WTK ANYONE ELSE BEEN TOLD TO STOCK UP ?

sickbad

WTK ANYONE ELSE BEEN TOLD TO STOCK UP ?

Postby sickbad » July 28th, 2015, 1:04 pm

Just feeling this out because I've heard from 2 people that they have heard for weeks now to do exactly so.

Re: WTK ANYONE ELSE BEEN TOLD TO STOCK UP ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 28th, 2015, 1:07 pm

Yes, I was told to keep a one month supply of essential foodstuffs and household items in storage in the run-up to elections.

I just ordered a few cases of MREs to keep at home. Going PriceSmart later for the household supplies.

Postby K74T » July 28th, 2015, 1:33 pm

I've stocked up on and properly stored my bodi, can't tell when those prices will be affected.

snatman

Postby snatman » July 28th, 2015, 1:42 pm

i always keep a spare hog, or two, in the bathroom, for a variety of reasons

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2015, 2:05 pm

Rory where do you get the MREs and at what price?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 28th, 2015, 2:12 pm

There's a company that brings them in.
The name idk.

Postby Redman » July 28th, 2015, 2:27 pm

Amazon has a WISE 120 serving bucket for 210 USD.
20 year shelf life
thats without shipping and customs.
its 20 LBS

So The purchase cost works out to be about 11 TTD per meal.

Even if you double it for Shipping and Customs...it makes sense

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Hmmmm. But those meals healthier and cheaper than buying food in town.

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 28th, 2015, 3:24 pm

I was not worried till i saw the footage of that guys funeral.....thats not right

Postby DVSTT » July 28th, 2015, 4:13 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:I was not worried till i saw the footage of that guys funeral.....thats not right

link?

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 28th, 2015, 4:29 pm

DVSTT wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:I was not worried till i saw the footage of that guys funeral.....thats not right

link?

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=636639&start=390#p8805746

Postby RASC » July 28th, 2015, 5:32 pm

Terrorists. All of them.

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 28th, 2015, 6:16 pm

But undue panic..lets not panic

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 28th, 2015, 6:18 pm

But undue panic..lets not panic

sickbad

Postby sickbad » July 28th, 2015, 8:59 pm

We and by extension the police and army seem to tolerate or fear this type of middle eastern Islamic state behavior.

I'm sure who ever shot those guns don't have them registered and the army or pope would be too fraid to do dey wuk because nobody wanna get shoot up when they have wifey and famlee home.

Postby janfar » July 28th, 2015, 9:00 pm

I buy all the Ramen and crix from Southern Food Basket in the East.

Postby Redman » July 28th, 2015, 9:08 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Hmmmm. But those meals healthier and cheaper than buying food in town.

And no refrigeration..

It's got me thinking......

It's literally a bucket sized container.

Not hard to store .

Postby desifemlove » July 28th, 2015, 9:12 pm

snatman wrote:i always keep a spare hog, or two, in the bathroom, for a variety of reasons

toilet ham?

Postby K74T » July 28th, 2015, 9:51 pm

Stock the fcuk up.

Postby rollingstock » July 28th, 2015, 10:41 pm

K74T wrote:Stock the fcuk up.

Buh I eh even tell you a word :?

Postby Slartibartfast » July 29th, 2015, 12:58 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:But undue panic..lets not panic
This will be the biggest threat to us.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2015, 1:01 pm

so people are saying to stock up. But why do they think we should?
it would help to know what we are preparing for.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 29th, 2015, 1:28 pm

Many people are just on edge because of the escape of three inmates, that belong to the group of individuals that previously staged a coup in this country, and the manner in which the escape happened. People are now aware that the same group of individuals have easy access to firearms and ammunition regardless of where they are.

This by itself would not be a big deal but some people are also looking at the timing of this breakout (1 month before elections) and are wondering if it may have something to do with the elections.

Some people are also considering the fact that there is clearly contact between individuals in Trinidad and individuals of black flag waving extremist groups in the middle east that coincidentally share a lot of the same ideals as the same group of individuals that the three escapees belonged to and that staged a coup two and a half decades ago.

With this in mind, that group and their followers (although well armed) are still in vast minority in Trinidad and Tobago and it seems highly unlikely that they could take over the country, even with foreign help.

However, if the group of individuals were to try something like they did 25 years ago when they were in the same minority with significantly less firepower available, the chances are that everyone would want to lock themselves away in their houses until it was over.

But trinis being trinis don't think ahead and will try to stock up for their lock up just after the first hint of something going on. This would mean people buying food goods at a much greater rate than the groceries can restock them. This means that many people would end up being extremely inconvenienced by waiting in long lines or have to go without.

So it would be prudent to ensure that you have extra supplies from early just in case something does happen you can focus on getting you and your family to safety instead of contributing to the chaos and havoc, which will ultimately be our greatest threat if anything were to happen.

Anyway, all that I have said is just two parts hearsay and one part paranoia over minor coincidences. Hence the reason why OP just asked if other people heard the rumors and wasn't trying to convince people to stock up.

TL:DR People stocking up because it would be hard to stock up when more people begin to stock up. It sounds silly because it is.

Postby Chimera » July 29th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:so people are saying to stock up. But why do they think we should?
it would help to know what we are preparing for.

Earthquake
Volcano
Abu bakr
Isis
Pnm governance

Real reasons to worry and stock up