Flow Internet Thread

megadoc1

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby megadoc1 » July 19th, 2015, 4:04 pm

The only issue I had with flow was slow speed and dropping connections,I yanked out all the white cabling and never had an issue since

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 19th, 2015, 4:05 pm

Anybody here does play Fighting games on PS3/xbox 360 and PS4/Xbone with Flow connection?

How is the Lag? disconnects? input delay?

Wonders how this Peer to Peer network fighting game works from Trinidad to North America etc
Why does Trinidad have to be soooo far from North America, like seriously we are the last Island LOL

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 19th, 2015, 9:55 pm

^ on some occasions I get disconnected or lag.

Postby redmanjp » July 20th, 2015, 12:20 am

so how do the increased speeds measure up on foreign servers?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 20th, 2015, 12:49 am

Get a PC and all those problems will go away.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 20th, 2015, 10:10 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Get a PC and all those problems will go away.

Well the PC is one of the biggest problems with Mortal Kombat X.
Since many people want to run the game on a potato when their PC slows down so does yours. Causing a massive issue even if you are running a NASA PC
Where as consoles all are the same and run at the same frame rate.

I looking forward to Killer Instinct for PC which will have cross platform with XBOX One players.
I bought ultra street fighter 4 for PC yesterday for $10 on steam sale. Online is flawless, you can play with potato on dial up internet in a cave from the middle east with 400ms ping and still the game runs smooth as butter somehow. So maybe is just Mortal Kombat X is busted and is garbage on PC

weedbouy

Postby weedbouy » July 22nd, 2015, 8:59 pm

flow internet is the worst for gaming running a supposedly 100MBS connection and Smite latency really poor

Postby stev » July 22nd, 2015, 9:03 pm

weedbouy wrote:flow internet is the worst for gaming running a supposedly 100MBS connection and Smite latency really poor

the faster your connection speed does not mean lower latency....having a bigger pipe does not decrease your distance to the server.

i have absolutely no problem with the latency and gaming and i'm 30Mbps

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2015, 9:13 pm

Boy.. TBH Flow is the lesser of the two evils... much less issues than blink. I do think the users on my node are somewhat PITAs. My node forever saturated. I feel some a dem addicted to porn or something :lol:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 22nd, 2015, 11:13 pm

weedbouy wrote:flow internet is the worst for gaming running a supposedly 100MBS connection and Smite latency really poor

You does even get smite to work between 6pm-2am weekdays?
I uninstall months ago because it wasn't making sense.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 22nd, 2015, 11:25 pm

So wait nah, since my Blink does work perfect 97% of the time for online gaming and has been this way for 7 years. Is bess I keep it? reading you guys here who has flow its a bit scary.

The only thing with Blink while it does not affect me, when the pings are 120ms with Blink, on flow it can be as low as 80ms

Other cases in the US with Blink its 112ms and Flow its100ms which is hardly any different. In the case of Battlefield 4 servers.

My area has new lines TSTT did run with fiber to the note. so theoretically I can get 17Mbps with TSTT DSL. I once had their 10Mbps for 1 month and it worked at 12Mbps quite fine. The only real issue with TSTT is youtube videos run at 240P regardless of the speed.

You can get a billion GB/S on Torrent but youtube will work at 240p. From an online search Google has accused ISPs of throttling youtube stream.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 22nd, 2015, 11:28 pm

so let me ask this question, with FLOW does it work better for PS4 online fighting games that uses Peer to Peer? as opposed to Blink?

Reason i am asking is because FLOW is connected to ARCOS ring which would give god like pings to South and Central America. TSTT has to go North America then come backdown central America I think.

Postby X_Factor » July 23rd, 2015, 12:29 am

new to flow, tryin to dl a movie via utorrent and it just wont download
any reasons?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 2:25 am

^ firewall is up call and tell them disable it.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » July 23rd, 2015, 11:52 am

Guys, I need some IT help, i have had flow internet for years and it has always been very reliable, i have had my Apple extreme router running off their modem with no problems, HOWEVER, last week i decided to give up blink TV and go with flow cable, the technician came, changed my wiring and my modem to a new ARRIS modem/router combo unit that he said i had to take with the new package.

Needless to say my internet connection went from sold to crap, it has been constantly breaking down and to top it off, i cannot get my Apple Extreme router to work with this new modem, so whereas before i had strong signals throughout my 2 story house and in the yard, i am not getting a good signal anymore, its weak or non existent downstairs etc....

The technician is supposed to come tomorrow to sort out why the data keeps dropping, is there anything i can do to disable the wireless feature in the new modem because bottom line, i want to re use my Apple Router which is far superior to the Arris.

What to do?????

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » July 23rd, 2015, 3:59 pm

X_Factor wrote:new to flow, tryin to dl a movie via utorrent and it just wont download
any reasons?

