Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Re: oil prices falling

Postby janfar » August 25th, 2015, 9:28 am

Cocoa used to be King but since those exotic diseases rip up the plantations men fraid to go back in. Govt should look into subsidizing this.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 25th, 2015, 9:42 am

janfar wrote:Cocoa used to be King but since those exotic diseases rip up the plantations men fraid to go back in. Govt should look into subsidizing this.

Cocoa is not one of those crops you can use combine harvesters, tractors etc. One of the biggest hindrances to even existing farmers expanding production is labour. There are many large cocoa farms at maybe 40% capacity.

CEPEP has done much damage to the entire agricultural industry and neither of the two political parties in this country have the will to do something about it, as it would erode their ability to have those huge political rallies they get so much jollies hosting.

Postby Habit7 » August 25th, 2015, 10:13 am

I think many are having a nostalgic view of agriculture. You can dream about the days when we can return to big sugar and big cocoa but during those days the income was low despite the availability of agricultural jobs and farmers wanted more for their children.

With our relatively small population and small land mass, we can't expect to big agriculture and high income. We industrialised the country so that ppl such as the farmer of central Trinidad can become skilled, educated and work in the industrial sector. So they no long drive their father's Datsun pickup truck but spaceship Hiluxes and Navarras.

We attaining a level of wealth that small scale agriculture can't offer. That doesn't mean we kill agriculture, we foster it like any other industry in TT, but the days of plantation farming is done.

If you disagree with me then come off your computer and go and farm.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 25th, 2015, 11:52 am

^^^ There are men farming on one lot of land who driving off Hilux and Navara, you just have to be smart about it and employ new technology.

Plus bee keeping is another very lucrative career, a guy who works with me recntly quit to do just that.

The idea that farming is low-income, low-class work is a damn lie that we need to move past AS A COUNTRY

Postby Dizzy28 » August 25th, 2015, 12:11 pm

ingalook wrote:^^^ There are men farming on one lot of land who driving off Hilux and Navara, you just have to be smart about it and employ new technology.

Plus bee keeping is another very lucrative career, a guy who works with me recntly quit to do just that.

The idea that farming is low-income, low-class work is a damn lie that we need to move past AS A COUNTRY

For the owners it will be lucrative.....for the employees there will be less strenuous and equally paying or higher paying jobs outside farming.

Postby UML » August 25th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^ But what has the PP done to diversify the income stream over the past 5 years?

Sport tourism

Cycling swimming tennis Motorsport

Green economy model house CNG

Health tourism children's hospitals oncology centre

Plans for Marinas in Trinidad and Tobago

Aviation school

Nursing school

Doctor school

Agriculture

Ship docking and repair facility plans

Please come out from under that PNM rock u have been hiding
Last edited by UML on August 25th, 2015, 12:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 25th, 2015, 12:30 pm

UML wrote:CNG

:| Serious question here. Which ministers use vehicles that are powered by CNG? Is "PM1" powered by CNG?

Postby UML » August 25th, 2015, 12:33 pm

Pnm quick to pick one point of 100 eh lol dat is beatup :lol:

I doh kmow wah dey driving but they have made it easier to buy environmental friendly vehicles hybrid or cng

There is a couple of them already on the road.

I often see a white CNG benz by ngc/carillion

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 25th, 2015, 12:42 pm

UML wrote:. . . I doh kmow wah dey driving but they have made it easier to buy environmental friendly vehicles hybrid or cng. . .

Don't you think the government should lead by example? They should at least install CNG kits in the SUVs that they use. NGC has some Sporteros /Tritons that are bi-fuel. When last I checked out a Minister's Prado, it was fueled solely by diesel.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 25th, 2015, 2:53 pm

ingalook wrote:^^^ There are men farming on one lot of land who driving off Hilux and Navara, you just have to be smart about it and employ new technology.

A lot of professionals I know have gone into farming, that stigma you talking bout gone long time. Everybody knows how good farming is, but they can't get in (no land, no experience etc.)

But many are going into it.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 25th, 2015, 3:07 pm

UML wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:^ But what has the PP done to diversify the income stream over the past 5 years?

Sport tourism - Paying US$4m to host the CPL semis and Finals in 2015?? Not to mention the sponsorship NGC would have pumped in separate from the Ministries. This generated income?

Cycling swimming tennis Motorsport - Tell me more

Green economy model house CNG - How is this creating income for the country?

Health tourism children's hospitals oncology centre - Oncology centre unfinished and the Childrens hopital is not functional

Plans for Marinas in Trinidad and Tobago - Just a plan/s still

Aviation school - Probably give you this one even if it is reasonable new

Nursing school - How?

Doctor school - where?

Agriculture - how?

Ship docking and repair facility plans - Just a plan still. And maybe you wouldn't know this but Sullivan Island Dry Docking has been conceptualized under the PNM and since then the project team for it have been trying to get it done.

Please come out from under that PNM rock u have been hiding

I don't think you understand how or where Government revenues come from...A Nursing School?? Are they going to be bringing in foreign students and charging them?

