Working in the UAE

Postby S_2NR » November 21st, 2015, 5:46 pm

Any tuners worked there and willing to share their experience?
Exploring job opportunities.
Thanks

Re: Working in the UAE

Postby supercharged turbo » November 21st, 2015, 6:02 pm

In for info

Postby Kenjo » November 22nd, 2015, 6:02 am

I can't say specifically but the nurses , pilots, flight attendants and few other people I have met that worked there are quite well off, full health benefits. If you get the chance even to go for a few years then definitely go. As to if you have family and have to uproot them that's a next story

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 6:20 am

Had a family member that live 10 years in Saudi as a nurse. Made a huge amount of $$$. It's a Muslim world so they are very strict where women are concerned. It's just a place for working so don't expect living the live with entertainment.
Dubai on the other hand is a different world.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 22nd, 2015, 10:19 am

supercharged turbo wrote:In for info

Postby S_2NR » November 26th, 2015, 5:52 am

young and not married so no uprooting involved.
thanks

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » November 26th, 2015, 6:18 am

i hear they paying $30k US a month and people abandon ferarris there

daas

Postby daas » November 26th, 2015, 8:33 am

Could look into ESL teaching there, employment opportunities are boundless. I myself got the opportunity to teach there but I chickened out due to perceived high cost of living, climate etc.

Postby tr1ad » November 26th, 2015, 8:44 am

S_2NR wrote:young and not married so no uprooting involved.
thanks

would be simple enough, depending on the job mostly camp life (community)
as ZR said before, muslim country so very limited....

but

money to be made

trail of thought... get in, make money, get out
most rotations tend to be 90/14 - 3 months work, 2 weeks home

work permit is fairly simple and easy

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 27th, 2015, 8:51 am

Cousin works in Dubai and Bahrain. She typically goes for about 8 months then back home for a monthish. As stated above for women yes they strict like that but the kinda $$ she making she will be clocking 7 figures in savings before 35 I'm sure.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 27th, 2015, 7:34 pm

amd-dude wrote:Cousin works in Dubai and Bahrain. She typically goes for about 8 months then back home for a monthish. As stated above for women yes they strict like that but the kinda $$ she making she will be clocking 7 figures in savings before 35 I'm sure.

what she working as?

was wondering what kind of jobs available in dubai so

Postby desifemlove » November 27th, 2015, 9:55 pm

i did hear dey ent like black people...so no.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 27th, 2015, 10:30 pm

Kewell35 wrote:
amd-dude wrote:Cousin works in Dubai and Bahrain. She typically goes for about 8 months then back home for a monthish. As stated above for women yes they strict like that but the kinda $$ she making she will be clocking 7 figures in savings before 35 I'm sure.

what she working as?

Dunno the specifics but she works with Schlumberger.

Postby zoom rader » November 27th, 2015, 11:25 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

what she working as?

Here is the driff.

Working in Dudai/Saudi/UAE depends on where u come from. If you are from India, Philippines, china ect then you get paid according to your country rate (low Pay)
If USA/UK then expect the big rates.
For Trinis you need to work with an expat company to get the high end rates eg BG , BP ect.
The same applies for Nurses, if you are a Trini nurse but registered in the UK then u get the UK rates. If your a Trini registered nurse then u get the Trini rates.

Postby Chimera » November 28th, 2015, 11:05 am

good info zoom ^^

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2015, 2:12 pm

What trini nurses normally do is work in the UK and register in UK when their contact is up they simply move to the Mid East and make the big $$$.

Oil workers normally work 1 month on and 1 month off on the riggs. UK oilmen make about £500 a day tax free but they don't get paid for their 1 month off.
There are Indian nationals that work on the riggs as stewards/ cooks / cleaners. These Indians spend an entire year on the riggs cause it cheaper for them to stay on board and save money. While UK/USA/Trin gets flown back home on their offtime, the Indians don't get that and have a choice to go main land. They refuse mainland cause it's a cost for them to rents/eat. On the riggs they don't have that cost but they only get paid straight time.
After a year's they normally return to india to buy up lands and open businesses.

It all depends on where u work and what u do to make the money.
Even hoes make big $$$ and goes by what nationally they are.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 30th, 2015, 12:13 pm

Having worked in Oman, I can tell you it is not a bed of roses. It is not that all people make it out to be. I will never ever return to the middle-east. PM if you want the real low down what they dont tell you...

Postby zoom rader » November 30th, 2015, 1:00 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Having worked in Oman, I can tell you it is not a bed of roses. It is not that all people make it out to be. I will never ever return to the middle-east. PM if you want the real low down what they dont tell you...

Best share it here bro so others can learn
I heard a few stories from fellow expats.

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2015, 1:24 pm

heard of more good than bad....
but so it goes, even in other countries as always

Postby zoom rader » November 30th, 2015, 1:59 pm

tr1ad wrote:heard of more good than bad....

It all depends on what nationally you are.
They treat certain nationalities different.
Arabs normally treat certain outsiders as servants or near slaves if ur African Indian, Philippines ect you are at the bottom of the ladder as they do the bottom jobs.

Trini indos in the big jobs get big $$$ but most often they get taken for Indian nationals and treated at the bottom if the Arabs don't know who u are.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 30th, 2015, 9:07 pm

tr1ad wrote:heard of more good than bad....

It all depends on what nationally you are.
They treat certain nationalities different.
Arabs normally treat certain outsiders as servants or near slaves if ur African Indian, Philippines ect you are at the bottom of the ladder as they do the bottom jobs.

Trini indos in the big jobs get big $$$ but most often they get taken for Indian nationals and treated at the bottom if the Arabs don't know who u are.

How they go kno? what if you is a fair indian and look arab :D

Postby S_2NR » November 30th, 2015, 9:33 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Having worked in Oman, I can tell you it is not a bed of roses. It is not that all people make it out to be. I will never ever return to the middle-east. PM if you want the real low down what they dont tell you...

Pm sent

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2015, 9:41 pm

So why it have to be via pm? Why not share

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 30th, 2015, 10:07 pm

post it bro people think running away is the answer ... i heard some stories o also ... is bess u stay rite here and catch ya ass ..

u sure u could go down d road and get a plate ah food ... not over dey wok wok ... ant more wok

Postby S_2NR » November 30th, 2015, 10:12 pm

Tax free salary and full benefits always come with some sacrifice. Salary there in my field starts at 10K USD/month.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 30th, 2015, 10:31 pm

S_2NR wrote:Tax free salary and full benefits always come with some sacrifice. Salary there in my field starts at 10K USD/month.

how u going to get the job ?

wa field u in again civil ...

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 30th, 2015, 10:48 pm

tr1ad wrote:So why it have to be via pm? Why not share

Postby brams112 » December 1st, 2015, 6:38 am

Boi the money nice yeah,but the cult that giving trouble,dais a different story,some men does glad to be back home,but when you sign a contract you got to take the risk,is.Figure it out it here.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 1st, 2015, 11:06 am

What is the starting salary on entry level positions in Customer Service and in the Energy Sector ?

Postby S_2NR » December 1st, 2015, 9:49 pm

^^google the companies you are interested. look at careers page.
submit resume. if you are qualified they will make contact.