WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

BRZ

WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

Postby BRZ » September 8th, 2015, 10:30 am

So now that we have a Change of Government- what would you like to see happen differently? what provisions would you like to see your government put in place for you and your family?

Recreational PArks for every neighborhood ?

Abolition of the SEA test?

Opening of Sports facilities to encourage sport amongst our youth?

Better and more serious Policing with Serious disciplinary Action for Corrupt Law officials?

High levels of Transparency ?

Total accountability and Disclosure of ALL those who hold Government Posts?

Death_ride

Re: WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

Postby Death_ride » September 8th, 2015, 10:31 am

Remove the laptop program.... It has caused allot more harm than good...

Put back corporal punishment in school...

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 8th, 2015, 10:33 am

The east port of spain development plan the pp ignored put it back in place

the 10 years passport is good plan.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 8th, 2015, 10:40 am

Find a man name Anil Roberts.

Build a rapid rail (Or for the very least do something about the failed public transport)

Put a law in place that bans any government from giving even 1 cent of our tax dollars to religious organizations. (But I expect some idiot to oppose that)

Review the GATE program

Postby skylinechild » September 8th, 2015, 10:50 am

some sort of improvement in public transport.

amending our motor vehicle laws as it applies to newer technologies LEDS speed gun tint DRL fog lamps etc

ensure that any politician can only spend a max two terms in office.- thereby giving us a fresh slate of candidates with fresh ideas and perspective instead of the regurgitated crap

better accounting for all govt agencies and stuff.

reinstate the death penalty and quick justice...do the crime...you do the time...

more to add on as i remember

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 10:59 am

Finish out the point fortin highway.
No property tax.
Raise the personal tax allowance
remove VAT some some goods and services.
Regularize contracts for government workers including Gratuity and extended contract periods.

Postby The_Honourable » September 8th, 2015, 10:59 am

Improving the National Security Complex. This includes:
- Improving Detection Rate
- Protecting Our Ports and Borders
- Amending and Enforcement of Laws
- Autonomy in the Police Service and appointing a Commissioner of Police
- Going after the Mr Bigs!

Improving the Health Sector
- Computerize the system
- Build the Penal & Point Fortin hospitals
- Improve working conditions for Doctors, Nurses and Admin

Diversifying the Economy
- Start focusing on Tourism & Agriculture
- Innovation and Entrepreneurship
- Financial Services
- Maritime Services

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 8th, 2015, 11:11 am

Seriously go after all corruption. Ensure that a lasting message goes out that those who use the public purse as their own will feel the full brunt of the law.

Get rid of CMMG as State media. This has been lately used as an arm of the UNC

Postby Slartibartfast » September 8th, 2015, 11:18 am

PariaMan wrote:Seriously go after all corruption. Ensure that a lasting message goes out that those who use the public purse as their own will feel the full brunt of the law.
I would love to see this happen but I doubt we will find enough people willing to arrest themselves.

I want to see some sort of development in the way that the public voices their concerns. Maybe something with an online account tied to your ID where you can vote and comment on massive projects or important policies. It can be separated according to ministry and location so it's easier to keep track of what is relevant.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 11:19 am

i would like to see then do everything in this ched

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 8th, 2015, 12:15 pm

Al-Ameen wrote:i would like to see then do everything in this ched

ENT!!! :D

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 8th, 2015, 12:21 pm

great post guys

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 8th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Ish steve duprey jack hart etc...squeeze all cash out off them. ..

webb

Postby webb » September 8th, 2015, 1:48 pm

I would like these companies that operate in Point lisas especially to do more for my community honestly when i see how Atlantic develop Point its a far cry to what is happening in my community.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 1:50 pm

