Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby HondaB20B » December 13th, 2015, 8:56 am

The purigen actually works great. Tried it a few mths back. I supposed to put some more in.
But Meccalli you right. great product.

But how come you still getting problems by using 2 skimmers. That should not be because your bioload is so small. Some how i think your skimmers not dialed in right. I dont even get that kind ovef issues and i overfeed my tank. And i also have some big fish so my bioload is heavy. And that was when i still had the 12" grouper in my sump

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 13th, 2015, 11:11 am

I agree with you on thw protein skimmer ... they do tend to be hrd to dial in... i have that works perfectly to my liking( dark green) the other idk what its issue(may need to change the airstone thing) but its light brown and watery

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 13th, 2015, 12:02 pm

kyhamil wrote:I agree with you on thw protein skimmer ... they do tend to be hrd to dial in... i have that works perfectly to my liking( dark green) the other idk what its issue(may need to change the airstone thing) but its light brown and watery

those airstone skimmers is real headache to dial in but is more used for nano tanks on a budget.
I running an ASM G3 skimmer on my tank for the last 4 1/2 yrs now and i have never had an issue with it. Never even change a seal. Will buy another one in a blink. No probs to dial in. I bought it from him.
I believe its the same brand he is running on the huge ones in the back

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 13th, 2015, 12:29 pm

I changed the airstone in the 1 that was goving trouble, now i cant dial it in... it needs to break in... but i wont be here from tomorrow...and i cant afford that skimmer... 400 sigh... i need to buy a chilller... thats my next investment... i want 1 that would work for up to 250 gallons

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 13th, 2015, 12:34 pm

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00AAFVPE ... V4FVHVHFVE
This is more of the value range in lookind for

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 13th, 2015, 2:47 pm

cool..................

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 13th, 2015, 2:55 pm

Lmao... i meant the price range... does have to be that 1...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » December 13th, 2015, 9:14 pm

Wow been a while since I've been on the forum boy. A nice read on this Sunday evening lol
Looking forward to that build though

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 13th, 2015, 9:41 pm

Greenlime............................ whats the scene

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » December 14th, 2015, 11:38 pm

Just cool...real pressure last few weeks. From next week I'll be off till end of January so I'll have more time with the tank.
Already seeing I have to cover some gsp and look for some frags.
How things man? Still busy as usual lol?

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 15th, 2015, 9:07 am

Yeah man, i still busy with this work here. Will be free next week so i also will have some time to see after my slightly neglected tank. Want to give a full general clean-out. Taking out all the powerheads and main pump and pulling them down and do a general on all seals, impellers and housing. Will do the same on the skimmer. Before i do this though, i have to put all the pumps on high and give all the rocks a good blowout to get all the gunk and debris in the sump. I will try the Dr Tims waste away after and see how that works. Will also do a few 50gal back to back water-changes. Hope to have the tank running as to how it used to be. One good thing is all the fish growing good and they all healthy even though there was a little lack of maintenance.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 15th, 2015, 11:07 am

^ yuh know, 3 years now I haven't cleaned my powerheads lol
coraline plating off it, and all kinda things growing on it and they all working, cheap powerheads off amazon, I just wanted to see how long they would go for.

I ordered an acrylic sump from florida giving my measurements
going with 1 sump and the genesis waterchange system.

will pass by raj this weekend and start stocking up rocks and put them in my current tank to cycle. I'm sure its going to be at least 3 months before I get that new tank up and running, maybe more.

I want to bring in this sand too.

http://www.amazon.com/CaribSea-Arag-Ali ... arag+alive

I like how this white sand looks in my tank, don't like the one from raj.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » December 15th, 2015, 11:13 am

Yeah hoping to do some of that maintenance myself between Christmas and new years. Still have to finish up some electrical on my tank that pending since carnival.

Thatlife there's a guy called Anil that's on Norman junction Gasparillo. He had that sand but I really can't remember his prices..just and option might still be cheaper to import it yourself

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 15th, 2015, 11:18 am

^ that would be a great help

anyone has a number?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 15th, 2015, 12:25 pm

thatlife wrote:^ yuh know, 3 years now I haven't cleaned my powerheads lol
coraline plating off it, and all kinda things growing on it and they all working, cheap powerheads off amazon, I just wanted to see how long they would go for.

