theshark

Re: Official E-Cig Discussion

Postby theshark » August 21st, 2015, 7:50 pm

DjScreech wrote:I've yet to understand how temp control works
Isn't it specific to the nickel builds?

They use nickel, titanium and stainless steel coils and you can set the temp of the coils on the mod. This is mainly so you'll never get a dry hit but some juices taste better at different temps. You can vape the cotton dry and it won't burn.

theshark

Postby theshark » August 21st, 2015, 7:58 pm

Space Jam guy at ECC

spacejam.jpg
Spacejam Guy at ECC 2015

DjScreech

Postby DjScreech » August 21st, 2015, 8:34 pm

theshark wrote:
DjScreech wrote:I've yet to understand how temp control works
Isn't it specific to the nickel builds?

They use nickel, titanium and stainless steel coils and you can set the temp of the coils on the mod. This is mainly so you'll never get a dry hit but some juices taste better at different temps. You can vape the cotton dry and it won't burn.

I understand that much
But is it that nickel coil builds have to be used solely on a temp control mod
Or they just don't have as much control

theshark

Postby theshark » August 21st, 2015, 10:53 pm

You don't use nickel in a non temp control mod because if it overheats (1000F) it can produce harmful vapors. In temp control you are controlling the temp so it can't overheat, the limit is usually around 600f.

In temp control when nickel heats up, its resistance changes...the mod senses this change and that's how it works. Kanthal's resistance remains fairly constant in the temps we use to vape.

theshark

Postby theshark » August 22nd, 2015, 12:47 pm

More sick coverage from ECC 2015

Postby RBphoto » August 24th, 2015, 9:49 am

Had some teens was vaping in the play park where my kid goes to play every evening, the kiddies section with the slides and the swings by serenity heights. They had one of those big rectangle shaped vaproizers which produce massive puffs of smoke/ vapor. I shut them down telling them they are setting bad examples for the kids and babies, but I specifically did not say it was illegal and smoking was against the posted rules or was dangerous to kids. A few questions:
1) Is it dangerous to kids (I know some are nicotine free, but are those carcinogenic in any way either?)
2) Is it illegal near minors or where smoking is prohibited, or more specifically.. is it in fact equal to smoking in the eyes of the law with the same restrictions?
3) Are the smaller ones which do not produce large visible puffs illegal (in context of the last 2 questions)/ dangerous also?
4) If they or an adult persisted, can I call the police and get them booted out of the play park?.. just in case it ever escalates to that. The teens were polite, appologised, put away their stuff and just chatted on the bench for the rest of the time I was there, so I did not escalate the situation further.

Thoughts on the legal aspects RS?

Postby rollingstock » August 24th, 2015, 11:58 am

You're a cranky old goat.

Postby RBphoto » August 24th, 2015, 12:48 pm

rollingstock wrote:You're a cranky old goat.

Have to hide from Anand then?

Maybe I should clarify, one thing, the teens looked like they were 13-15YO. Secondly, I will call the police just to see RS. Third, I have no way of telling if they were on juice or hitting the nicotine blend.. so I shutting them down. Fourth, is in a playground with babies, so I sticking by the fact is big people thing and I don't want to encourage any child in smoking. I will call the police for anyone I see using conventional cigs or e-cigs IF they want to make it an issue.

Daiz awl. Sorry to be a party pooper on allyuh e-cig discussion.

indianlove

Postby indianlove » August 24th, 2015, 1:10 pm

13-15 years old u say, smoking and vaping is 18 and over.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 24th, 2015, 1:19 pm

RB you bring up valid points that are good for discussion here.

Taken from research sites on e-cigs:
"Typical e-juice or e-liquid contains four ingredients. These ingredients are Propylene Glycol (PG) or Vegetable Glycerin (VG), water, flavoring, and nicotine. In many cases manufacturers of e-juice mix PG and VG to get benefits of both ingredients. (not all contain nicotine)

Both Propylene Glycol (PG) and Vegetable Glycerin (VG) are considered safe and acceptable substance to be ingested by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. In fact both substances are part of many types of food, pharmaceutical and cosmetic products. That said, there are rare cases of minor allergic reaction to Propylene Glycol (PG). Typical allergic reaction consists of skin irritation or rash, and/or minor throat inflammation. In most cases people who are allergic to Propylene Glycol (PG) already know that since it is used in many foods and day-to-day products."

"Materials and Methods: We measured selected airborne markers of secondhand exposure: nicotine, aerosol particles (PM2.5), carbon monoxide, and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) in an exposure chamber. We generated e-cigarette vapor from 3 various brands of e-cigarette using a smoking machine and controlled exposure conditions. We also compared secondhand exposure with e-cigarette vapor and tobacco smoke generated by 5 dual users.

Results: The study showed that e-cigarettes are a source of secondhand exposure to nicotine but not to combustion toxicants. The air concentrations of nicotine emitted by various brands of e-cigarettes ranged from 0.82 to 6.23 µg/m3. The average concentration of nicotine resulting from smoking tobacco cigarettes was 10 times higher than from e-cigarettes (31.60±6.91 vs. 3.32±2.49 µg/m3, respectively; p = .0081).

