Government buys 10 Cazabon paintings for $3.1 million

Postby stev » December 10th, 2015, 4:58 pm

i dont really care for politics but was this really necessary? :| #recession

Date: Thursday, December 10, 2015

The Government has acquired several original paintings done by late Trinidad and Tobago artist, Michel-Jean Cazabon for around TT$2 million dollars.

Communications Minister Maxie Cuffie says the painting were being auctioned at Christie's Auction House in London on October 29th this year but says the Government felt it was best to have the paintings acquired as part of the country's heritage.

He says the Government is making arrangements for them to be stored locally and adds that they will form part of an exhibition in 2016 where all the works will be unveiled.

The paintings are:

1. Maracas Valley, Trinidad - GBP 32,500

2. Canon, North Post, Diego Martin, Trinidad - GBP 21,250

3. Landscape, Trinidad - GBP 10,625

4. Five Islands from Carenage - GBP 20,000

5. Thatched Hut on a Cocoa Estate, Trinidad - GBP 22,500

6. Dry River, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad - GBP 25,000

7. Tomb, Maracas Valley, Trinidad - GBP 22,500

8. Sunlit Diego Martin from Fort George, Trinidad - GBP 43,750

9. Governor's Residence, St Anns - GBP 21,250

At the new conference the Minister had also announced the following three paintings in his list:

10. Landscape with figures and horse by bridge - GBP 16,000

11. Navigating shallow waters in Caribbean - GBP 27,500

12. View of Trinity Church from Laventille Hill - GBP 50,000

That took the sum to approximately TT$3.16 million.

The Ministry of Communications would later send a statement correcting the Minister's error.

It stated,

"Today, Thursday December 10, at the Post Cabinet press conference, the Honourable Maxie Cuffie, Minister of Communications indicated that Government had acquired the paintings of Michel- Jean Cazabon. These ten paintings which were acquired via auction in the United Kingdom, were purchased at a hammer price of £191,500.

Correction: Contrary to the earlier statement made by Minister Cuffie, the paintings “Navigating Shallow Waters in the Caribbean” and “View of Trinity Church from Laventille” were not acquired by Government at this auction."

The press release made no mention of the painting, "Landscape with figures and horse by bridge for GBP 16,000".

Checks to the Aution House showed that 11 paintings were sold on that day, including the two the Minister said the Government was unable to acquire.

Michel-Jean Cazabon (September 20, 1813 – November 20, 1888) is regarded as the first great Trinidadian painter and is Trinidad's first internationally known artist.

He is also known as the layman painter. He is renowned for his paintings of Trinidad scenery and for his portraits of planters, merchants and their family in the 19th century.

Cazabon's paintings have left a clear picture of the many aspects of life in Trinidad through much of the 19th century.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/gov ... -2-million

RoTaRyBoYz

Re: Government buys 10 Cazabon paintings for $2 million

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 10th, 2015, 5:09 pm

Good job on the government buying them.. otherwise they would have probably been split up and sold internationally. BTW, I don't see what "recession" have to do with historic preservation.

Re: Government buys 10 Cazabon paintings for $3.1 million

Postby stev » December 10th, 2015, 5:17 pm

i dont support any of the political parties in this country....just thought it was a waste of money.

...they should provide printouts of these paintings for everyone in the country so we can look at them while we are in traffic or being murdered. :lol:

i cudnt care less for history...waste of time IMO....only care about moving forward.

antlind

Postby antlind » December 10th, 2015, 5:18 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Good job on the government buying them.. otherwise they would have probably been split up and sold internationally. BTW, I don't see what "recession" have to do with historic preservation.

It's all about prioritizing spending and optics. Jawala tells the whole world that we are in a recession and then Cuffie goes and dumps $3M on art work. Doesn't look as though this government has its priorities straight. Historic preservation is important but not at this time.

Postby MaxPower » December 10th, 2015, 5:19 pm

Small money for small matters..

Postby stev » December 10th, 2015, 5:27 pm

MaxPower wrote:Small money for small matters..

it is small money but whether it's 3 million or 30 million....it was poorly spent.

Postby Spitfir3 » December 10th, 2015, 5:35 pm

i could just imagine the froth if it was the PP that did this there would be a foam party happenin all now

Postby rspann » December 10th, 2015, 5:46 pm

How is this news now? This happened since October and the PM explained it at that time.

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2015, 5:49 pm

stev wrote:

it is small money but whether it's 3 million or 30 million....it was poorly spent.

Really?

What would you think would be a better use of the money?

Postby stev » December 10th, 2015, 5:55 pm

Redman wrote:
stev wrote:

Really?

anything other than a bunch of stupid paintings...

how can these paintings benefit the country?

plz don't say some nonsense about history....Trinidad history aint that great...let's be real :|

also...why hide these paintings in our tiny country? why not give it to an international art museum for the whole world to see?...probably those museums didnt want it in d 1st place :lol:

Postby rspann » December 10th, 2015, 6:04 pm

Redman wrote:
stev wrote:

Really?

They could have given it to Anil, Ruth and Adolphus Daniel.............

Postby De Dragon » December 10th, 2015, 6:06 pm

Good buy, now hopefully they will be properly displayed for people to go and see them.

Postby rspann » December 10th, 2015, 6:07 pm

De Dragon wrote:Good buy, now hopefully they will be properly displayed for people to go and see them.

This is very important.

Postby pete » December 10th, 2015, 6:28 pm

So nice to hear about the government spending 3million on something like this when they owing you 2 and saying they have no money to pay.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Postby S_2NR » December 10th, 2015, 6:31 pm

Lol pnm unc same sheit

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 10th, 2015, 6:33 pm

So 3 mill in painting but we in the ministry of (*%($*% could only get napkins instead of toilet paper. Seems legit, I guess the reasoning would be napkins could wipe your face and yuh ass.

