Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Chiney » August 6th, 2015, 4:54 pm

Now my hand smells like sanding sealer :/

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 7th, 2015, 12:27 am

X_Factor wrote:^ so u not gonna invite us over for a demo?

I inviting myself for that day

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 7th, 2015, 4:41 pm

Lol

And there goes my sinus :) lol

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » August 7th, 2015, 9:36 pm

Arite guys decided to take some pics of my media room, its still a work in progress but it functional.

The room is 17' x 17'
Benq W1070 projector
Benq ceiling mount
110" 16:9 neutral grey screen
Denon AVR E400 Receiver
Pioneer speakers (soon to be upgraded to overnight sensation MTM towers and center)
12" subwoffer
Dimmable led recessed lights and accent lighting
Fiber optic star field ceiling

The room is totally DIY either installed or built by myself (including the RBG led cannon for the fiber optics)
Still need to do a proper AV rack and upgrade speakers.
2.jpg
3.jpg
1.jpg

carluva

Postby carluva » August 7th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Real nice ziggy dappa. Very impressive that this is a dyi. Youve tempted me to take a few pics of my room. Not quite modern like yours, but more classic and simplistic.

Postin them real soon.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 7th, 2015, 10:22 pm

32" panasonic tv
Yamaha soundbar.

Booyah [WINKING FACE]
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439000444.920909.jpg
Last edited by carluva on August 7th, 2015, 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 7th, 2015, 10:52 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439002244.398046.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439002271.926276.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439002292.085279.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439002303.610197.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439002314.536919.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439002326.220438.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439002337.962785.jpg

Ok I was just messing around. That is what i have in the bedroom. The setup in my 12x12 (approx) media room which i did over last november is:

TV: LG 42" LCD
PS3 as the bluray player
Receiver: denon avr x4000
Power conditioner: panamax mr4300
Room wired for 7.2 but i have a 7.1 speaker setup with:
Center channel: def tech procenter 2000
FL, FR, FHL and FHR: def tech promonitor 1000
SL and SR: def tech SR8040BP bipolar
Subwoofer: def tech supercube 2000
Logitech harmony with smart control as the universal remote.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 7th, 2015, 11:49 pm

Now we talking!!! Keep them pics coming! This is what a HT thread is about. Loving the setup ziggy. My towers would be a bit to big for that room, but would sound amazing!
The wife also wanted a projector setup in the room for her to watch Netflix n so. Looking out for a HDMI one on sale.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » August 8th, 2015, 8:48 am

No complaints at all with this w1070 it shows great and the price is even better compared to others in its class.
Once you can control the sunlight in your room a projector is a great option.

nice setup Carluva, sweet audio equipment.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 8th, 2015, 9:02 am

Linkkkkkk

carluva

Postby carluva » August 8th, 2015, 10:09 am

Check out this website.

Real fine resource for everything you want to know about projectors.

They even have specs for different projectors and reviews.

http://www.projectorcentral.com

Just be careful when buying projectors with HDMI. Some are HDMI but for computer use only whereas others have HDMI for HT use. Some of the HDMI computer projectors usually wont work with a bluray player or receiver HDMI video out. I bought one for my wife with HDMI but that was specifically for a computer for multimedia use and i cant use it with my HT gear (not that i planned to anyway).

That website will cover all of that though.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 9th, 2015, 12:35 am

^^ great help!!
thanks!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 9th, 2015, 12:13 pm

Painted the primer on...

After 2 coats we have this..it looks awesome in real. The primer brought it all together and hid the few perfections I was loosing sleep over :)

Postby M_2NR » August 10th, 2015, 11:10 pm

Always eyeing this DLP Projector

Optoma HD141X Full 3D 1080p 3000 Lumen DLP Home Theater Projector with MHL Enabled HDMI Port https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MK39P92/

It was $550.00 last month :(

Anton

Postby Anton » August 11th, 2015, 10:23 am

I would recommend looking at a short throw projector for HT use. Measure the dimensions of the room you're going to use and head over to projectorcentral. Com and make sure the pj you choose will suit the room and screen size.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2015, 10:34 am

carluva wrote:TV: LG 42" LCD
PS3 as the bluray player
Receiver: denon avr x4000
Power conditioner: panamax mr4300
Room wired for 7.2 but i have a 7.1 speaker setup with:
Center channel: def tech procenter 2000
FL, FR, FHL and FHR: def tech promonitor 1000
SL and SR: def tech SR8040BP bipolar
Subwoofer: def tech supercube 2000
Logitech harmony with smart control as the universal remote.

nice setup!!!! 8-)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 11th, 2015, 11:02 am

Niceness!!

Postby Gladiator » August 11th, 2015, 11:12 am

M_2NR wrote:Always eyeing this DLP Projector

Optoma HD141X Full 3D 1080p 3000 Lumen DLP Home Theater Projector with MHL Enabled HDMI Port https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MK39P92/

It was $550.00 last month :(

Excellent Projector... I got mine about a month ago...$499 on Ebay.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 11th, 2015, 12:44 pm

:)

My pride and joy... Gonna take a while with this to...I'm using gorilla glue..the foaming one...to expand and fuse with the mdf.... So that takes about a 24hrs to fully cure....i want this to last me a while... So since the inside is layered, I will seal the outside with the primer coats before I paint...hide the mdf from moisture.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » August 11th, 2015, 12:49 pm

what brand of sub you are going to use bro

Postby X_Factor » August 11th, 2015, 1:01 pm

double baffle?
what kinda bracing inside?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 11th, 2015, 2:17 pm

Using a idmax15 and yes bracing and double baffle.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » August 11th, 2015, 2:27 pm

power for the hour

Postby Gladiator » August 11th, 2015, 9:34 pm

Does anyone know where I can find Home Theatre Furniture locally

I am looking for something like this:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2015, 10:29 pm

^ Fen's of Marabella has like those.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 12th, 2015, 8:16 am

Gladiator wrote:Does anyone know where I can find Home Theatre Furniture locally

I am looking for something like this:

would like to know myself, for when i build my dedicated HT room...

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 12th, 2015, 8:45 am

I like the star field idea Ziggy, where you got that?

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » August 12th, 2015, 9:44 am

^^ You can get the complete kits to buy on ebay or amazon.\

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Fiber-Optic-sta ... 3a8686dea6

They come with a fiber optic bundle (of varying thicknesses to give the effect of depth) and a light engine, basically you drill tiny holes through your ceiling an string the ends of the fibers through securing them with glue, after the ceiling is painted you just clip of the end to expose the bare fiber.
The photos I posted don't give a true view of it because of the camera in night mode.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2015, 10:25 am

Great stuff Ziggy!

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » August 12th, 2015, 2:41 pm

^^Thanks.

And if you are really adventurous you can DIY the light engine and spend the extra on more fibers :)

Parts can be easily found on Ebay.
2014-10-16 17.04.01.jpg