Postby Habit7 » August 25th, 2015, 4:26 pm

Aviation school is not necessarily diversifying the economy, it is a new group of programs at UTT. The market demand in aviation industry is shaky, even more so in the Caribbean. Good initiative though, and good work by PNM candidate Neil Mohammed for securing the FedEx donation of the 727.

Postby The_Honourable » August 25th, 2015, 5:34 pm

A local economist on the matter

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 25th, 2015, 10:20 pm

^^^ God iz ah Trini - we doh need to diversify!

Postby DVSTT » August 25th, 2015, 10:24 pm

Well it gone back to $39

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 25th, 2015, 10:30 pm

DVSTT wrote:Well it gone back to $39

Cause - God iz ah Trini! :drinking:

Postby DVSTT » August 25th, 2015, 10:58 pm

ingalook wrote:

Gone down again, $39.24

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 26th, 2015, 7:11 am

ingalook wrote:

I love it. I want it to continue down. Trinidad needs to suffer a bit. Too much greed and corruption in this place.
We need a dose of reality urgently.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 26th, 2015, 7:19 am

White CZ4A wrote:
ingalook wrote:

I love it. I want it to continue down. Trinidad needs to suffer a bit. Too much greed and corruption in this place.

Nah u an @ss with a cushy spot if you want people to suffer. Not everyone is corrupt and deserves to suffer.

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2015, 7:40 am

White CZ4A wrote:
ingalook wrote:

The place needs a HUGE correction. This will be the correction the country needs.

Postby UML » August 26th, 2015, 7:42 am

White CZ4A wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Clearly not a Trini or lack national pride. What a fool!

Remember not everyone can afford what you can.

Postby Redman » August 26th, 2015, 7:47 am

But UML ...one of the issues is that the artificial low rates that we have had here have created an imbalance.

A recession or a pull back in the economy will get rid of some of the weaker inefficient users of capital

So a correction in the economy is healthier for all of us long term.

It builds a stronger economy,make best use of capital and resources and re directs the employment/education towards needed areas.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 26th, 2015, 7:52 am

Redman wrote:But UML ...one of the issues is that the artificial low rates that we have had here have created an imbalance.

A recession or a pull back in the economy will get rid of some of the weaker inefficient users of capital

It builds a stronger economy,make best use of capital and resources and re directs the employment/education towards needed areas.

I was too young at the time so lemme ask you, did the inefficient users of capital go away in the 80's under PNM/NAR after oil prices bottomed out?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 26th, 2015, 10:06 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Redman wrote:But UML ...one of the issues is that the artificial low rates that we have had here have created an imbalance.

I was too young at the time so lemme ask you, did the inefficient users of capital go away in the 80's under PNM/NAR after oil prices bottomed out?

You kinda right there, any lessons we learn goes right back out the window as soon as Oil prices go back up.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 27th, 2015, 10:41 am

UML wrote:
White CZ4A wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Clearly not a Trini or lack national pride. What a fool!

Remember not everyone can afford what you can.

I said Trinidad needs to suffer. That includes me. My definition of suffer and yours might be different.
All relative .......

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 27th, 2015, 11:01 am

White CZ4A wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Real outa timing talk here man ....just because you don't depend on it. This low oil price sending alot of people out of jobs worldwide.
Last edited by Mudboy on August 27th, 2015, 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » August 27th, 2015, 11:04 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Well its cyclical it isnt static

An economic cycle is based on the reality that economic growth/contraction causes certain things to happen to get back closer to equilibrium.

Inefficient users of capital will always exist...They are not a fixed group of people....check the Internet bubble,the 2008 Sub prime melt down/Real estate booms and bust,Oil at 140 nat Gas at 13.
All situations where the market has too much of an input and needs to reset.

As an example
So the last 10 years would have created say 1000 new businesses.

Say 100 new Biz a year.. 0 in Year 1 to a peak of 1000 in year 10.....the slow down now forces the last 300 to close
and the next 200 to stream line and become efficient.
...the cycle bottoms...We now have 500 (50%)businesses that are well run,Having survived the recession

Economy grows for another 10 years we expand from a base 500 to a peak of 1500.

All things being equal we will contract to ....a low of 750 biz..surviving.

The peak in the cycle is formed by people who feel this time is different.
The bottom is made by people who realized it isnt.

Look at the merger activity the last time there was a long period of xs supply and low WTI.
Look at the companies in janfars post...they know the game....as he stated.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » August 27th, 2015, 12:19 pm

White CZ4A wrote:
ingalook wrote:

The problem is the people responsible will not be the ones to suffer.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 27th, 2015, 4:34 pm

Mudboy wrote:
White CZ4A wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Real outa timing talk here man ....just because you don't depend on it. This low oil price sending alot of people out of jobs worldwide.

In one way or the other I do depend on it. High oil and gas prices means a higher budget. In turn more construction.
Without construction I have no income.
Out of timing? Doubtful. Just being real.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 27th, 2015, 5:35 pm

Still a dotish post.