*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

ziggy_dappa

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby ziggy_dappa » July 30th, 2015, 8:58 am

^^ piano black finish looks sweet and there are a few tutorials online on how to achevie it.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2015, 9:05 am

I prefer satin or matte.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » July 30th, 2015, 12:33 pm

After vinyl wrapping that last box, I think thats the easiest option. High build automotive primer is your friend for either piano or matte . As for piano, lotsa clear coat, cutting compound and elbowgrease.

If you are painting, use an old credit card or similar card and paste in some wood filler on the bare mdf edges. That worked best for me in hiding them. When I used primer alone, the results werent as good.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2015, 12:53 pm

This is knotless pine with automotive primer, red paint and clear coat. The lighting in the photo doesn't show how reflective it really is though.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1438275209.485966.jpg

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2015, 1:07 pm

that is what i am going to do.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 30th, 2015, 1:13 pm

nice finish

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2015, 1:15 pm

After this..and it dries..I will remove the screws and counter sink all of them. Use filler and sand even.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 30th, 2015, 1:26 pm

hey chinee do you have a diagram or spec sheet to follow in building your project?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2015, 1:28 pm

acutally.. i do..

somewhere LOL

after i cut all the pieces and believe i rest it down somewhere..

why?

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 30th, 2015, 1:31 pm

i have a couple of speakers and i like the size of the enclosure you have. What size of speakers you are going to use in this enclosure.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2015, 1:34 pm

the front towers are going to house a 3/4" silk dome dayton tweeter and 3 4" midbass drivers.

the center is 1 3/4" silk and 2 4" midbass

rears are 1 3/4" and 1 4" each

the towers were built to allow the midbass to present itself a bit stronger as i plan to only have the sub do 60hz down

another reason i went with the 15" IDMAX, it can handle low notes EXTREMELY well in my personal experience, so i stuck with familiar ground.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 30th, 2015, 1:37 pm

say what ? you lost me at the first line. lol . I am under the impression that it would not make much sense to build this size of enclosure for a single four inch speaker .

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2015, 2:20 pm

where exactly are u lost?

and y not build that size enclosure for a 4" ?

Aimar

Postby Aimar » July 30th, 2015, 4:28 pm

Check this out...
http://elac.us/debutproducts/

The story is, Andrew Jones left pio and joined ELAC, a well known European speaker manufacturer. This Debut series is his first entry line design.

It looks pretty standard but initial reviews were good(especially @ those prices)
Product starts shipping in Sept.

**check out the sub tuning tech**....just awesome :arrow:

Might just have some Polk stuff to sell... 8-)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2015, 9:07 am

Finally...now to sand and start filling...then I can use a Jasper jig to flush mouth the speakers

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » July 31st, 2015, 10:18 am

A couple of the guys on partsexpress forums heard the initial offerings from ELAC and spoke with Jones. they got really stellar reviews. I think the line will do well.

Anton

Postby Anton » July 31st, 2015, 12:09 pm

Aimar wrote:Check this out...
http://elac.us/debutproducts/

The story is, Andrew Jones left pio and joined ELAC, a well known European speaker manufacturer. This Debut series is his first entry line design.

It looks pretty standard but initial reviews were good(especially @ those prices)
Product starts shipping in Sept.

**check out the sub tuning tech**....just awesome :arrow:

Might just have some Polk stuff to sell... 8-)

The specs and reviews seem great! Hmmmm, I'm feeling the upgrade fever...... May have some jamos for sale. Lol

Aimar

Postby Aimar » July 31st, 2015, 1:34 pm

^^ The price as well. But sell those Jamos... I doubt it...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2015, 5:28 pm

Made huge progress today!!

Look seeeeeee

Jasper jig

Test cut to have final cutting measurements

Fun begins!

After I finish the rear's, next step is to sand all edges even and filler where needs..then take off tops with cutouts and fasten passives then run and attach the terminals, wire up the woofers to give me 5ohms to the passive ( parallel then to series)

Counter sink all the screw holes, screw back front, filler and sand again. Gotta mask off inside to prevent to much dust hitting the passives.

MC DONALD'S RUN!!!!!! BRB

Postby X_Factor » July 31st, 2015, 6:20 pm

Please dont use gypsum screws to mount ur speakers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2015, 6:59 pm

LOVVIN them towers!!!

Advent

Postby Advent » August 1st, 2015, 7:58 am

Gladiator wrote:
Chiney wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Chiney wrote:Nope. Subs are supposed to be tuned transparent. Subs aren't supposed to "have a location" also., staging in HT is done with because of the rears and rear surrounds. What is considered is imaging. Because you are supposed to hear someone sneaking up behind you and make u look back lol.. I don't agree with your statement sorry.

That's right for most applications... you also have multiple sub applications with rear subs as well front. the level of processing would determine the localization of the LFE information i guess.

yep!

after a good conversation with SR this morning, he also brought to my attention the huge difference between movie audio and music audio. Its either music built/tuned or movie built/tuned.

with that, im all about the movies, but i love music as well, good clean music too, as i have always built my vehicles with stealth and SQ in mind.

its a joggle... but i will lean to the movie tuning.

Cool man... good to see that enthusiast like you always learning and keeping up with the information. You should listen to some 5.1 recorded music tracks when you complete your HT. After listening to true Dolby 5.1 music I am afraid I just cannot go back to stereo. Media is limited and you get plenty up-sampled crap if you download, but the few tracks that I have puts a whole new dimension into music.

Keep us updated with your build....
any link to 5.1music.

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 1st, 2015, 8:33 am

Thanks Duane! Mee tooo lol

Xfactor.. Y boy? Is that self I using! ;)

Postby X_Factor » August 1st, 2015, 9:42 am

Boy you spending alot of money and those gypsum screws look real cheap and tacky
get these
http://www.amazon.com/Du-Bro-Socket-She ... ood+screws

or

https://www.parts-express.com/m3-x-16mm ... s--081-300

it really transforms the look of ur project

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 1st, 2015, 9:46 am

Sigh...ur easily trolled I see....

Postby X_Factor » August 1st, 2015, 9:58 am

stupes!!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 1st, 2015, 10:10 am

X_Factor wrote:Please dont use gypsum screws to mount ur speakers

Tnuts makes life easier! especially if you need to remove or change speakers for any reason.

Last edited by nareshseep on August 1st, 2015, 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 1st, 2015, 10:13 am

Tnuts will be used on the sub... Its really heavy

Postby meccalli » August 1st, 2015, 10:19 am

The screws just hold it in place for the glue to bond. A countersink bit flush mounts the screws, mix a little mdf dust with some wood glue and paste it over. Sand down.
Nice build log. :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 1st, 2015, 10:53 am

I'm sure u saw when I said that's what I'm doing lol