Did you try changing protocol encryption to enable or forced in preferences?

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ firewall is up call and tell them disable it.

Don't think flow has a firewall.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 8:29 pm

Nick can you please do a speedtest to garden city NY and one to New York City?

and a final speed test to somewhere in Canada? the 2 major places you suspect most gamers would be from.

Somehow on TSTT I can get 81ms ping to Chicago but 127 ms to Miami FL.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 8:58 pm

wow thanks dude. Holy crap that is really good!

But not sure how Digicel gets 72ms to garden city. hmmm

Maybe cause people using your net and you did it on WIFI aswell who knows. But I do wonder how much better Digicel pings are to flow.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » July 24th, 2015, 1:11 pm

X_Factor wrote:new to flow, tryin to dl a movie via utorrent and it just wont download
any reasons?

make sure torrent has enough seeds and not an excessive number of peers. give it time to pickup, also try putting multiple torrents to download. and don't sit waiting for it to pickup speed.
or.... download from a private tracker

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 4:19 pm

So I gave my brother the $250 to go sign up for flow, now he telling me how they want something like $450 or some sheit like that. And he didn't know what to do so he just give them the money and leave.

So guys do I get the modem free? the wired one?

I am assuming they told him $400 which would account for $150 for a WIFI modem?

BEcause the person said $400 you have to pay if you want a modem but that makes no sense cause I know the "WIFI modem" is $150 extra to the $250 which brings it up to $400.

Why the hell don't these people specify exactly what they mean? I did call a month ago and the woman said you get a free wired modem but you know these places you can call 10 times and get 10 different answers.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 4:24 pm

Furthermore the stupid woman said you have to pay $200 upfront for the first month bill then when he went they said no you eh have to pay no $200 upfront.

Steups

brickman

Postby brickman » July 24th, 2015, 4:33 pm

Stay away from their WiFi modems,buy your own.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 24th, 2015, 5:08 pm

Flow down in aranguez area for about two hours now. Anything official?

Postby K74T » July 24th, 2015, 5:18 pm

It's down in Barataria as well since earlier today.

Postby X_Factor » July 24th, 2015, 5:22 pm

yeah, thanx fellas its working now
getting around 600k dl speed

Postby X_Factor » July 24th, 2015, 5:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So I gave my brother the $250 to go sign up for flow, now he telling me how they want something like $450 or some sheit like that. And he didn't know what to do so he just give them the money and leave.

So guys do I get the modem free? the wired one?

I am assuming they told him $400 which would account for $150 for a WIFI modem?

BEcause the person said $400 you have to pay if you want a modem but that makes no sense cause I know the "WIFI modem" is $150 extra to the $250 which brings it up to $400.

Why the hell don't these people specify exactly what they mean? I did call a month ago and the woman said you get a free wired modem but you know these places you can call 10 times and get 10 different answers.

well i know the install fee is 150.00 if you have existing cable tv
and if you wanted their modem it was also 150.00
I told them i did not but when the tech guy came he said that he only had wifi modems so i said ok...suppose to call them today/tmr to make sure i am not charged or come back for their wifi modem

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 5:58 pm

I have never had flow before. So I am a first time customer, they say Tuesday the technician will be here.

I once called and the woman who was in charge of answering my question said she "I want to believe you get a free wired modem when you pay the $250 fee to connect."

I already have my personal WIFI router with DDWRT firmware. So I just need their wired modem is all. Can anyone here confirm when you pay $250 you get a free modem?

Postby maj. tom » July 24th, 2015, 6:05 pm

Apparently they don't rent it to you. I asked. They also don't take it back when you disconnect voluntarily. In case you want to reconnect.

So yeah it's free. Quite a deal considering the sheit ISPs in Canada and USA do by tacking on a set of extra fees for nothing.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 6:35 pm

Thanks Maj. tom well I am pretty excited to get this flow

currently paying over $170 for 1MB from Blink so $200 for 15MB is such a better deal. I can tell TSTT to piss off now.

Even if TSTT was to offer me 10mb for $200 I would not take them because I really want those godly pings allyuh getting. Need it for online gaming especially games like mortal kombat x where you have to have really good latency. Cause of how much sheit the netcode is and all

The thing is sometimes on certain servers like the one in Canada I get same 160ms ping like flow uses yet on Miami server I get 130ms ping while allyuh getting 60.

I mean like seriously? some sort of shitty routing with TSTT? I eh know.

Postby mero » July 24th, 2015, 6:46 pm

Using FLOW's wifi built in modem is Tata or using it for the purpose of wifi is tata? Can a just buy a third party wifi router and plug into Ethernet or ditch the entire thing and request a non wifi flow modem?