3ne2nr fishermen

30hz

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby 30hz » October 27th, 2015, 10:18 pm

When we leave Chaguaramas n reach the trawling grounds from bocas to maracas, we see men throwing line from the rocks in the patna area. I could tell its dangerous cause those king/carite/tuna/dolli/bonito don't lift up easy from the saltwater. You gotta go bring em out of the water, by hand. One bad wave and its over

You hadda have real belly to reach there, and more belly to fish there. You could see the danger from the open water.

Fishing there use to be on my bucket list. Removed it, cause the robbery I can't handle

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 28th, 2015, 6:57 am

Reading what you guys have posted about these rocks definitely sends a chill down my spine. I feel the same way about the fishing point up on the north coast near inside the village by the health center, up by the fort (can't remember the exact name now). There is a certain level of irriness when fishing there - I simply don't like it at all.

Anyone have pics of these rocks ?

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 28th, 2015, 7:52 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Reading what you guys have posted about these rocks definitely sends a chill down my spine. I feel the same way about the fishing point up on the north coast near inside the village by the health center, up by the fort (can't remember the exact name now). There is a certain level of irriness when fishing there - I simply don't like it at all.

Fishing by the health center is nothing compared to these rocks we talking about....fishing by the health center is childs play compared to there

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 28th, 2015, 9:47 am

^ Somebody throw up some pics of these forbidden rocks

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 28th, 2015, 10:05 am

30hz wrote:When we leave Chaguaramas n reach the trawling grounds from bocas to maracas, we see men throwing line from the rocks in the patna area. I could tell its dangerous cause those king/carite/tuna/dolli/bonito don't lift up easy from the saltwater. You gotta go bring em out of the water, by hand. One bad wave and its over

You hadda have real belly to reach there, and more belly to fish there. You could see the danger from the open water.

Fishing there use to be on my bucket list. Removed it, cause the robbery I can't handle

If you are referring to the rocks via north post in diego Martin. Guys have been washed away to sea and died a few years ago

Postby SMc » October 28th, 2015, 10:08 am

^they are just pretty much a cliff face with some areas to stand/ fish off of near the bottom...looking at them in a picture will not show the danger involved in fishing there nor how steep it really is. If you really want to see make the hike to the top from Diego side and look for yourself.

Anyway,I always wondered what them fellas did when they hold something big and hadda climb up the cliff afterwards.

30hz

Postby 30hz » October 28th, 2015, 11:36 am

BlueIce wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:Reading what you guys have posted about these rocks definitely sends a chill down my spine. I feel the same way about the fishing point up on the north coast near inside the village by the health center, up by the fort (can't remember the exact name now). There is a certain level of irriness when fishing there - I simply don't like it at all.

Fishing by the health center is nothing compared to these rocks we talking about....fishing by the health center is childs play compared to there

That's Fort Abercrombie, just after Las Cuevas

there easy to handle, kids and girls could go there. Dry season you could drive right up to the cannons with a car. I've seen ppl dive n bathe there.

Night fishing there might be interesting though

wetfowl

Postby wetfowl » October 28th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Its a better view from the saftey of being in a boat compared to climbing down a slippery grass and mud trail , I went to see this best fishing area with a man name Hulk. From la pureta and when he smoke he weed he ent feeling no scrapes from then jagged rock and bull grass , I could not have made it on a normal head I did not even ketch a fish but men pulling up long fish almost my height , not much because you have to carry it out on your back , any how made another trip with hulk and we ketch some cray fishing which is less ridk in a steady stream of water leading to shodo point

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 28th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Hav real fish giving away on d north...wahoo, mahi, kingfish and some tuna...who fishing?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 28th, 2015, 7:00 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Hav real fish giving away on d north...wahoo, mahi, kingfish and some tuna...who fishing?

make room for a crewman nah, I will swab the decks like pirate days.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 28th, 2015, 7:09 pm

SMc wrote:^they are just pretty much a cliff face with some areas to stand/ fish off of near the bottom...looking at them in a picture will not show the danger involved in fishing there nor how steep it really is. If you really want to see make the hike to the top from Diego side and look for yourself.

Anyway,I always wondered what them fellas did when they hold something big and hadda climb up the cliff afterwards.

the fishermen down there look out for each other. We used to leave extra drinking water etc. Also walk with a big hook and a length of tire tube to use as a gaff with a length of bamboo that always left down on the rocks.

Coming back out with the fish is the hardest part, push the fish in a crocus bag and put it across your back. Imagine doing that when cavalli running and men pulling out a dozen 15 and 20 pounders. Real big tarpon does play around there too, catch one and is time to go home. Same thing with big taza. Most of them fellas hustle the fish in Patna, always have a market for fresh fish.

I made some nights up there too, the kind of thing you would only do when you young. Salmon, ancho, bacheen, reds, lippy etc.. Have some monster grouper and pag too

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » October 28th, 2015, 8:09 pm

Huh I see they felars on that rock fishing u have to have belly to go their I will pay d boat an go

Shio

Postby Shio » October 28th, 2015, 8:22 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1446078134.776057.jpg
. Fishing from one of the rocks

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 28th, 2015, 8:36 pm

Thanks Shio !

Shio

Postby Shio » October 28th, 2015, 8:47 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1446079642.592486.jpg

This is the view before u walk down the hill

Shio

Postby Shio » October 28th, 2015, 8:49 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1446079755.813035.jpg

Postby gastly369 » October 28th, 2015, 9:27 pm

Ummmm Nah fork that...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 28th, 2015, 11:04 pm

An we does pass across rite in front of dem an hook up all d fish...lmao!!

Shio

Postby Shio » October 29th, 2015, 11:25 am

Not everybody can afford boats pal :|
For some, this is their only source of income :roll:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 29th, 2015, 11:32 am

Source of income? I never know ppl does go there to fish an sell...thought it was sport fishermen there...

Shio

Postby Shio » October 29th, 2015, 2:52 pm

Nope, it have men who live on those rocks ....

Postby meccalli » October 29th, 2015, 2:53 pm

Them fellas need a job, commercial beach fishing is a thing...but Trinidad, men going to sea and making palass much less for making a living on seasonal and highly migratory pelagics.
Anybody know what went on with that surf competition they had?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 29th, 2015, 4:05 pm

Ah man caught ah small racando an win wit dat...

Postby meccalli » October 29th, 2015, 4:12 pm

Well that's disappointing. I only ever caught a barbay there, so it's a good thing I didn't register lol.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 29th, 2015, 5:40 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Hav real fish giving away on d north...wahoo, mahi, kingfish and some tuna...who fishing?

How the weather on the North? it start to get rough as yet?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 29th, 2015, 9:11 pm

Starting to get rough already...proper wahoo conditions...

Postby *KRONIK* » October 29th, 2015, 9:24 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Starting to get rough already...proper wahoo conditions...

I could come on the trip?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 29th, 2015, 9:47 pm

Wen waters like how it is now an gonna be we doh like to go out wit too much men an these days we sellin d catch to buy gears for d new boat...

Postby dougla_boy » October 30th, 2015, 9:05 am

nice....so question...ur boat is for hire? asking cuz some of them fellas who we go with only do banking...and to be quite honest...we dont catch fish half the size i have seen you post....so u know....just looking for a link that could carry us to some decent spots

Postby *KRONIK* » October 30th, 2015, 9:21 am

I just wanna go for the experience really...
Never been on one of those "big fish" trips.
Infact...the biggest fish i does see is by the road/market selling or in pics.
I never experienced seeing a monster get reeled in.