Conclusions: Using an e-cigarette in indoor environments may involuntarily expose nonusers to nicotine but not to toxic tobacco-specific combustion products. More research is needed to evaluate health consequences of secondhand exposure to nicotine, especially among vulnerable populations, including children, pregnant women, and people with cardiovascular conditions."

indianlove wrote:13-15 years old u say, smoking and vaping is 18 and over.
T&T has laws for vaping?

Postby rollingstock » August 24th, 2015, 1:33 pm

There's no law for vaping but rb did the right thing.
Keep that out of a playground.

No one can say for sure how harmful (if) vaping is, not enough research has gone into it but it is accepted that it is less harmful than smoking cigs.

E juice with nicotine or not at that age they shouldn't even be using that.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 24th, 2015, 3:43 pm

rollingstock wrote:There's no law for vaping but rb did the right thing.
Keep that out of a playground.

No one can say for sure how harmful (if) vaping is, not enough research has gone into it but it is accepted that it is less harmful than smoking cigs.

E juice with nicotine or not at that age they shouldn't even be using that.
agreed

but he's still a cranky old goat :lol:

indianlove

Postby indianlove » August 24th, 2015, 8:15 pm

Trinidad and Tobago have no laws on vaping so for, but any ecig product you purchase have a warning Must be 18 to purchase.

ECIGTT

Postby ECIGTT » August 24th, 2015, 11:44 pm

No laws for vaping just yet. We may still have follow up meetings with the ministry but i guess these days they are to busy with the up coming elections. Just saying .. for example our company has multiple sales locations and all follow the same rule where the person purchasing ecig must present id information to purchase if they look young. This is a system not applied by the government but by ourselves to help prevent it reaching the hands of children. The sad part a person under the age of 18 can always send someone who is 18 or over to buy, On another note smoking is not good and since these subohm devices came into market the youths loving themselves fogging up the place.

theshark

Postby theshark » August 25th, 2015, 5:35 am

I think you did the right thing. While we don't want kids at that age smoking anything, it's way better than cigarettes and you know they'll find a way to do what they want to do.

While nicotine is a poison, I've seen a few articles that say it's no worse than caffeine but the big downside is it's addictive. They also say it can even improve attention and focus enough to qualify as a cognitive enhancer.

Postby RBphoto » August 25th, 2015, 8:18 am

theshark wrote:I think you did the right thing. While we don't want kids at that age smoking anything, it's way better than cigarettes and you know they'll find a way to do what they want to do.

While nicotine is a poison, I've seen a few articles that say it's no worse than caffeine but the big downside is it's addictive. They also say it can even improve attention and focus enough to qualify as a cognitive enhancer.

Explains why some piping designers smoke like a chimney :lol: doh kill meh guys :|

vapourone

Postby vapourone » August 25th, 2015, 3:31 pm

FYI : Please note bhaggans drugs main road chaguanas , is selling fake vapour one juice, they have a white label with our name . we will take necessary actions to get it removed

The Raven

Postby The Raven » August 25th, 2015, 3:44 pm

I am using one from ecigtt. The only juice I like so far is the menthol.
I have tried some others and it resulted in headaches, has anyone gotten headaches using the ejuice?
I am using the 11 percent nicotine.

Postby tr1ad » August 25th, 2015, 5:02 pm

It could be the pg/vg mix; try another brand probably with more pg

Postby rollingstock » August 25th, 2015, 5:19 pm

Raven how long have you been vaping?
Did you smoke cigs before? How much?

What equipment are you using? Airflow?

Done persons have reactions to pg, try all vg. How much do you vape, headaches and if there is nausea can be signs of nicotine overdose. If using something with restrictive airflow that can also cause headaches if your pulling hard for a lengthy period.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » August 25th, 2015, 9:35 pm

Started the gaping about 3 months.
Used to smoke before about a pack a week.
Using the aspire Ecig from ecigtt.
Normal one.

Postby rollingstock » August 25th, 2015, 9:58 pm

A pack a week is not much as a smoker.

Try something with a lower nic level, 6mg should be fine.

It could also be a reaction to pg which some persons have.

Where are you from? Can probably mix up a low nic, high vg menthol for you.

Postby tr1ad » August 25th, 2015, 10:02 pm

Yea that's a heavy nic level for you try a 3mg

The Raven

Postby The Raven » August 25th, 2015, 10:24 pm

Recommend some brands and location to buy it pls.
Thanks.

ECIGTT

Postby ECIGTT » August 25th, 2015, 11:58 pm

there is space jam 6mg at Bhagans Price Plaza Chaguanas. You can try it

Postby tr1ad » August 26th, 2015, 12:16 am

A lot around ....
Space jam
Mothers milk
Vaperone
Vaperlot
Dekang
Joyetech

Postby rollingstock » August 26th, 2015, 12:29 am

Where you getting the mothers milk?

vapourone

Postby vapourone » August 26th, 2015, 3:20 pm

rollingstock wrote:Where you getting the mothers milk?

Eeewww

ECIGTT

Postby ECIGTT » August 26th, 2015, 3:25 pm

Anyone tried High Voltage e-liquid? what are your thoughts of it. Thinking of importing

DjScreech

Postby DjScreech » August 27th, 2015, 9:45 am

New mod to the arsenal guys
1440683139442.jpg