I had done the same thing by letting the coraline grow all over the powerheads and just plating over. Looked real good. But then i realize after awhile my MP40's and Koralias were not pushing effectively so i dipped them in the vinegar solution.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 15th, 2015, 12:52 pm

I don't take chance with my ecotech powerheads, they get a cleaning when it gets bad

http://www.amazon.com/Hydor-AHYP29101-3 ... or+koralia
^ i've been using those 3 years now and never cleaned
i think flow has slowed down. but realiable for the price

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 15th, 2015, 1:22 pm

Yeah i have those and the bigger ones also. The only issue i have had with one or two of them in the past which is a complaint is the motor sticks sometimes and the impeller can go in reverse.
My 2 MP40's is still going strong after running 4.5 years and 24/7. I have never changed anything other than one power supply. I still run the same 2 wet sides. Want to upgrade the new Quietdrive controller in Jan though.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » December 15th, 2015, 5:08 pm

thatlife wrote:^ that would be a great help

anyone has a number?

Anil: 652-8551

He has some fishes too but lol if you go you'll see the quality yourself

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 16th, 2015, 6:10 am

greenlime100 wrote:
thatlife wrote:^ that would be a great help

anyone has a number?

Anil: 652-8551

He has some fishes too but lol if you go you'll see the quality yourself

If thats the travel agency/petshop/variety store/photocopy shop you talking about they are a big joke. The quality is really poor and the girl who sells you the fish has no clue. And their prices vary in what you drive up in and the moon phases. Went there one morning and the only thing i was going to take was the Skunk cleaner shrimp which was a good deal. They were $250/each. There was only 2 so i asked the girl if they have access to more and she said yes. I told her that i wanted 6 so she called the boss and he said check back later in the evening. When i went to pick up the shrimp, she said that they had made a slight mistake with the price and it was a lil more. I said ok, no probs. Saying in my mind that a slight mistake sometimes happens)
Ok, how much i have for you?.................... oh its $375 each now. I was like WHATTTTT!!!!!!
She said yeah, its imported and if they sell it cheaper, they wont make anything on it. I was like its ok. As i was leaving she called the boss quickly and then told me the boss said he will sell me it for $365....................... :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
I just jump in my van and left

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » December 16th, 2015, 10:14 am

Haha yeah some of those prices are ridiculous. When I was doing my friend's 200gal tank she stopped and told us they have anything and everything... We called them a couple days after and just bought the caribsea sand and I think a few of the dry rocks.
Their livestock I won't trust but dry goods I don't mind.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 16th, 2015, 10:55 am

How the Maxspect Gyre Pump working. Didnt you buy one?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » December 16th, 2015, 1:08 pm

Yup I did and couldn't be happier. Its only on 60% powered and moving everything in the tank. It really does push a crazy amount of water

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 16th, 2015, 3:17 pm

you saw my tank, you figure that will work good on mine?

dgobo

Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby dgobo » December 17th, 2015, 8:18 am

Yeah, it'll will work great in your tank and I've got mine for sale

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 17th, 2015, 8:28 am

will give you a check early next week

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » December 17th, 2015, 12:05 pm

dgobo wrote:Yeah, it'll will work great in your tank and I've got mine for sale

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yup what he said

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 17th, 2015, 1:43 pm

Cool.....

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 18th, 2015, 10:01 am

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 18th, 2015, 10:43 am

Stepped into petsmart and petco to see what they had... petsmart barely even had food, petco had better variety and a nice collection of fish, but some of them looked sick... still no protein skimmer, however their prices on the reef lights werent that bad... 100-250 depending on the length ranging from 2'-5'

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 18th, 2015, 3:13 pm

Petsmart and petco is ah joke to go for saltwater stuff. you have to google saltwater petstores in whatever part of the US you in. You have to check what reef lights it is. Waste of time if you buying 1watt LED's to do any good