Building a house in Trinidad

York

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby York » August 12th, 2015, 8:35 pm

steel windows are pinned into mortar using 1/4" steel, which holds very strong. walls in Trinidad have not really failed without this new design. Blocks were even tied into each other into the corners without steel and concrete. So new designs are better but in the view of older masons, maybe overkill, like they used 1/2" and 1/4" for beams and posts in the older days (some still do, if ppl don't know).

beetee

Postby beetee » August 12th, 2015, 9:46 pm

i'm looking to build a 2 bedroom house.
i have the land already.
i'm currently backfilling it.
I'm hoping to start next year 2016.

I'm still looking at 3d models online, in my head i want a pagoda roof styled house.
I dunno how possible that it though.

here is a pic of what i want.-

Postby gt4tified » August 13th, 2015, 1:49 am

^^^ Anything is possible if yuh pockets deep enuff brah!

York

Postby York » August 14th, 2015, 10:41 am

^^Bamboo, wood and paper. Doh backfill too much, leave space for the pond or moat around the house to get the desired effect. you can also farm tilapia and get a grant from the Min of Agriculture for the pond. Then you'll just have to sit in your porch and throw a line to catch dinner, no need for a refrigerator!!

it's very possible to adapt to modern construction materials, steel beams can be bent and angles or steel pipe can be bent to replace the purlins. Domes for mosques are just the opposite shape to your pagoda style!

GRIM

Postby GRIM » August 16th, 2015, 11:20 am

what is the approx cost per yard of ready mix?

The Raven

Postby The Raven » August 16th, 2015, 6:22 pm

Around 900 per meter cubic.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » August 27th, 2015, 2:54 pm

Has any one used the light weight roof from ROOFING SYSTEM in Caroni?
What are your reviews?
Thanks.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » August 27th, 2015, 2:59 pm

Guys so what would the labour for a roof cost for a simple gable style using standing seam? 2300sq.

MD Marketers
Location: 391-4558 tntresearchers@hotmail.com www.trinidadforsale.com

Postby MD Marketers » September 1st, 2015, 8:23 pm

The Raven wrote:Can someone give a rough estimate pls. I need to know the labour cost for blocking around a 50x60 upstairs home. Also casting the ring beam around and window beams. The walls inside would be basic block up for three bed rooms and kitchen. I just need an idea of the labour any ball park figure, just want to know what i need.
Thanks.

Just need to know the block count.
Check total walls in feet & then multiply by 13 to find block count
Cost is $3 per block
Profiles are $50 each. (check how many corners)
Ring beam and lintols would total around $5k give or take

Anything more than that and it's pure profit, unless you are adding stuff not on drawing or initial agreement. In that case you and the contractor will have an argument. You will fire him and then try to get back the downpayment you gave him by bullying him because you can't afford to bribe a quantity surveyor to check the value of work done.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » September 1st, 2015, 8:26 pm

The Raven wrote:Guys so what would the labour for a roof cost for a simple gable style using standing seam? 2300sq.

Damus and island roofing both have an online roofing cost calculator that gives you an accurate costing.
Materials are very accurate.
Labor is marked up by 50-70%
Google it

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » September 2nd, 2015, 8:23 pm

The Raven wrote:Around 900 per meter cubic.

You buying black market readymix? Lol
Junior Sammy is $1200
SIS is $1100
Readymix WI is $1500
Alescon $1200

Pump trucks go between $3500-$5000

Last time i got readymix for $900 was $2011

There were the few times they casting box drains nearby and the driver sold me 3-5 meters at about $300 a meter, but elections almost over so good luck with that.

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2015, 8:59 pm

What grade concrete ?

York

Postby York » September 3rd, 2015, 10:19 am

The Raven wrote:Guys so what would the labour for a roof cost for a simple gable style using standing seam? 2300sq.

About $30k - $35k labour. Total cost of roof should be about $100k to $110k material and labour.

air wick

Postby air wick » September 3rd, 2015, 10:24 am

simple gable roof should be about $15k to $20K my roof was a combination of hip, valley and gable and the labor was $30K to build and sheet using sanding seam

The Raven

Postby The Raven » September 3rd, 2015, 1:19 pm

Air wick, you got it cheap.
The prices I got was what york quoted.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » October 2nd, 2015, 8:40 pm

Anyone did steel structure instead of concrete? Want to know about steel structure designs. How was it constructed? Did the beams bolt on to each post? Or bolted on top of each post?