Postby stev » December 10th, 2015, 6:36 pm

S_2NR wrote:Lol pnm unc same sheit

/thread

Postby shogun » December 10th, 2015, 6:52 pm

Lmao.

I think people here equate fine art with the cars in their garages. Well known works of art by known artists typically tend to appreciate over time, especially deceased artists. In the next 10 years could be worth a lot more. Good investment.

Postby 1UZFE » December 10th, 2015, 6:54 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:i could just imagine the froth if it was the PP that did this there would be a foam party happenin all now

Is we time now....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 10th, 2015, 6:57 pm

Redman wrote:
stev wrote:

Really?

Maybe buying chairs for students since many schools seem to chairs in total sheit condition damaging school uniforms etc.

I like the paintings though I think its important to have them but had this been PP buying this the media would go all ape sheit about it, now they very quiet.

Postby Habit7 » December 10th, 2015, 7:23 pm

PNM has an uphill battle to getting some in the public to appreciate this. In 2013 others saw the value of these paintings and STOLE THEM. www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-07-30/stol ... -valued-1m

Probably a new thrust in our tourism could be being a home of Caribbean fine art. Thousands visit the Guggenheim in NYC and in my view it is not as interesting as the Natural History museum nearby.

But buying an appreciating asset like fine art can never be a waste of money.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 10th, 2015, 7:24 pm

Them paintings gong to last far longer than Box Drain or roads.

And it gives our Museum something to actually exhibit.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » December 10th, 2015, 7:40 pm

shogun wrote:Lmao.

I think people here equate fine art with the cars in their garages. Well known works of art by known artists typically tend to appreciate over time, especially deceased artists. In the next 10 years could be worth a lot more. Good investment.

Thank you. To the poster who says our history isn't great, how will you know when you shoot it down so? We have a rich history, if we had embraced and developed it instead of ignoring it, the magnificent seven would be open for all citizens & visitors to visit. We would be making money from them, not just spending money. Why do you think the UK and Paris are such popular tourist destinations? Their history (both the good and bad aspects of it), and they are making millions of dollars because of it.

Ihope these painting will be displayed, and are part of a larger plan to showcase our history. Teaching and showing our history would also encourage us to be more nationalistic rather than selfish.

Postby Gladiator » December 10th, 2015, 7:50 pm

If I was Cazabon I would have preferred my paintings be dispersed internationally so that my name can become famous and Trinidad can get exposure.... instead they are returned to the dot on the map that they were created in for a measly 1M people to see...
Last edited by Gladiator on December 10th, 2015, 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » December 10th, 2015, 7:54 pm

Gladiator wrote:If I was Cazabon I would have preferred my paintings be dispersed internationally so that my name can become famous and Trinidad can get exposure.... instead they are returned to the dot on the map that they were painted in for a measly 1M people to see...

You know if we didn't buy it, one person would buy it and only he can control who sees it?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » December 10th, 2015, 8:19 pm

tiger balm wrote:
shogun wrote:Lmao.

Thank you. To the poster who says our history isn't great, how will you know when you shoot it down so? We have a rich history, if we had embraced and developed it instead of ignoring it, the magnificent seven would be open for all citizens & visitors to visit. We would be making money from them, not just spending money. Why do you think the UK and Paris are such popular tourist destinations? Their history (both the good and bad aspects of it), and they are making millions of dollars because of it.

Ihope these painting will be displayed, and are part of a larger plan to showcase our history. Teaching and showing our history would also encourage us to be more nationalistic rather than selfish.

It was a very good move to buy and preserve our cultural heritage. The people criticizing this probably supported the destruction of the Greyfriars Church as well. A people with no cultural heritage have nothing to base their identity on. If you dont know where you came from, how can you chart your way forward.

This is better than spending 6 million dollars for a box drain.....and at least its not being purchased in some secret back room office like the secret contracts that were being doled out in the Ministry of Education Facilities Company Ltd.

Postby 1UZFE » December 10th, 2015, 8:55 pm

EmilioA wrote:Them paintings gong to last far longer than Box Drain or roads.

And it gives our Museum something to actually exhibit.

:-(

Postby S_2NR » December 10th, 2015, 8:58 pm

amd-dude wrote:So 3 mill in painting but we in the ministry of (*%($*% could only get napkins instead of toilet paper. Seems legit, I guess the reasoning would be napkins could wipe your face and yuh ass.

Hoss tell me you joking... Please God be joking... Hahahahahhaha

Postby Gladiator » December 10th, 2015, 9:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:If I was Cazabon I would have preferred my paintings be dispersed internationally so that my name can become famous and Trinidad can get exposure.... instead they are returned to the dot on the map that they were painted in for a measly 1M people to see...

You know if we didn't buy it, one person would buy it and only he can control who sees it?

Fact of the matter is that the paintings aren't worth jack. 3.1M TTD is chicken feed in the art world. And is not even for one painting is for 12....

These pieces are young and the only thing that could benefit them and the artist and by extension T&T is exposure.

They should have let a big museum or art house purchase these so that it can be shared internationally. If the PM had purchased a Picasso or something then we could have called it an investment. but then that would have cost >US$50M and the critics would have much panties in a bunch.

This is the problem with us Trini's, our thinking is proportional to our landmass...

Daran

Postby Daran » December 10th, 2015, 9:01 pm

Well art is usually an investment.

But honestly this was a pointless purchase. We should have bought one at most. That same money could have been used to help local artists right now who could use with some government encouragement especially with the looming recession.

If PP were in power this would have gone viral and nessicated a public statement by Kamla. PNM have it nice.