Daran

Re: Wait..WHAT!!! Property Tax is back?

Postby Daran » October 18th, 2015, 1:16 pm

Daran wrote:
pete wrote:No that's not how it will be calculated. A 1million dollar house might rent for 4to6k a month depending on the area so 3% of 48 to 72k a year or 1400 to 2200 a year in property tax.

Sent from my LG-P880 using Tapatalk

Now who determines the rental cost and valuation? As the two are not always correlated.

Case 1 - My family has a property that was recently valuated at 1.6M and rents for 12k/mo.

Case 2- My brother in law has a house in central, split into 3 apartments, each rent for 5K/mo and his was recently valued at 1.2M

Bro just raise the rent if they charging for each apartment to cover the cost of tax. Tenants need to know who they voted for.

Actually, that rent value has remained 12k for the house for almost 4 years. We plan on raising it to 13.5K (accounting or 5% inflation each year) soon, but we didn't factor in property tax.

Might just make it 14K and done the story.

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 1:19 pm

Daran wrote:
pete wrote:No that's not how it will be calculated. A 1million dollar house might rent for 4to6k a month depending on the area so 3% of 48 to 72k a year or 1400 to 2200 a year in property tax.

Sent from my LG-P880 using Tapatalk

Now who determines the rental cost and valuation? As the two are not always correlated.

Case 1 - My family has a property that was recently valuated at 1.6M and rents for 12k/mo.

Case 2- My brother in law has a house in central, split into 3 apartments, each rent for 5K/mo and his was recently valued at 1.2M

Bro just raise the rent if they charging for each apartment to cover the cost of tax. Tenants need to know who they voted for.

Actually, that rent value has remained 12k for the house for almost 4 years. We plan on raising it to 13.5K (accounting or 5% inflation each year) soon, but we didn't factor in property tax.

Might just make it 14K and done the story.

Well Tenants need to know what they voted for. PNM taxing you then you tax them.

Postby The_Honourable » October 18th, 2015, 1:29 pm

Clara wrote:Many of you don't know this Histery of Property Tax.

It goes back as far as slavery times when Africans slaves were free, but were basically abadonded pennyless, jobless and homeless. Africans were sabotaged because we fought for freedom.

When the indians came to work the lands that africans toiled for centuries, they were better treated (undeniable) and were able to maintain family, culture and religion. Then when that indentureship was over, they were allowed to settle and work the lands.

They were GIVEN lands and opportunities that africans were not. Plain and simple.

So all this talk about property tax being an Injun Tax. Many may not say it, but think about it. It is right and fair.

Indians were given things that africans weren't. This is why so much of them have big house and land everywhere. It came to them too easy.

Property tax levels the playing field. It is not unjust.

Yes many of you will say you or your parents were poor and worked hard. But you all fail to realize the headstart you were given by inheritance/family life/culture/religion. All of which we africans lost.

There is no love lost between us races. We live in harmony and only election time racism rares it's ugly head, but to declare property tax unfair is too deny your forefathers fortunes helped made you who you are today.

Oh gosh, not the slavery angle :roll:

So because of slavery, you should get a bligh? or that other races in this country should be hit a higher tax? I know many Afro-trinidadians who acknowledge their past but would not use slavery as an excuse to not work hard and make an honest dollar.

Most people don't have a problem paying a property tax. The question is how it is going to be implemented. Is it going to be fair and equitable? Is there a chance for a property owner to appeal the decision of the taxman? Is most of that money going to return at the local government level? or go to central government?

Besides, if it is an "injun tax" as many claim to be, it is going to be passed onto the population somehow... like any other tax. Knowing Trinidadians, we will just make noise when prices go up but 9 days later, we will spend. If things start to get draconian, it is easy now to wire and store your wealth outside of T&T versus a decade or two ago.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 18th, 2015, 2:18 pm

The debate about property tax is funny to watch.

It was law already and people were paying it before at the same rates, well supposed to be, so there is no "new way to implement", really remind me how young some of you are and how old I am :lol:

And even funnier, your smart phone you're posting from cost more than the tax you would have to pay annually, for a nice piece of land or two that you may make 8k+ on... Trini's oui :)

Indian, African, Asian, White whatever, pay your stay. Anyone who has lived away or is livin away can tell you how cheap our utilities and taxes are in the grand scheme of things.

