EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have a question maybe someone can answer.
The Modem that Digicel is giving for this technology FTTH, is there a fiber optic cable going into the modem? or do they put a box on your wall where fiber terminates into copper? either way I doubt there would be any advantages of Fiber to the Desktop FTTD?
blitz83 wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have a question maybe someone can answer.
The Modem that Digicel is giving for this technology FTTH, is there a fiber optic cable going into the modem? or do they put a box on your wall where fiber terminates into copper? either way I doubt there would be any advantages of Fiber to the Desktop FTTD?
Fiber comes pre-made in a spool approx 200'. Direct from grey box on pole to modem.
Modem to desktop via cooper.
redmanjp wrote:^yeah but when they going to offer residential packages?
daxt0r wrote:digicel internet is real trouble been implementing it for some businesses and is nothing but trouble.
Not reliable at all, i believe is GPON.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:redmanjp wrote:^yeah but when they going to offer residential packages?
The latest is Q1 2016, if you see where these people running fiber all in the bush and thing I see they even reach places like Las Lomas etc. They aiming for extreme coverage it seems...
It seems their strategy is to cripple TSTT and FLOW, they mean business.
The only thing I heard is that you cannot use torrents with Digicel, they block it. Not sure if the enforced encryption thing in utorrent would work same way as with flow. But I will say this, if Digicel can deliver a world class service and uptime if they can provide an experience 100% opposite to what TSTT and FLOW delivers and it means I have to sacrifice torrents then so be it, I could work with that.
I just sick of being in the middle of an important game and just like that my flow internet disconnects.
Can you imagine playing League or DOTA 2 or HON and you being disconnected 10 times per match?
blitz83 wrote:daxt0r wrote:digicel internet is real trouble been implementing it for some businesses and is nothing but trouble.
I've had it since day 1 in my area- what "trouble" do you speak of?
shaq090 wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:redmanjp wrote:^yeah but when they going to offer residential packages?
The latest is Q1 2016, if you see where these people running fiber all in the bush and thing I see they even reach places like Las Lomas etc. They aiming for extreme coverage it seems...
It seems their strategy is to cripple TSTT and FLOW, they mean business.
The only thing I heard is that you cannot use torrents with Digicel, they block it. Not sure if the enforced encryption thing in utorrent would work same way as with flow. But I will say this, if Digicel can deliver a world class service and uptime if they can provide an experience 100% opposite to what TSTT and FLOW delivers and it means I have to sacrifice torrents then so be it, I could work with that.
I just sick of being in the middle of an important game and just like that my flow internet disconnects.
Can you imagine playing League or DOTA 2 or HON and you being disconnected 10 times per match?
digi doesnt block torrents... i use the test ont all the time...
daxt0r wrote:digicel internet is real trouble been implementing it for some businesses and is nothing but trouble.
daxt0r wrote:blitz83 wrote:daxt0r wrote:digicel internet is real trouble been implementing it for some businesses and is nothing but trouble.
I've had it since day 1 in my area- what "trouble" do you speak of?
Some clients can't connect when using IPv6 PDP , needs to be switch to IPv4 to work.
Had a major outage last week, several clients were down, Digicel excuse was a power outage
General poor service responding to technical requests, sometimes business down for 2 days and more.
RB34 wrote:Digicel is all GPON, no direct fibre. It sounds nice, but it's the same "shared bandwidth" service like FLOW. FLOW is fibre to their node (big grey box on line) then coax to splitters then to homes. Their backhaul is same fibre, it's just not TTH.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well lets be real who will even use 1gbps? My issue with flow is not low bandwidth, its NO bandwidth.
I have 15mb/s and the issue is it keeps disconnecting 50 times a day, I never complained that it dropped to 2mbps or anything like that. If I am gaming, why do I care for bandwidth? and its what I do most of the times with the internet. The huge problem is this internet keeps disconnecting.
So long as Digicel has a fibre line coming straight to the modem and I getting that godlike 43ms pings to the US and it don't disconnect, I am a happy pappy. My 1GB connection can drop to dialup speed for all I care, just don't disconnect and keep the low ping and I good. Once it disconnect and ping goes up, even a terabit cannot help me.
daxt0r wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well lets be real who will even use 1gbps? My issue with flow is not low bandwidth, its NO bandwidth.
