:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 4th, 2015, 11:53 am

have to agree , drill may not have enough power or can over heat ...

Postby 3stagevtec » December 4th, 2015, 4:59 pm

I just can't handle the prices some machine shops does want to charge to do simple bushing work.. I would rather use the same money and invest it in tools and do the job myself. I have built crude DIY 'lathes' in the past to build custom bushes to mount radiators etc.. Like this for example:

Amazon also has a small hobby lathe, cheap design using a drill and a small frame to hold it:

I understand the side load and excessive run out issues, but I am stubborn too bad, have strong faith in my Milwaukee and would use it for mostly bushing making, so i figure it is worth a gamble.. (in the future, if this shows decent potential, I could always bearing mount the chuck to reduce runout, and create a dampered drive system powered by the drill..)

I will continue researching chucks and update on how this works out.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » December 4th, 2015, 6:20 pm

Regarding the chuck capacity...the chuck can hold work with both in inside of the jaws and the outside of the jaws...thats what those little steps are for on the outer jaws. Independent jaw chucks are very nice for precision work where you would use a dial test indicator to adjust each jaw for minimum runout. Once u learn to dial in a independent jaw chuck it becomes second nature.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 4th, 2015, 6:51 pm

Anyone knws where has elmers spray adhesive?

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2015, 6:55 pm

Probably bhagwansingh piarco

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 4th, 2015, 6:57 pm

Sold out...

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby Trini Hookah » December 4th, 2015, 8:32 pm

Where cud i get a good micro/precision screwdriver set?

Reputable brand preferably.

Sent from my SM-N900 using Tapatalk

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 4th, 2015, 10:18 pm

iFixit has a excellent set. Got mine a few years ago for 80US still here. The bits are a little on the soft side but aye I rather strip a bit that a small screw. Once you not over tightening, it won't be an issue.

https://www.ifixit.com/Store/Tools/Pro- ... /IF145-072

Postby 3stagevtec » December 4th, 2015, 11:24 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Regarding the chuck capacity...the chuck can hold work with both in inside of the jaws and the outside of the jaws...thats what those little steps are for on the outer jaws. Independent jaw chucks are very nice for precision work where you would use a dial test indicator to adjust each jaw for minimum runout. Once u learn to dial in a independent jaw chuck it becomes second nature.

I have a dial gauge.. Thanks for that info, was not aware..

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » December 8th, 2015, 6:35 am

I got some Milwaukee cordless tools here for sale, check them out:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=649979&p=8985688#p8985688

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=651883&hilit=Milwaukee

Postby black start » December 13th, 2015, 5:52 pm

Allied have a cordless bosch 18v hammer drill kit for about $850...

Postby black start » December 13th, 2015, 5:53 pm

3stage, why not get a reasonable size 110v motor and use that as the driving force?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 13th, 2015, 6:04 pm

black start wrote:Allied have a cordless bosch 18v hammer drill kit for about $850...

wogyad :shock:

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2015, 7:53 pm

lithium or nicd ?

thestroke

Postby thestroke » December 14th, 2015, 7:09 pm

Lithium and brush less!! Insane deal. With one year warranty too. I bought one today. Its $200us on Amazon. Was $950 total from allied, the 8 something price is without vat. Model hds182-02

Postby brams112 » December 14th, 2015, 8:05 pm

black start wrote:Allied have a cordless bosch 18v hammer drill kit for about $850...

Quick,check and see where that Bosch was made.

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2015, 10:23 pm

Yeah that is a very good deal.
I think allied is a bosch dealer.

Postby Morpheus » December 14th, 2015, 10:37 pm

Checked one or two places for these sizes. Steups. Brought in my own sheit...

Axle Nut socket set

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2015, 10:28 am

where would you get a tool draw at the best price locally

bigger the better

make sense buying online and sea freighting in?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 15th, 2015, 12:22 pm

Morpheus wrote:Checked one or two places for these sizes. Steups. Brought in my own sheit...

Axle Nut socket set

Lemme geh a borrow nah!

*winkeye

Lance

Postby Lance » December 15th, 2015, 12:44 pm

Anywhere in the east stocking helicoil kits
Looking for an m12x1.5 and an m10x1.5

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 15th, 2015, 2:43 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Checked one or two places for these sizes. Steups. Brought in my own sheit...

Lemme geh a borrow nah!

*winkeye

I go take a borrow after!

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 15th, 2015, 4:24 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:where would you get a tool draw at the best price locally... bigger the better
Make sense buying online and sea freighting in?
buying online and sea freighting in... Yup! but DON'T buy "new". "Surplus" or "used" on eBay (or Amazon) FTW :!:
Don't know what current local prices are like... but when I bought 4 ebay Cabinets a few years ago, the cheaper ones were 1/5 to 1/4 of local prices... & much better quality too.
Link--> THE ASYLUM!... Workshops & Tools for DIY Madmen - page 2.
eg. 52", 12-drawer Kennedy Maintenance Pro = $600 US (66% lower than US retail.) New today = $2700-3600 US! Image

Forget "local"... Except for gov't contracts etc., nobody would import that quality for the local retail market. :roll:
Sanctifier wrote:BTW check 'Page 1' in the link for "drill-press" prices... 8-)
IMHO DON'T HURRY. Troll ebay. Bargains may take awhile... but they do turn up.

My Image

Postby Ted_v2 » December 16th, 2015, 5:32 am

really need to get myself one of those axle socket kits.

what sizes are they?
34?

Postby Morpheus » December 16th, 2015, 6:24 pm

^^^30, 32, 34, 36.....

1/2 inch

Postby black start » December 16th, 2015, 6:40 pm

32 does work for most of them Nissans...

Bout $80 I paid for my Stanley 1/2" socket

And then about a week later got a deal on amazon for a Stanley deep socket kit for $15us :shock:

hindian

Postby hindian » December 16th, 2015, 8:42 pm

As we on the vehicle talk fellas, I'm looking for a good quality 12 volt tyre inflator, any suggestions as to brand/type/price? I'm seeing a few of them but I'm not sure of the build quality and they kinda on the cheap side and in my past experiences with buying tools, cheap ting no good...

hindian

Postby hindian » December 16th, 2015, 8:44 pm

As we on the vehicle talk fellas, I'm looking for a good quality 12 volt tyre inflator, any suggestions as to brand/type/price? I'm seeing a few of them but I'm not sure of the build quality and they kinda on the cheap side and in my past experiences with buying tools, cheap ting no good...

TechArt

Postby TechArt » December 16th, 2015, 9:11 pm

Viair 88P Portable Air Compressor get one of these and call it a day, the cheap ones work ok for a tire low on air. But when it really counts the firetruck thing could let you down, so been there and done that sheit.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 16th, 2015, 9:30 pm

hindian wrote:As we on the vehicle talk fellas, I'm looking for a good quality 12 volt tyre inflator, any suggestions as to brand/type/price? I'm seeing a few of them but I'm not sure of the build quality and they kinda on the cheap side and in my past experiences with buying tools, cheap ting no good...

An autoshop in Longdenville have one for $120