.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2015, 8:50 am

everybody saying Rowley's rapid rail is the real deal.....big PNM plus...den y the fcuk did the PNM remove the system?

Postby Redman » August 14th, 2015, 8:57 am

because we had cheap oil cheap asphalt,and a burgeoning Auto lobby.
Same reasons the Foreign used industry was supported

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 14th, 2015, 9:36 am

in the 50's/60's the trainlines and trains were removed because at the time it was a sore memory of colonialism

neilsenali

Postby neilsenali » August 14th, 2015, 10:26 am

We only have a couple more days again for the Big Day!!

neilsenali

Postby neilsenali » August 14th, 2015, 10:29 am

:cry: It so hard still to get a HDC House..

Postby Habit7 » August 14th, 2015, 10:32 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:everybody saying Rowley's rapid rail is the real deal.....big PNM plus...den y the fcuk did the PNM remove the system?

Habit7 wrote:
Although there was an increase in the number of buses on the road, the service was limited. In early 1920 one service was started between Four Roads and Macqueripe by a man named Charles Ross of Ross’ Bazaars. By 1923, the railway service was witnessing a drastic decline in the number of passengers transported; this was mainly because of competition from the buses. By the mid 1920’s the bus became the ‘great vehicle of public transportation’ all over Trinidad.
http://www.ptsc.co.tt/about-us.html

The decline of rail in Trinidad happened since British colonial days. The new government just inherited a system in declined that flourished when no one had cars. The PNM closed it down for the same reason the PP did for the Rapid Rail project. The PNM a used the main EW line for the priority bus route and depended on the Princess Margaret Highway to go south, all with the hope of buses to support public transport. 50 years later, with clogged roads, the PP has the ingenious idea of building new roads and using buses to solve traffic. It worked 50 years ago but today we need mass transit, not just buses.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 14th, 2015, 11:54 am

Redman wrote:We need a policy document....What direction are we going in ?

If the goal is to decentralize away from POS....and with static population growth ....what is the need to increase the volume capacity into POS...?
When POS seems AT capacity??

And keep the UNC/PNM out of this.

I feel that with a rapid rail, there would be less of a reason to decentralize as getting to POS would be very quick and easy, no traffic or anything you talking about 20 to 30 minutes from Sando etc. The only bad thing about the rapid rail is very very few stops. I wish I had more details on all the stops they were planning to make. They can't make too many stops with this thing especially at 160 miles an hour or what have you.

But I would expect this would drastically free up the need for buses and significantly free up cars on the road. One huge issue with current PTSC is lack of buses to move this much people out of POS. And even then you have to deal with TRAFFIC lots and lots of it.

As for Maxi Taxi men, there will still be a use for them. They won't go bankrupt they would just do more short stops.

Postby Redman » August 14th, 2015, 12:24 pm

The traffic is not the problem....its a SYMPTOM of the the capacity of POS....
Forget the traffic...how much more people can POS take during working hrs??
Can POS expand?
Is the infrastructure capable of expanding-water/electrical/physical...

The sole function of a RR would be to enable more people in and out of POS at rush hr.

What do we want for POS?

A clear understanding of the above ....and more would LEAD us to whether a RR is needed and what its specs should be...

Whats happening now is an assumption that the growth we have seen over the last 20 yrs will continue at the same rate....but we thought the same before the last recession.

And why not develop other areas???

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 14th, 2015, 12:36 pm

^ well Sat Maraj said the PM should make Chaguanas the new big city of Trinidad or something to that extent. But I do agree its useless to be forced onto POS a place that always flood when rain falls because u got to wait till the sea goes down before that water can really drain out.

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2015, 12:40 pm

No one cares what Sat Maharaj says.

Postby eliteauto » August 14th, 2015, 12:52 pm

neilsenali wrote::cry: It so hard still to get a HDC House..

how many houses a week/day/month/second? Moonilal say he way geeing way? What happened to that UML?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 14th, 2015, 12:57 pm

So this man dedicate an hour to opposing the rapid rail on 91.9? steups so the first man call in or the second man, he call and explain a REAL problem the maxi taxi drivers dropping you short on mornings, they swinging back and picking you up again hence you paying 2 and 3 times the price to go to port of spain.

And hear this wuttless man how he say that is not a good reason for a rapid rail. Then he goes onto say he want 10 reasons why this rapid rail is good, how the hell you getting 10 reasons and why you even need a whole 10 reasons? might aswell ask 1 million reasons.

https://www.facebook.com/ricardo.welch. ... =2&theater

Postby Habit7 » August 14th, 2015, 12:59 pm

Redman wrote:The traffic is not the problem....its a SYMPTOM of the the capacity of POS....
Forget the traffic...how much more people can POS take during working hrs??
Can POS expand?
Is the infrastructure capable of expanding-water/electrical/physical...

The sole function of a RR would be to enable more people in and out of POS at rush hr.

What do we want for POS?

A clear understanding of the above ....and more would LEAD us to whether a RR is needed and what its specs should be...

Whats happening now is an assumption that the growth we have seen over the last 20 yrs will continue at the same rate....but we thought the same before the last recession.