I have 15mb/s and the issue is it keeps disconnecting 50 times a day, I never complained that it dropped to 2mbps or anything like that. If I am gaming, why do I care for bandwidth? and its what I do most of the times with the internet. The huge problem is this internet keeps disconnecting.
So long as Digicel has a fibre line coming straight to the modem and I getting that godlike 43ms pings to the US and it don't disconnect, I am a happy pappy. My 1GB connection can drop to dialup speed for all I care, just don't disconnect and keep the low ping and I good. Once it disconnect and ping goes up, even a terabit cannot help me.
Technically the fiber is coming to your home but it is not true FTH. Why? Because it uses a type of WDM to share a single fiber between multiple customers. True FTH is like ADSL a direct link between your and the DSLAM. With GPON its like Flow, a coax leaving your home going to a splitter which then has a fiber link to the CMTS, the only difference with Digicel is that its fiber not coax.
Thing is if everyone on your street uses heavy bandwidth this equipment begins to slow down and what that translates to are disconnects and timeouts.
daxt0r wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well lets be real who will even use 1gbps? My issue with flow is not low bandwidth, its NO bandwidth.
Technically the fiber is coming to your home but it is not true FTH. Why? Because it uses a type of WDM to share a single fiber between multiple customers. True FTH is like ADSL a direct link between your and the DSLAM. With GPON its like Flow, a coax leaving your home going to a splitter which then has a fiber link to the CMTS, the only difference with Digicel is that its fiber not coax.
Thing is if everyone on your street uses heavy bandwidth this equipment begins to slow down and what that translates to are disconnects and timeouts.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:daxt0r wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well lets be real who will even use 1gbps? My issue with flow is not low bandwidth, its NO bandwidth.
So why didn't these ISP just do a true Dedicated Fibre system rather than doing shared?
daxt0r wrote:well boy it goes back to how internet is provisioned, home internet the advertised speeds are burst speeds, i.e the max capable of the connection assuming perfect conditions although if you read your ISP AUP policy you would realize its never attainable due to the fact that they state they will throttle your connection if it impairs others users access.
Business connections on the other hand the advertised speeds are the minimum guaranteed bandwidth, what that means is that you can at any time achieve the advertised speed and even go over. So much so that they would email you if they realize you constantly going over your guaranteed minimum over a period. On the flip side if you are not getting your minimum advertised bandwidth there are provisions in the contract for you to receive either a discount or rebate on the month's fee.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:daxt0r wrote:well boy it goes back to how internet is provisioned, home internet the advertised speeds are burst speeds, i.e the max capable of the connection assuming perfect conditions although if you read your ISP AUP policy you would realize its never attainable due to the fact that they state they will throttle your connection if it impairs others users access.
Business connections on the other hand the advertised speeds are the minimum guaranteed bandwidth, what that means is that you can at any time achieve the advertised speed and even go over. So much so that they would email you if they realize you constantly going over your guaranteed minimum over a period. On the flip side if you are not getting your minimum advertised bandwidth there are provisions in the contract for you to receive either a discount or rebate on the month's fee.
Doh make joke so I could file some paperwork with flow and get ah rebate on my internet?
shaq090 wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:daxt0r wrote:well boy it goes back to how internet is provisioned, home internet the advertised speeds are burst speeds, i.e the max capable of the connection assuming perfect conditions although if you read your ISP AUP policy you would realize its never attainable due to the fact that they state they will throttle your connection if it impairs others users access.
Doh make joke so I could file some paperwork with flow and get ah rebate on my internet?
That is not totally accurate... On a ISP, you are paying for bandwidth up the the core backbone. Lets say for example you have a 15mb package from flow... you are suppose to get your full 15mb on a good or bad day once there is no network issues. From the core to Miami or NY is another story....If you are not getting your full package speeds then something is wrong, these bandwidth caps are set on the modem itself and not on the backbone... Same for business on flow, if your package speed is 10mb, u are suppose to get 10mb and nothing more, but there is flow control which spikes first due to auto nego of MTU size and then it settles down.