Postby RASC » October 18th, 2015, 3:09 pm

Bezman wrote:The debate about property tax is funny to watch.

It was law already and people were paying it before at the same rates, well supposed to be, so there is no "new way to implement", really remind me how young some of you are and how old I am :lol:

And even funnier, your smart phone you're posting from cost more than the tax you would have to pay annually, for a nice piece of land or two that you may make 8k+ on... Trini's oui :)

Indian, African, Asian, White whatever, pay your stay. Anyone who has lived away or is livin away can tell you how cheap our utilities and taxes are in the grand scheme of things.

Hush yuh stink mouth.
Injun tax, dey jealous we morney!!!11eleven!

Postby pete » October 18th, 2015, 3:18 pm

I think the problem people have is they know how things work in Trinidad. They come to value your house and unless they leave with a bottle of Johnny yuh gonna have to pay the equivalent of 10 more on your valuation. Yuh pardner working in valuation he would fix you up to pay $50/year.

Happens all the time now. Know someone and their neighbour built up apartments 2 feet from the road and roof draining right onto the road. When they were building reported to town and country but their cousin working there so nobody came to stop them. Now they building a 2 story apartment on another part of the land but nobody cares right. That's just 1 case and I'm sure there are many more cases of victimisation where people try to do things the right way and take months and more to get plans approved to build and if they only start before get shut down immediately.

That should not be happening in 2015.

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 3:24 pm

^^^ That's the PNM way of doing things.

Postby sMASH » October 18th, 2015, 3:25 pm

Fleck dat. More money have to shell out for property tax, then more rent money have to collect to cover the cost.

I wukin too hard, ban my belly since I small, and scrunting for too long to just give away the fruits of my endevours.

The poor man get a reduction in VAT by 2.5%, see how that makes up for the cost of living increase due to fuel price hikes and rent cost hikes.

And when items prices increase the actual amount of money collected for VAT may actually increase. I.e. 15% of $100, compared to 12.5% of $150.

Postby pete » October 18th, 2015, 3:25 pm

No, that's the TRINI way of doing things.

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 3:27 pm

sMASH wrote:Fleck dat. More money have to shell out for property tax, then more rent money have to collect to cover the cost.

I wukin too hard, ban my belly since I small, and scrunting for too long to just give away the fruits of my endevours.

The poor man get a reduction in VAT by 2.5%, see how that makes up for the cost of living increase due to fuel price hikes and rent cost hikes.

And when items prices increase the actual amount of money collected for VAT may actually increase. I.e. 15% of $100, compared to 12.5% of $150.

But ppl vote for that and PNM answer for you is to deal with it.

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 3:29 pm

PNM taxes ant hit ppl as yet, when PNM ppl start to feel they pockets run dry then its epic tyre burning and crime.

Remember it always have more tyre burning and crime under PNM than anyone else

Postby sMASH » October 18th, 2015, 3:36 pm

All aboard the racket rail! First stop Zimbabwe, next Haiti.

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 3:36 pm

Just imagine men buy special lawn and tile their yard with a sliding gate costings $20k. When PNM Tax yobs come to assess you valued home, it will be level tax for you.
All this and the PNM Child mudder and farda living next door to you in their shak will get a bligh and food card. Most likely they will end up with an HDC house from Marlene McDonald.

konartis

Postby konartis » October 18th, 2015, 3:49 pm

zoom rader wrote:Just imagine men buy special lawn and tile their yard with a sliding gate costings $20k. When PNM Tax yobs come to assess you valued home, it will be level tax for you.
All this and the PNM Child mudder and farda living next door to you in their shak will get a bligh and food card. Most likely they will end up with an HDC house from Marlene McDonald.

So true.... Plus the neighbour renting the land so no taxes.... But say what ppl voting race and are most ignorant.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 18th, 2015, 7:09 pm

Hahaha I just laugh reading your post ZR you just sounding more and more desperate. Election over princess :lol:

Postby RASC » October 18th, 2015, 7:13 pm

I think the only solution for y'all is to sell your 20 properties...and move to Canada.
It better to Pay that $5000 Canadian a year tax rate on your multiple new properties than give PNM a cent. I agree with allyuh... Doh take that!

