and buy. still have a rumbottle of honey bout 3 years old still good like gold. the vendors on the road might sell crap but not the farm.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 2nd, 2015, 5:06 pm

bluesclues wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:
javishm wrote:valencia side?

Overpriced waterdown crap. Call apiaries unit of ministry of food production

they have a honey bee farm you could walk in and buy. still have a rumbottle of honey bout 3 years old still good like gold. the vendors on the road might sell crap but not the farm.

Yeah, Ministry is the best bet, the crap I was referring to are the roadside vendors

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 2nd, 2015, 5:34 pm

would you guys buy red, green and blue coloured honey? have a way to make the bees produce in different colours. would be alil more expensive tho.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 2nd, 2015, 7:04 pm

I don't mind once it have the apiary number on the bottle.

r.smith

Postby r.smith » February 2nd, 2015, 9:13 pm

I recently saw mt saint Benedict selling honey not sure if the prices are same as on d road but they have with or without d honey comb

Postby Slartibartfast » February 3rd, 2015, 8:19 am

I have some honey at home that I bought in a pharmacy (sore throat in the middle of the night and I was desperate). The bottle said "pure honey" and I pay like $50 for about 100ml cuz the lady behind the counter said "yeah that honey is the purest of the pure"

Flash forward 6 months later, the bottle has about 30ml left in it and about half of that is just sugar crystals. I get real vex.

Since then I looking for a place I could go and watch them extract the honey so I know it pure. If I find a place like that I going back to tell friends and family and I coming back to buy in bulk for everybody I know.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 3rd, 2015, 12:52 pm

My brother in law used to have an apiary

Guaranteed pure honey

But a badmind policeman thought the apiary was too close to his boundary and set everything on fire...he lost everything.

He took a while...and he moved his stuff elsewhere...once he starts back bottling...i'll post here so you guys can organise to get good stuff

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 3rd, 2015, 1:02 pm

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AIROuMdWNxY

noice! viscosity and combustibility tests.

alex jj

Postby alex jj » February 3rd, 2015, 4:10 pm

Postby mero » February 3rd, 2015, 5:27 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I have some honey at home that I bought in a pharmacy (sore throat in the middle of the night and I was desperate). The bottle said "pure honey" and I pay like $50 for about 100ml cuz the lady behind the counter said "yeah that honey is the purest of the pure"

Flash forward 6 months later, the bottle has about 30ml left in it and about half of that is just sugar crystals. I get real vex.

Since then I looking for a place I could go and watch them extract the honey so I know it pure. If I find a place like that I going back to tell friends and family and I coming back to buy in bulk for everybody I know.

Doesn't necessarily mean sugar was in it. Honey can "crystalize" too, especially if it was in a cold place

Postby Slartibartfast » February 4th, 2015, 7:07 am

Nope the honey was sitting on my counter all the time. And all of the crystals settles to the bottom. I'll upload a pic later so others dont get fooled like I did.

Postby Chimera » February 4th, 2015, 7:15 am

"Why is my honey doing this?" 

All honey will at some point turn to sugar crystals. Some other terms for it are sugared, granulation, solidifying and crystallizing. This is a natural process. The crystals may be large or small, a grainy, sandy type or smooth and creamy type. What makes it crystallize is due to the type of flower the honey bee visited when she gathered the blossom's nectar. The floral source determines whether the honey will turn into a solid form more quickly or not. Some honeys while raw will stay in a liquid form for quite a while. Other honeys will turn to a solid form with in a few weeks. This is due to how stable the sugar crystal is in the nectar. Remember the sugar crystals we made as children in grade school, we evaporated sugar water with a string dropped in it for the crystals to form on. This is similar to what is happening to the honey.

This is not honey turned bad, or anything that is affecting the taste or quality of the honey. You may find you like it in this state!! It spreads on toast or bread without dripping off. It won't run off the spoon as you take it from the jar to your hot drink. To turn it back to a liquid, pourable state, use gentle warming of the jar in hot (not boiling) water.

Honey doesn't need to be stored in the refrigerator. This speeds up the crystal formation. 

Postby adnj » February 4th, 2015, 7:42 am

landroverdefender wrote:head to maracus bay ........enroute have a honey vendor.....he there weekends

But only some weekends. They put up a sign on the North Coast Rd and are usually on the roadside near Fond Pois Doux Rd.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 4th, 2015, 1:52 pm

Thanks ABA. I tried the thumb test on the honey this morning and it was pretty thick. I'll try warming it in a water bath on the stove and trying the three tests posted in the video above once the honey cools back down.

Will let you guys know what my results are.

Postby 16 cycles » February 4th, 2015, 1:58 pm

some of the vendors put the apiary name and batch number on the bottle with a contact to call them if you need more honey.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 4th, 2015, 2:15 pm

16 cycles wrote:some of the vendors put the apiary name and batch number on the bottle with a contact to call them if you need more honey.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,181681.html wrote:President of the association, Bede Rajahram, noted it was illegal to sell honey without a label, if the label is without an apiary number, or if the honey is from overseas.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » February 4th, 2015, 2:40 pm

Th Green Market going down santa cruz side on the way to maracas. You can get with the comb in it too. Really really nice.

alex jj

Postby alex jj » February 7th, 2015, 2:39 pm

my padna has in stock right now...200 per 750 ml..pm me if anybody wants

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » February 7th, 2015, 3:09 pm

Last time i bought some i went straight to a Beekeeper up by me but that was a few years ago, will take a drive up by him and see if he still into the honey business, even got some honey comb to try

Postby nervewrecker » February 7th, 2015, 3:24 pm

Going down cedros have, $200.00 a bottle or I think $175.00.

Rancho have good honey too. Got it free for the bees we gave them.
Nine of the above complaints in this thread.
Had some honey with lime and salt earlier this week.

Bozorotty

Postby Bozorotty » December 23rd, 2015, 1:56 pm

You have any contact info for them?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 24th, 2015, 10:36 am

Kindly post numbers and or locations of what you believe to be the proper honey vendors or suppliers thank you . There was a guy on the EMR in the Valencia area . Last year I stopped and asked . When he said the price I said ok your being serious I suppose and left .

A friend hooks me up with Pax Vale Honey , I believe that this is a real as you can get .
Last edited by cornfused on December 26th, 2015, 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » December 24th, 2015, 1:30 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Th Green Market going down santa cruz side on the way to maracas. You can get with the comb in it too. Really really nice.

Yup... you can taste test the different types of honey based on where the bee farms are located.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 26th, 2015, 3:53 am

down south

them honeys real pure

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » December 26th, 2015, 7:23 am

Call this guy
Fedrick.