Postby 1UZFE » October 2nd, 2015, 9:54 pm

air wick wrote:simple gable roof should be about $15k to $20K my roof was a combination of hip, valley and gable and the labor was $30K to build and sheet using sanding seam

I got d same prices for a 30x40 roof. It costed abt 40k because of beams in the foundation and butments. And it only took 3days to finish.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 5th, 2015, 12:27 pm

The Raven wrote:Anyone did steel structure instead of concrete? Want to know about steel structure designs. How was it constructed? Did the beams bolt on to each post? Or bolted on top of each post?

would also like to know about this - steel frame vs pure concrete/bricks

konartis

Postby konartis » October 6th, 2015, 11:28 am

X3

The Raven

Postby The Raven » October 6th, 2015, 1:08 pm

Look out for quacks trying to do easy work and not doing the right thing for steel structures. There is a code to follow for joints and beams, I donot know it. Maybe the experience guys can share their knowledge about steel structures.

can_coke

Postby can_coke » October 23rd, 2015, 5:29 pm

Hey guys,

can u guys help me with a rough estimate the cost to construct a house 42'x 38'
2 storey ground floor area is 1500sqft and area for both floors total 3300sqft
it is a 5 bedroom 4 t&b with large garage.

Min and max estimate wud b helpful

Postby rspann » October 23rd, 2015, 8:33 pm

Steel quicker and in my opinion cheaper in the long run. I did three like this with one set of 2x4's and plywood to cast the deck.
IMG-20121102-WA002.jpg

York

Postby York » October 23rd, 2015, 9:18 pm

Can -coke,
It would depend on the specific design and finishes but an estimate of min $1.5M to max 1.8M with a turn-key contractor. You can get a quantity surveyor's report or preconstruction valuation. Think about the value of a house like that or see what similar ones are going for in the real estate market, less the land value will give you a realistic estimate of the max cost.

York

Postby York » October 23rd, 2015, 9:26 pm

rspann wrote:Steel quicker and in my opinion cheaper in the long run. I did three like this with one set of 2x4's and plywood to cast the deck.

What's the dimensions of this structure and the cost up to casting floor (foundation, steel structure, ground and 1st floor)? How does the cost compare to concrete?

I suppose there are two ways of doing things - right and cheap. Each has it's cost and benefit...

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » October 26th, 2015, 2:21 pm

Got a wall that total 49 feet 31 on the left of the gate and 18 on the right. Four block height above the ground the rest metal work. What's the cost to break down pile for new post 7 to be exact and cast new beam and going back up the same 4 block height. I will be doing the metal work separately. One guy quoted 20K and another 18K I think that's kinda high but I'm not sure.

Trinislacker

Postby Trinislacker » October 27th, 2015, 5:46 pm

Subscribed....useful info here for if or when my turn comes....

Postby rspann » October 27th, 2015, 6:06 pm

York, most realtors or speculators add in for their profits ,so subtracting the cost of the land from the total does not include profit. Most people go by what they see properties advertised for and think they can get the same for theirs. Most properties nowadays are greatly inflated since we have an artificial real estate economy driven by laundering, speculation etc. Generally if I spend $1m on a building it is valued up to $3m immediately upon completion.If the land is $6-700,000, you can see the mark up I'm speaking about.
In response to your question, The structure I posted is 35ftx 80ft. Foundation material(ground) is approx $50g ,beams was around $75g and the two floor slabs cost $60g.Labour is around $60g including fabrication. Blocking up and plastering is relatively cheap ,but the finishing is where the money goes. In my case they are apartments so it's forty doors, eight toilets, eight kitchens ,you get the drift.
Can coke, I doing a 35x 60 house right now ,load bearing 6" walls downstairs and h/c blocks upstairs ,pm me and I'll show you how to get it done at a very reasonable cost. Abut half the cost if you use a contractor and none of the headache.

Postby rspann » October 27th, 2015, 9:27 pm

The Raven wrote:Air wick, you got it cheap.
The prices I got was what york quoted.

Actually you could save a lot if you check a private contractor over the large roofing companies. I have one who works for me,from Paria, whose prices are very reasonable and does a good job . He just finished a 95x 42' Hip roof with gablets (dutch gable) for me with underceiling and guttering for
$15 g. I give him a lot of work so my price is cheaper but he is still very cheap.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 27th, 2015, 9:58 pm

York, really good info bro, I now going back to do some jobs, I'll come n post some prices for those of you who wanna start your house.

York

Postby York » October 28th, 2015, 8:48 am

Rahtid wrote:York, really good info bro, I now going back to do some jobs, I'll come n post some prices for those of you who wanna start your house.

thanks man.

wow! if only i cud get a roofman to do a complete roof for $15g. it has to be examined if he is giving you what you are paying for...meaning the technical / structural design details.

ah mean, everybody has to live and while rspann getting it done for that low price, it sounds a bit oppressive. and i doh think he passing on the savings to his renters, i cud be wrong...