Make housing more affordable

Postby wagonrunner » September 8th, 2015, 1:55 pm

adjust fuel cost without subsidizing it, by adjusting the costs of production variables to meet other international environments. aka get rid of any non-performing bloats from management down.
and apply same to all sectors.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 8th, 2015, 1:56 pm

make meh care wrote:Make housing more affordable

this.. at least give the middle class a chance

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 1:58 pm

Legalise the Herb

Nissian for life

Postby Nissian for life » September 8th, 2015, 1:59 pm

I honestly seek Justice, go after all who has emptied our nations money into thier pockets and pockets of their friends and business partners

Have a fresh review of the fraud squad section of the police cuz this money stealing thing have to stop

Nissian for life

Postby Nissian for life » September 8th, 2015, 2:00 pm

make meh care wrote:Legalise the Herb
oh and that too
Too much men lives are being destroyed for a small bush
No visa might lose job
Bad criminal record
That's ridiculous

webb

Postby webb » September 8th, 2015, 2:01 pm

Invest in clean energy give tax breaks to taxi drivers who use hybrid vehicles similar to what they do in North America

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:02 pm

and sort out the licence office issues all persons are faced with

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:02 pm

US Dollars also

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » September 8th, 2015, 2:04 pm

Creation of sustainable employment for all/ most citizens, thereby reducing the 'gimme gimme' mentality.

Harsher penalties for criminals

Making firearms available for Homeowners (Limited to use in property only), and business owners (On their person).

Daran

Postby Daran » September 8th, 2015, 2:09 pm

reduce nepotism in all forms (especially in award of contracts, new legislation will be needed)
reduce inflation
push the start of real industries, not solely downstream oil and gas industries
consider the rapid rail, only after rapid buses and interchanges have been exhausted
stagger school hours + introduce a school bus system (plenty new employment there)
encourage real innovative SMEs with grants (exists already, but
recognize atheist and provide LGBT rights to marry

Postby Country_Bookie » September 8th, 2015, 2:10 pm

Establish businesses in crime hot spots that will employ the ppl of the area, and eventually be managed and owned by the same ppl of the area. Best way to stop crime is to give the ppl an attractive alternative.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:12 pm

Daran wrote:reduce nepotism in all forms (especially in award of contracts, new legislation will be needed)
reduce inflation
push the start of real industries, not solely downstream oil and gas industries
consider the rapid rail, only after rapid buses and interchanges have been exhausted
stagger school hours + introduce a school bus system (plenty new employment there)
encourage real innovative SMEs with grants (exists already, but
recognize atheist and provide LGBT rights to marry

in trinidad you will get resistance to the LGBT community especially from all religions

Tucson-anil

Postby Tucson-anil » September 8th, 2015, 2:13 pm

1. Reduction in the amount of social programs (CEPEP and URP). I live in Mt. Lambert. For those of you who know the area, it's not that big. There are no less than 5 CEPEP gangs on any given day. They all finish work at 9-10am and leave. Reduce the amount of gangs, make them work longer hours (may require a bump in salary) and either release the remaining gangs into the general work environment or divert them to other areas (farming is a good example). The net effect is that employers will find more employees (most businesses already have vacancy signs up) and we improve our food security (farmers currently complain that they don't have workers to assist).

2. Rethink the mass transit system. Most people who drive to work will very likely continue to drive to work. There is currently no incentive for me to park my car in a lot, hustle with sweaty and grimey John Public, take a mass transit system to POS and then figure out how to get to my office in Woodbrook. If a rapid rail system is in place tomorrow, those who currently use public transportation will still use transportation. There may be some other who may opt for it, but the net effect of traffic reduction will be marginal at best. The Water taxis are a good example of this. There was no meaningful reduction of traffic on the North-South route, after its implementation.

3. Focus on crime reduction. Weed out the corrupt police. Use the GPS systems and the Command Center effectively. Too often we've seen Police using sirens to be able to bypass traffic and light, for no reason. If a police siren is engaged, then a signal has to be sent back to the command center to be able to be audited to determine if the siren was engaged for a legitimate reason. There are systems that can be used to track driver performance (speeding, sharp accelerations, sudden stops etc)

4. Amend laws and regulations to get with the times. There is no valid reason to be transporting prisoners to courts, when you can use technology to hold in-camera hearings. This will reduce the number of vehicles on the road, release Police officers from escort duties to be able to do some real policing work, and reduce the amount of money paid to the current contractor.