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 7:30 pm

RASC wrote:I think the only solution for y'all is to sell your 20 properties...and move to Canada.
It better to Pay that $5000 Canadian a year tax rate on your multiple new properties than give PNM a cent. I agree with allyuh... Doh take that!

Non PNM ppl Don't sell their lands and houses they pass it on for offsprings.

Postby RASC » October 18th, 2015, 8:38 pm

RASC wrote:I think the only solution for y'all is to sell your 20 properties...and move to Canada.

Why would they want to burden them with SO MUCH TAX...this property tax already proving to be too much to bare-why continue the cycle of hurt?

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 11:24 pm

RASC wrote:

Why would they want to burden them with SO MUCH TAX...this property tax already proving to be too much to bare-why continue the cycle of hurt?

Cause PNM not going to last long

samos

Postby samos » October 19th, 2015, 12:06 am

RASC wrote:

doubles man making 4000 tax free dollars ah day I'm sure they can afford property tax

Postby RASC » October 19th, 2015, 5:15 am

samos wrote:
RASC wrote:

doubles man making 4000 tax free dollars ah day I'm sure they can afford property tax

No they can't. You think it's 4000 a day net profit? It's only about 2500 a day net profit... Who go live on DAT?

That's 75,000 net profit per month-yuh feel is sufferation thread #2 or what!?!

When men like ZR have 5-6 apartments and Hadda pay an ADDITIONAL $600 a month total... Yuh Kno how much sufferation is that? That's almost 100 U S D extra a month-boss doh be expecting him to eat that just so... Renters go Hadda feel it because JAI Kno that is too much for him to swallow... PNM making their lives a living hell now, I doh give them wrong... As a result I say raise rent $2000 per apartment so they will know what kinda hardships yuh seeing ZR!
Last edited by RASC on October 19th, 2015, 5:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » October 19th, 2015, 5:22 am

Apologists gonna apologize.........

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 7:28 am

RASC wrote:
samos wrote:
RASC wrote:

No they can't. You think it's 4000 a day net profit? It's only about 2500 a day net profit... Who go live on DAT?

When men like ZR have 5-6 apartments and Hadda pay an ADDITIONAL $600 a month total... Yuh Kno how much sufferation is that? That's almost 100 U S D extra a month-boss doh be expecting him to eat that just so... Renters go Hadda feel it because JAI Kno that is too much for him to swallow... PNM making their lives a living hell now, I doh give them wrong... As a result I say raise rent $2000 per apartment so they will know what kinda hardships yuh seeing ZR!

Dat already in place, rents hatta pay for tax. Renters needs to know who they voted for.
I not affected by hardships bro it will fall on the renters. There is always a plan for B for investments.

Postby RASC » October 19th, 2015, 8:18 am

RASC wrote:
samos wrote:
RASC wrote:

Dat already in place, rents hatta pay for tax. Renters needs to know who they voted for.
I not affected by hardships bro it will fall on the renters. There is always a plan for B for investments.

That's the right attitude bro.
Lash them...

Postby Habit7 » October 19th, 2015, 9:47 am

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 9:49 am

^^^ They will need to add Trini on that list as paying taxes and getting very little in return with a lazy ass public servants with low work ethics

Postby Habit7 » October 19th, 2015, 10:25 am

http://www.caricom.org/jsp/community/co ... survey.pdf

Our current property tax compared to our neighbours.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 19th, 2015, 11:04 am

well according to ZR logic those countries must have the most indians??

Postby sliderz1 » October 19th, 2015, 12:41 pm

sMASH wrote:Fleck dat. More money have to shell out for property tax, then more rent money have to collect to cover the cost.

And when items prices increase the actual amount of money collected for VAT may actually increase. I.e. 15% of $100, compared to 12.5% of $150

this flew over plenty heads

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » October 19th, 2015, 1:05 pm

RASC wrote:
samos wrote:
RASC wrote:

$2500/day is no less than $60,000/month. You can't live on DAT?

I swear Trinis are the ONLY group of people who like to live off the fat of their land without putting anything in. When doubles vendors can arbitrarily raise the price of their product, then they should be taxed.