And why not develop other areas???
POS has plenty of space.

In fact along with the RR they would have to move the port to Sea Lots which opens up new acres of sea front land for major development. Also when government moves into the Government Campus, many leased buildings will be empty. POS is not what is known in urban planning as a primate city, it doesn't have a large population, no airport, no major university, it is not the only container port and not main shopping centre.

Countries who had primate cities like Brazil, Pakistan and Nigerian decentralized and created planned cities like Brasilia, Islamabad and Abuja but in TT UNC wrongly uses the term and they mean to split up the governments HQs to south of the Caroni. But that only causes inefficiency and more traffic.

For example the new TEST building in Chaguanas if you are coming from Arima how many different legs of transport use need to get there, if you have a child are there any day cares nearby, what options for lunch, can you runaway to pay a bill lunch time etc? Same goes for the MVA in Caroni. However the government campus has services all around and within walking distance all with a central transportation hub to serve the entire city near by.

What we need is an efficient means of transport to take us to these hubs of services and business, not move them close to me but far from you.

So spreading everything would just make for more transport by car, less by foot and more time lost in between.

Postby Redman » August 14th, 2015, 1:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well Sat Maraj said the PM should make Chaguanas the new big city of Trinidad or something to that extent. But I do agree its useless to be forced onto POS a place that always flood when rain falls because u got to wait till the sea goes down before that water can really drain out.

ah new big city means the same ting as puttin every ting in tong.

Singapore did what it did because they developed an over arching Strategic PLAN that then guided the decisions at a tactical level...

So we need a PLAN for the Country....that then dictates what/where/how .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 14th, 2015, 1:02 pm

I find the full hour and a half of the program, these man really wicked yes listen to all the dotish reasons for opposing the rapid rail.

He definitely being paid to say these dotishness. These people don't give a sheit about passengers being taken advantage off by these nasty maxi drivers who charging you $15 and $20 to go POS from Arima on mornings.

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 14th, 2015, 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » August 14th, 2015, 1:03 pm

eliteauto wrote:

how many houses a week/day/month/second? Moonilal say he way geeing way? What happened to that UML?

Still giving out. Just not getting time to post achievements and kinda boring posting the same thing over and over(houses). Will try to post new ones since u clearly look forward to it.

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2015, 1:14 pm

U still spammin wid dis galdiator sheit?

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2015, 1:15 pm

Postby Habit7 » August 14th, 2015, 1:29 pm

Com'on guys, I'm sure he meant by "my people" zoophiles

Postby eliteauto » August 14th, 2015, 1:47 pm

UML wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

Still giving out. Just not getting time to post achievements and kinda boring posting the same thing over and over(houses). Will try to post new ones since u clearly look forward to it.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ironic

rye

Miss Kamla ad in the television(couva children hospital)

Postby rye » August 14th, 2015, 9:55 pm

kamla2015?
kamla till 2020?

rye

laptops given by pp government

Postby rye » August 14th, 2015, 9:59 pm

kamla 2015

more schools
more laptops..
more ..........??????
who can tell me
kamla said,"we put our children first"

Postby Habit7 » August 14th, 2015, 10:56 pm

The UNC List
Fuad-San Juan/B
Tim - Caroni E
Chag East-Fazal Karim
Chag W-Ganga
Couva N -Ramona
Couva S- Rudranath Indarsingh
Cumoto Manzan-Christine Newallo
Diego N-G Nicholas
Fyzabad-Dr. Bodoe
La Horq- J Seemungal
Roger Morales- Mayaro
Naparima-Rodney Charles
Oropuche E -Moonilal
Oropouche W - Vidya Goopeesingh
PaP-David Lee
Pos N St A- Eli Zachur
Moruga- De Couteau
Razi ahmed-Sando'West
POS South -Don Sylvester
St Joseph- Vasant
Brent Sanko- Toco
Tunapuna- Wayne Munroe
Siparia- Kamla
from FB
UML can you confirm?

Re: laptops given by pp government

Postby janfar » August 14th, 2015, 11:08 pm

rye... if you are looking for a ban let me know. I can have it arranged.

Postby janfar » August 14th, 2015, 11:10 pm

Roger Morales mayaro sounds incorrect.

Postby rfari » August 14th, 2015, 11:14 pm

Postby janfar » August 14th, 2015, 11:20 pm

Roger Morales was my insane Current Affairs teacher/ wannabe cricket coach at the Rio Claro Junior Secondary school. He is a far cry from Rushton Paray, who I thought would have been a better candidate given his already strong ground support.

We are talking about the PP though so...

Postby Habit7 » August 14th, 2015, 11:21 pm

janfar wrote:Roger Morales mayaro sounds incorrect.

Nah KPB fb page confirms it

I thought Rambharat might end up in the Senate but now for sure is lower house for he.

Postby rfari » August 14th, 2015, 11:23 pm

Pain for ppl trying to follow the unc's strategy for this elections. Compared to pnm, unc diverting from the pnm type medium pace to doora and googleys (sp)

Postby janfar » August 14th, 2015, 11:31 pm

I really think they are trying to lose the election. Gypsy is an assh0l3 but he did do some good work in the constituency.