Thinking about joining the field of HSE

rere31

Thinking about joining the field of HSE

Postby rere31 » September 28th, 2015, 10:26 pm

Thinking about switching my studies to HSE. Can anyone in the field or so advise me accordingly on the better institutions and courses to undergo?

Re: Thinking about joining the field of HSE

Postby Mark! » September 29th, 2015, 12:06 pm

This is a good/important field.....but its Over saturated and job market flooded with these people as is alrdy..

Only way u really stand out is with years experience or a masters degree in the subject area

rere31

Postby rere31 » September 29th, 2015, 4:09 pm

Hmmm I see...I'm banking experience in the construction field atm as a civil engineering technician...but I'm really fond of HSE as I'm also in charge of providing orientation and risk assessment

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » September 29th, 2015, 9:34 pm

Just know what u getting into. HSE is all about reports,audits and most importantly stats. Don't be fooled by the stop work and light up men business. Paperwork is 80% of the job. And hse is the first department to cut ppl in rough times. Remember hse doesn't make money. So be prepared to be blamed for every little thing that goes wrong and friction from other employees when u ask them to go out of their way to do something.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 29th, 2015, 9:48 pm

I think this field is saturated now. Even with experience it is a who know you type of situation to get a job

rere31

Postby rere31 » October 1st, 2015, 2:49 am

Thank you all for the feedback guys...I'm really looking to change my field of civil but I don't know which path to take. I was also considering teaching believe it or not but I know that field is saturated also. You see civil doesn't have that much of a future ahead of us. Yes you can grow in terms of qualifications and promotions but I see what my construction and project managers have to go through and boy everyone loves to play the blame game. For an entire year straight I've worked from Monday to sunday, from 7 am till anywhere from 6 pm to 11pm, I'm monthly paid so no overtime and yes I was under alot of stress. As I am preparing to move to another jobsite, I have been informed to prepare myself for the very same conditions. I only have two years experience in this field as well. Can someone who switched fields of study and career shed some light on my situation please?

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » October 1st, 2015, 1:51 pm

Switched fields 3yrs ago from PPO to HSE, it was a "MAJOR" sacrifice i went from a 5 figure salary to $15.00/hr which = $120.00/day. :/ All that to gain experience in a new field, so padna if you plan to switch fields with no experience be prepared to ban yuh belly!

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 1st, 2015, 6:59 pm

Correct is right dere buddy. Made the switch from ops to hse. Ops so much easier to deal with. Now this is not to discourage you. Just know it's not a bed of roses. If u want to make it u can. However it's an uphill battle.

rere31

Postby rere31 » October 2nd, 2015, 2:37 pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. I might consider teaching as its a more or less stable job within the economy with government changes having little to no effect on it. I work with a contractor guys and Ive been home a month now due to completing a project and all I have to hold onto now are the promises of my superiors "We gona start this project soon and we gona start that project soon not to worry" I was also contemplating on becoming and operator because Ive got some skill behind the backhoe and excavator but judging by my age, Idk if anyone will hire me. I really dont know what to do guys. Life huh..

Postby Country_Bookie » October 2nd, 2015, 3:22 pm

rere31,
Maybe you should consider doing some additional studies in Civil Engineering / Project Management to further your career in this field? I hear SBCS offers courses in this regard.

rere31

Postby rere31 » October 2nd, 2015, 4:54 pm

Hey man Ive thought about that but to earn a good job by doing complementary courses would take years and still it wouldnt be stable. I always hear my construction and project managers talking about being fed up of the work and wanting to leave because its just too much stress.