5. Focus on overall development. While big buildings are nice, they only benefit a few. More roads and even roads at different levels (articulated highways??) will move more traffic and not require significant acquisition of land.

6. Putting more money back into the hands of the middle class is good. However, it's unlikely that the middle class will still use the public health institutions unless absolutely necessary. Overall reform of the service delivered and the attitude change of the public sector nurses and health care professionals is needed urgently.

7. Public sector reform is urgently needed. There needs to be more meaningful use of technology in the sharing of information across the ministries. Information in silos is not useful.

8. More effective and visible policing by qualified officers. This requires an attitude shift among officers whose first response is to slap, cuss and berate the people who pay them to serve.

9. Diversification of the economy and promotion of agricultural exports, manufacturing and export. There needs to be more inflows than outflows.

10. Improvement of coastal security. There is no reason why unwanted vessels and cargoes should be coming to our shores.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:15 pm

Tucson-anil wrote:1. Reduction in the amount of social programs (CEPEP and URP). I live in Mt. Lambert. For those of you who know the area, it's not that big. There are no less than 5 CEPEP gangs on any given day. They all finish work at 9-10am and leave. Reduce the amount of gangs, make them work longer hours (may require a bump in salary) and either release the remaining gangs into the general work environment or divert them to other areas (farming is a good example). The net effect is that employers will find more employees (most businesses already have vacancy signs up) and we improve our food security (farmers currently complain that they don't have workers to assist).

2. Rethink the mass transit system. Most people who drive to work will very likely continue to drive to work. There is currently no incentive for me to park my car in a lot, hustle with sweaty and grimey John Public, take a mass transit system to POS and then figure out how to get to my office in Woodbrook. If a rapid rail system is in place tomorrow, those who currently use public transportation will still use transportation. There may be some other who may opt for it, but the net effect of traffic reduction will be marginal at best. The Water taxis are a good example of this. There was no meaningful reduction of traffic on the North-South route, after its implementation.

3. Focus on crime reduction. Weed out the corrupt police. Use the GPS systems and the Command Center effectively. Too often we've seen Police using sirens to be able to bypass traffic and light, for no reason. If a police siren is engaged, then a signal has to be sent back to the command center to be able to be audited to determine if the siren was engaged for a legitimate reason. There are systems that can be used to track driver performance (speeding, sharp accelerations, sudden stops etc)

4. Amend laws and regulations to get with the times. There is no valid reason to be transporting prisoners to courts, when you can use technology to hold in-camera hearings. This will reduce the number of vehicles on the road, release Police officers from escort duties to be able to do some real policing work, and reduce the amount of money paid to the current contractor.

5. Focus on overall development. While big buildings are nice, they only benefit a few. More roads and even roads at different levels (articulated highways??) will move more traffic and not require significant acquisition of land.

6. Putting more money back into the hands of the middle class is good. However, it's unlikely that the middle class will still use the public health institutions unless absolutely necessary. Overall reform of the service delivered and the attitude change of the public sector nurses and health care professionals is needed urgently.

7. Public sector reform is urgently needed. There needs to be more meaningful use of technology in the sharing of information across the ministries. Information in silos is not useful.

8. More effective and visible policing by qualified officers. This requires an attitude shift among officers whose first response is to slap, cuss and berate the people who pay them to serve.

9. Diversification of the economy and promotion of agricultural exports, manufacturing and export. There needs to be more inflows than outflows.

10. Improvement of coastal security. There is no reason why unwanted vessels and cargoes should be coming to our shores.

Like you was thinking real hard about this today

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 8th, 2015, 2:17 pm

#1 - make public, all tenders and spending for the last 10 years.
#2 - never make those mistakes again in #1