PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 28th, 2015, 6:32 am

I in my own bubble? alright I guess so is every software engineer and computer scientist in Microsoft seeing that they created DX 11 and stated its obvious limitations in multi threading.

So yeah I go live in my own bubble, its quite nice inside here actually, being in a SANE bubble and all.

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 28th, 2015, 7:43 am

Wait until next year when people start using be headsets my rift eats my oc for breakfast in some games elite dangerous particularly

Postby ismithx » October 28th, 2015, 8:29 am

effectic, do you understand intel hyperthreading and how applications interact with it?

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » October 29th, 2015, 9:46 pm

Intel sux, AMD rux.

Postby ismithx » October 29th, 2015, 10:06 pm

FX8350 masterrace

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » October 30th, 2015, 11:32 am

Speaking of which, anyone interested:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=646805

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 30th, 2015, 2:14 pm

nick639 wrote:I aint no pro but this seems like a pretty good deal and he gives warranty for 6 months if i'm not mistaken..

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1446228111.776079.jpg

Edit: thinking about getting it for minor gaming, little cs:go, gmod etc

Not bad at all.

The onboard graphics should be capable for some light gaming. Ran NFS Hot Pursuit 2010 @ 1080p high settings smoothly on the i7-3770's integrated HD 4000 gpu.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 30th, 2015, 2:33 pm

nick639 wrote:^^ please advise, it fits into my 3000-3500 price range for those parts... Or if you have a better combo I should give a look feel free to post

That's a good combo, was showing my co worker this exact thing this morning as he wants to build a new computer for his son.

Just don't skimp on the psu

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 30th, 2015, 2:34 pm

^ the only thing with the 3770 and 4770 is the paste that intel uses between the heat spreader and the CPU die. Its not good, deliding the chip and putting in a high quality paste maybe liquid metal paste makes a huge difference in temp for overclocking.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 30th, 2015, 2:36 pm

nick639 wrote:^^^ will be a starter system, graphics card will be updated next month to the gtx 750ti

Had a gtx 750 before, was amazing for what it was. No aux power needed too.

The combo very good for the price. 8gb ram is enough for most games and you have 2 extra slots for future memory upgrades. With that combo u should only need to upgrade the gpu for more gaming power.

Next step would be a decent brand power supply, a 500-550w minimum should do.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 30th, 2015, 3:05 pm

i don't think you will find a better combo for that price, add a capable graphics card to that and you have more than just a "starter system"

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 30th, 2015, 5:05 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ the only thing with the 3770 and 4770 is the paste that intel uses between the heat spreader and the CPU die. Its not good, deliding the chip and putting in a high quality paste maybe liquid metal paste makes a huge difference in temp for overclocking.

While what you say is true. .... It wouldn't apply to this cpu as it will barely exceed 4ghz if at all possible via overclocking; cause it is not a K series processor.
That price sounds very good for that combo though.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 30th, 2015, 8:31 pm

^ Ow ho I thought it was the K series they was selling.

Well yeah if its a non K series then no need to delid anything. Hmm well the deal still seems sort of ok instead of good now, but if it was me I would buy a Skylake i5 K series on Amazon for overclocking, and get newer DDR 4 platform thats just overall newer for less than what they selling there.

Or simply buy this and still come out cheaper

http://www.amazon.com/Intel-Xeon-Proces ... +e3+3.4ghz

Its basically a core i7 with dGPU disabled for only $250 the price of an i5K series. If you are a gamer you not gonna be gaming on dGPU anyways.

Postby ismithx » November 2nd, 2015, 6:49 pm

awww man, got my hyper 212 evo today, so wow, much cool.

edit: so I stress tested it and i literally cannot get my fx8350 above 55C. well done. that's like a 20C improvement at max temp over the stock cooler

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2015, 2:17 am

^ How much you paid for the 212 evo?

Overall I found Noctua to be of better quality for overclocking. I ended up buying this on sale for $50

http://www.amazon.com/Noctua-Cooler-201 ... rds=noctua

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 3rd, 2015, 8:54 am

Can never go wrong with the hyper 212 (in any iteration) noctua is good too, can't speak for all but the D14 I had runs with AIO liquid coolers but a custom loop is just more fun and definitely is a nice experience to build.

Side note though, anyone has a 360 rad they want to sell me, if it comes with 3/8 barbs that would be nice too. Going to add my 970's to the loop so I need more rads.

Postby ismithx » November 3rd, 2015, 9:26 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ How much you paid for the 212 evo?

Overall I found Noctua to be of better quality for overclocking. I ended up buying this on sale for $50

http://www.amazon.com/Noctua-Cooler-201 ... rds=noctua

paid about 26USD

Postby Spitfir3 » November 3rd, 2015, 10:16 am

smart move on upgrading the heatsink/fan that stock amd cooler is vomit

i think im using the evo as well i really can't remember as i changed that out so long ago but it was a worthy upgrade

Postby Chimera » November 4th, 2015, 5:41 pm

About 3 or 4 years ago i had a pc built at home by my parents....doh rly use it or live there anymore....yesterday is the first time i really watch it in a long time lol
1446673263751.jpg

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 4th, 2015, 8:32 pm

nick639 wrote:graphics card will be updated next month to the gtx 750ti

any reason for this and not a gtx 950/960?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 4th, 2015, 9:22 pm

^ say what the 750 TI is still pretty good.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 6th, 2015, 2:29 am

nick639 wrote:^^ getting it 2nd hand for FREEE loll

Can't beat that price :grin:

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » November 6th, 2015, 11:43 am

eh eh good ting i pop open this thread, i knew i took a picture and forgot to put it up for you guys.

Postby sMASH » November 6th, 2015, 8:44 pm

^^ 3d?

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 7th, 2015, 10:04 am

Going with a "budget" build. X79 and a 3930k. Recently sold out all my amd stuff. Chip and board will be $2500. Should I go with it? Board is the ASRock Fatality Professional for $120us.

Postby ismithx » November 7th, 2015, 7:05 pm

just got my FX8350 on a stable overclock at 4.21 GHz.... no overvolting required.

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2015, 10:04 am

Postby skylinechild » November 18th, 2015, 10:53 am

nervewrecker wrote:https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B002BH3UDY/ref=sr_1_7_olp?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1447855154&sr=1-7&keywords=ssd&condition=new

120gb ssd for approx $30

https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing ... dition=new

san disk for approx $50.00

ay..check me nuh..u forget i man oar...

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 23rd, 2015, 9:27 pm

960GB SSD for $200
480GB SSD for $110

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M8ABHVQ

Not sure how long it will remain at that price.

Postby Spitfir3 » December 1st, 2015, 8:24 am

gotta get me a new keyboard so many options though

looking for something fairly cheap im thinking the g105 or steel series apex