*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby SR » June 25th, 2015, 9:49 am

Lol meh pocket still bunnin planning to build a pair of line arrays with dls speakers or maybe some simple towers. Hada custom build passive xovers and looking around for a decent preamp. Doubt i could finance another mcintosh piece in a hurry

Postby SR » June 25th, 2015, 9:50 am

Oh and that amp weighs approx 139lbs

Anton

Postby Anton » June 25th, 2015, 11:04 am

For guys looking at DSP checkout this unit

http://www.minidsp.com/products/minidsp ... inidsp-2x4

http://www.minidsp.com/products/plugins/2x4-plug-ins

Very versatile with modules that would fit a variety of applications. Purchased one recently to use in my backyard porch setup but may use it for subwoofer equalization in my HT eventually.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 26th, 2015, 12:57 am

SR wrote:Oh and that amp weighs approx 139lbs

son of a .... :shock:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 29th, 2015, 3:51 pm

Simple enclosure but very effective. Decided on this ply because it is veryyyyyyyyyyyyy strong...little to no flex for a 12" at this 2.17cuft size. But I will still brace it.. Now I just have to finalize on a sub...

Last edited by Chiney on June 29th, 2015, 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2015, 4:30 pm

^ nice!!! post up the progress!

Humes

Postby Humes » June 30th, 2015, 2:53 pm

Any recommendations for a good (preferably locally available) soundbar?

I'm setting up a TV in the living room for the wife/child and visitors. Something for them to watch some Netflix, for the most part. Don't want to drop money on a receiver for it, so I'm looking for some decent, simple audio to hook up to it.

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2015, 3:05 pm

Pricesmart had a decent JBL last time I was there.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 30th, 2015, 7:14 pm

Gotta love parts express!!! (Not the mdf though lol)
The large port u see there is for the sub...it's huge but I'm using a fair length to tune the cabinet to 26hz.

I'm contemplating doing a down firing sub and letting the port vent to the front.

Similar to this:

However. I was also considering doing the typical sub in front and port firing out to the back..

My other option is also 2 10" subs (more cone area) that can handle low frequency with good efficiency ( gotta be the right sensitivity)

With 2 10" subs my new port frequency will be 27hz which is OK for what I want to do.

The power for the sub will be a BASH Class D 325rms @4ohms.

Very nice amp.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2015, 7:50 pm

that JL audio double sub is quite a looker!

Postby X_Factor » June 30th, 2015, 7:51 pm

nice
u gonna build towers or LCR's MTM??
u ordered the xo parts i hope

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 30th, 2015, 7:53 pm

Yeah Duane it is.

Lcr..mtm??

Towers yeah. And well the passives are coming in weekend.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 30th, 2015, 8:04 pm

Nice stuff man !!!
Would love to hear the HiVi mid woofers in person as am gonna be using them in my build soon.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 30th, 2015, 8:21 pm

I will try my best and record the sq with my friend's high end camera. One thing to remember is follow speakers specs to design your cabinets as well as solid.....very solid cabinet walls are important as well. Resonance is NOT your friend.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 30th, 2015, 9:26 pm

What size HiVi speakers are you using there??

Also whose design are you using (cabinet and crossover design)??

Postby X_Factor » June 30th, 2015, 9:27 pm

what sub u have in mind?
get something with a low fs and plenty of xmax

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 30th, 2015, 9:38 pm

4" b4n. Also I'm going with my own design. I'm still looking for a sub

Postby X_Factor » June 30th, 2015, 11:32 pm

based on the power you have, maybe an ID 12v3, idq, jl w3 which is available locally
if u wanna try a dayton hf that should be nice as well but those are around 600wrms

Postby SR » July 1st, 2015, 5:40 am

You can also look at the dls magnesium cone subs as well

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 1st, 2015, 7:37 am

Actually I was. Price on 2 10s and single 12?
They need to be either dual 4(10s) or dual 2/single 4(12)

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » July 1st, 2015, 7:41 am

Hey SR check your pm.

Postby X_Factor » July 1st, 2015, 7:43 am

if ur going with two subs, most ppl build two seperate boxes and put them on the sides of the towers rather than one enclosure for both which may pull the soundstage to one side

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 1st, 2015, 8:04 am

Nope. Subs are supposed to be tuned transparent. Subs aren't supposed to "have a location" also., staging in HT is done with because of the rears and rear surrounds. What is considered is imaging. Because you are supposed to hear someone sneaking up behind you and make u look back lol.. I don't agree with your statement sorry.

Postby Gladiator » July 1st, 2015, 11:22 am

Chiney wrote:Nope. Subs are supposed to be tuned transparent. Subs aren't supposed to "have a location" also., staging in HT is done with because of the rears and rear surrounds. What is considered is imaging. Because you are supposed to hear someone sneaking up behind you and make u look back lol.. I don't agree with your statement sorry.

That's right for most applications... you also have multiple sub applications with rear subs as well front. the level of processing would determine the localization of the LFE information i guess.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 1st, 2015, 11:35 am

Gladiator wrote:
Chiney wrote:Nope. Subs are supposed to be tuned transparent. Subs aren't supposed to "have a location" also., staging in HT is done with because of the rears and rear surrounds. What is considered is imaging. Because you are supposed to hear someone sneaking up behind you and make u look back lol.. I don't agree with your statement sorry.

That's right for most applications... you also have multiple sub applications with rear subs as well front. the level of processing would determine the localization of the LFE information i guess.

yep!

after a good conversation with SR this morning, he also brought to my attention the huge difference between movie audio and music audio. Its either music built/tuned or movie built/tuned.

with that, im all about the movies, but i love music as well, good clean music too, as i have always built my vehicles with stealth and SQ in mind.

its a joggle... but i will lean to the movie tuning.

Postby Gladiator » July 1st, 2015, 11:43 am

Chiney wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

yep!

after a good conversation with SR this morning, he also brought to my attention the huge difference between movie audio and music audio. Its either music built/tuned or movie built/tuned.

with that, im all about the movies, but i love music as well, good clean music too, as i have always built my vehicles with stealth and SQ in mind.

its a joggle... but i will lean to the movie tuning.

Cool man... good to see that enthusiast like you always learning and keeping up with the information. You should listen to some 5.1 recorded music tracks when you complete your HT. After listening to true Dolby 5.1 music I am afraid I just cannot go back to stereo. Media is limited and you get plenty up-sampled crap if you download, but the few tracks that I have puts a whole new dimension into music.

Keep us updated with your build....

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 1st, 2015, 11:58 am

yeah i will, i have what i would say is good experience with high end and low end HT equipment.

my last setup for my bro in law used all of Klipsch Reference line, including a RSW-15 sub with a passive radiator to. ( teeth rattling )

after listening to a movie with "Master DTS" or "True HD" i was like wow, im done with downloading compressed Blu rays to watch. lol.. I am also going to use a PC on this setup with HDMI out and into the Receiver ( Yamaha Aventage RX A3000) and then to the TV, the PC will have HDMI out for the video and an optical out from an Asus soundcard to the rx.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 1st, 2015, 1:15 pm

thats a reallly good receiver you have there

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 1st, 2015, 2:06 pm

Thanks. Its heavy too with plenty power.

Postby X_Factor » July 1st, 2015, 4:07 pm

most of my research back then led me to believe that...
see here
mind you there are different position options as well
but i guessed it would have been for both and not purely ht in mind
http://www.axiomaudio.com/tips_two_subwoofers

https://www.aperionaudio.com/blog/dual- ... me-theater

and most other diy ht builds