3ne2nr fishermen

drop ho

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby drop ho » August 25th, 2015, 8:49 am

mrlantra i know i had promised you the last time but sry got it filled last night.

ddi life - 5 hours $2k everything included ie tackle.

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » August 26th, 2015, 11:42 am

Woi fellars heading manzan this weekend never fished their before wa bait i will need an what do u catch up their thanks

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » August 26th, 2015, 12:19 pm

Get some shrimp and you could try bonito as well.

proton17

Postby proton17 » August 26th, 2015, 12:22 pm

Go with plenty shrimp and a cast net for mullet or big eye fish in d surf. Right now u lucky if u catch gd fish there this time of year.

It hv zilwan right now though plenty but d bigger fishes like cavalli, pompano, salmon not really when d water not real clean.

Best bet for those fishes and like tawat, blinch, power is to fish around this upcoming full moon on a moonrise or moonset time. If dey hungry and lime around dat is.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » August 26th, 2015, 3:26 pm

You forgot to mention cat fish, if you can get up the river snook do hang out in the groves and you can use a large circle hook on a small mullet for them in the surf sometimes.

On another note, the barbie rod challenge has been issued, so I'm also roping in some other victims. I ain't going down alone!

Simple challenge, catch the largest fish on a barbie rod ( or similar spiderman/superman etc plastic wonder ), video evidence only accepted as any fool can catch a whale and pose up with the rod after.

line maybe changed and reel modified but not replaced ( eg reglue the SOB back together or V dazzle it ) the rod must not exceed 30" in length and the reel must be integral. Otherwise good luck!

Now who the hell sells those toys here.

Postby meccalli » August 26th, 2015, 4:08 pm

If you can change the line, what's the point? A better challenge is to use regular gear with 1-5 lb test mono. Line class dictates gear, not the other way around. Around local structure that'll be a feat unless you're in open water.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 26th, 2015, 5:52 pm

mrlantra wrote:You forgot to mention cat fish, if you can get up the river snook do hang out in the groves and you can use a large circle hook on a small mullet for them in the surf sometimes.

On another note, the barbie rod challenge has been issued, so I'm also roping in some other victims. I ain't going down alone!

Simple challenge, catch the largest fish on a barbie rod ( or similar spiderman/superman etc plastic wonder ), video evidence only accepted as any fool can catch a whale and pose up with the rod after.

line maybe changed and reel modified but not replaced ( eg reglue the SOB back together or V dazzle it ) the rod must not exceed 30" in length and the reel must be integral. Otherwise good luck!

Challenge Accepted , got a barbie rod borrowed already

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » August 26th, 2015, 10:10 pm

Thanks fellars

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 28th, 2015, 9:24 am

mrlantra wrote:You forgot to mention cat fish, if you can get up the river snook do hang out in the groves and you can use a large circle hook on a small mullet for them in the surf sometimes.

So thats the plan sunday??

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 30th, 2015, 3:29 pm

I am reading through the posts. Can someone tell me what is "live bait" and what's the best kind to use.

I have always used squid - but there seems to be a shortage of it. Reached as far as otaheite market looking for squid (and I live San Juan)

Appreciate comments

daas

Postby daas » August 30th, 2015, 3:55 pm

Want to learn to fish. Somebody help me na

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 30th, 2015, 4:17 pm

^^^ YouTube

daas

Postby daas » August 30th, 2015, 4:21 pm

Where to get gear tho?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 30th, 2015, 4:44 pm

U need to go through the thread !

Postby meccalli » August 30th, 2015, 6:19 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:I am reading through the posts. Can someone tell me what is "live bait" and what's the best kind to use.

I have always used squid - but there seems to be a shortage of it. Reached as far as otaheite market looking for squid (and I live San Juan)

Appreciate comments

Live bait is pretty much, living bait whether it be fish or crustacean etc. Hooked in a manner so as to not damage vital organs and kill the bait but prolong the fish's life on the hook while it gives off distress signals eg. Bridled or Hooked in the nasal cavity or in the caudal/anal fin. Shrimp, hooked in the tail in the horn and squid hooked in the mantle. Squid is available year round in our waters but in much greater abundance during the peak spawning period around march onward when they can be inshore.

nemesis12 wrote:Want to learn to fish. Somebody help me na

Best thing I could tell you, get yourself a caster, some line, sinkers( banking and egg, 3/4-2 oz) swivels and hooks. Learn to tie some basic bait rigs i.e carolina rig, double dropper or paternoster. Use bait found in the area and seasonally available/ abundance and match the size of the bait to the size of the hooks with the intended target species in mind. Read alot ( structure, tides, solunar phases, habitats), talk to people when you go to fish- picked up a lot of local tips from friendly fishermen( respect where you throw your line around other fishermen lol).

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 30th, 2015, 6:26 pm

Being in a group or crew will help out a lot.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » August 30th, 2015, 9:17 pm

Rolled the kayak!

details at 11

Postby meccalli » August 30th, 2015, 9:55 pm

Yikes!

daas

Postby daas » August 30th, 2015, 10:20 pm

Ok need some fisherman friends now.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 30th, 2015, 11:14 pm

mrlantra wrote:Rolled the kayak!

details at 11

Just be 't take any pictures or video!!! Was too busy trying to get off the beach and packed.

Good spot but we need better anchors! You should tell them about your catfish barb!

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 30th, 2015, 11:28 pm

Did some banking off Claxton Bay yesterday..caught plenty carangrass, pompano, cro cro, couple small reds and a few small cavalli.
Fish mostly biting in the shallows.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » August 31st, 2015, 12:36 am

Cat fish suck! Sail cats suck more! I got barbed and venomed real good right though my index finger to. I blame it for the roll to. But that's nothing compared to the fish that jumped out the cooler bag back into the water

Postby meccalli » August 31st, 2015, 6:04 am

Lol ouch, you need to get the juju off the yak.

daas

Postby daas » August 31st, 2015, 8:41 am

Possible to fish on land? Not big like allyuh

daas

Postby daas » August 31st, 2015, 8:51 am

What are the price ranges locally for the gear I need to start off?

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » August 31st, 2015, 9:05 am

What part of the country you from?

daas

Postby daas » August 31st, 2015, 9:13 am

West.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 31st, 2015, 9:23 am

nemesis12 wrote:What are the price ranges locally for the gear I need to start off?

Shakespeare ugly stik combo cant go wrong. Cheap and effective.

daas

Postby daas » August 31st, 2015, 9:27 am

Where to get it?

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » August 31st, 2015, 9:46 am

There is a tackle shop on Luis st. in POS called Mankees. You would get everything you need there at a good price.