*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Sanctifier

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Sanctifier » June 11th, 2015, 7:36 am

A little 'Off Topic'---> COMPUTER Audio...
Sanctifier wrote:Since we all have & use computers, maybe even more than our Home Theatre systems...
What specs do most of you guys use now for COMPUTER Audio?
These are 2 x "budget" speaker systems being tested in 2 x (DIY upgraded) desktops that I can recommend... and at eBay prices you can't beat!... The 1st Test PC is a real "bare-bones" system:
Sanctifier wrote: SYSTEM 1: HP a610y - 2.6 GHz Pentium 4 + 2GB Ram (32-bit, Win 7 Ultimate O/S)
........................... + 7,200 rpm IDE Hard drive + 2 x IDE DVD & CD Players + "On-board" audio + "On-board" video .
........................... It's hard to get much more 'basic' than this these days... at least not this side of a "386" :lol:

SYSTEM 1:... 'Blue Tooth?'... Nope!... No 'teeth'... Just clean sound for a PC... VERY clean sound!
...................................... Creative GigaWorks T40 Series I
Sanctifier wrote:REVIEW: Yup, BIG Mamas... Dimensions: 88.0 x 143.0 x 313.0 mm (3.46 x 5.63 x 12.32")
At volumes over 70%, the lack of a dedicated sound card becomes noticeable as the mid-range starts to become slightly "tinny" and the bass starts to "rumble" a bit... but at that level you ears start to hurt anyway. :twisted:
At "normal" listening levels, despite 'basic' hardware, mid-range and the bass tones in particular are VERY impressive, especially for a '2.0' system. Using them with "on-board" audio is unfair; they need a good sound card to really perform.

The newer T40 Series II's have even better low end (bass & mid-range) response... Going there soon! :wink:
. . . . . . . . Power: 32 watts RMS / Frequency Response: 50 Hz - 20 kHz / Sensitivity: 80 dB
Got deep pockets?... then the "Creative T50 Wireless" is available too @ US $199. 8-)

SYSTEM 2: The 2nd Test PC has slightly better 'specs' when compared to newer systems:...
Sanctifier wrote: Dell Dimension 4700: - 3.8 GHz Pentium 4 (hyperthreading) + 4GB Ram (64-bit, Win 7 Ultimate O/S.)
.......................... + 10,000 rpm SATA Hard drive + SATA DVD-R Recorder.
.......................... + Creative SoundBlaster Audigy SE sound card (24-bit / 96 kHz & 7.1 support.)
.......................... + AMD 'XFX' PCIe video card with 1GB DDR3 (faster than previous 1GB NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500.)
Yup, ol' school system too but 'quick' nevertheless. IMHO pretty good all round performance for the old 'spec'.
Power: 100 watts... Frequency Response: 40 - 20,000 Hz :!:
Sanctifier wrote:REVIEW: KickAzz audio! Real KICKAZZ audio! Creative T40's ARE great but here's the Image... at "peanuts" prices. 8-)
Ol' School... REAL Ol' School... usually available 'used' (occasionally 'New') but DAMN!... worth it either way IMHO!
Yup---> 'Wired'... Yup the 'rear' satellite speakers can be a pain to 'hide' the wires...
but JEEZ!... the SOUND :!:... at a really "WTF" eBay price too :!:
Mid-range and bass response are REALLY good! Image It easily stands comparison with 'average' Home Theatre systems.
VERY CLEAN sound! There's no trace of midrange 'flutter' or subwoofer 'rumble' at similar T40 volumes... PERIOD!
I haven't pushed it to 'MAX' volume... yet. Waiting for a weekday when everyone is at work. :twisted:
Hands down, @ US $37.00-to-$100.00 on eBay, to paraphrase an 'oldie'... "Can't touch 'dis!"
My Image
Last edited by Sanctifier on June 19th, 2015, 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 14th, 2015, 5:57 pm

Hey guys yesterday I realized my center channel on my Denon E400 receiver stopped playing (well extremely quiet) I tried doing over the Audyssey calibration and even the test tone is very faint to the point where the reviver isn't recognizing a center speaker.
Did a factory reset and even swapped the speaker to make sure it's not that so am almost sure its the center channel amplifier, can anyone suggest someone locally who is competent enough to do check out this problem ?

carluva

Postby carluva » June 14th, 2015, 11:16 pm

http://usa.denon.com/us/wheretobuy/authorizeddealers

Look for Caribbean entertainment technologies on link above. They are the authorised denon dealer in trinidad. I'm sure they'll repair for you.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 15th, 2015, 11:36 am

^^ I just called them but they don't do repairs, any other suggestions anyone ??

Postby Redman » June 15th, 2015, 2:10 pm

try Whiby in Sando-not sure of the spelling..and I dont have a number

He is opposite San Fernando Govt Primary School-which is on Rushworth Street.
Either Gooding or Henry St. Between Rushworth and Leotaud St....dont worry its a short block

If you coming down from Cipero ST...look for a Left turn at the top of the hill opp the school

Once you turn onto either Gooding/Henry Whiby is on the left.
Look for the sign.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 21st, 2015, 10:48 pm

As you guys know I travel often . The most boring part is waiting at the airport and the airplane ride.

Just recently I picked up the Bowers and Wilkins P7 headphone to keep me from not getting board out of my mind.

The sound quality on this headphones is totally amazing with rich bass smooth highs and realistic reproduction of both male and female voices. I've owned lots of high end head phones but in my opinion P7's blows the competition away .

The build quality is also amazing . Just one look at it and you know this is a quality item. Rich leather and brushed aluminum gives you that elegant look that stands out from the crowed at any airport or even on the airplane.

Paired with a headphone stand , this also makes a nice center piece in your library or music room . I hired a high end wood worker to make a custom stand as seen bellow ;

When traveling I use the premium leather case that fits nicely in my carry on and does not take up to much space. The over ear headphones keeps out the noise. On my recent flight to Fort Lauderdale I got a seat next to a mom and toddler and well I don't have to say the rest . I just popped on my P7 and played my favorite tunes and I did not even hear the crying baby next to me.

To this end , if your an audiophile or just looking for a nice pair of headphones I will recommend you give the Bowers and Wilkens P7 a try.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1434941293.425864.jpg

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 24th, 2015, 10:03 am

who else in here builds their own towers, centers and rears?

even the sub...

im currently working on a project:

HiVi B4N 4" Aluminum Midbass
https://www.parts-express.com/hivi-b4n- ... e--297-429

Dayton Audio DC25T-8 1"
https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-au ... r--275-045

Sub:

Dayton Audio UM12-22 12" Ultimax
https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-au ... l--295-512

Dayton Audio SPA250 250 Watt Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-au ... r--300-803

Sub will be tuned to 27hz in a ported 2.17cuft enclosure with this port:

Precision Port 3" Flared
https://www.parts-express.com/precision ... t--268-350

what you guys think?

The rx is a Yamaha Aventage A3000

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 24th, 2015, 11:00 am

Nice to see someone else is building speakers, I have not started but going to use one of Paul Carmody designs for center and mains probably the overnight sensations MMTMM (very good reviews) and doing the 12" ultimax sub but on a Bringer rack amp (check it out, its a few dollars more than that plate amp but much more power).

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 24th, 2015, 11:04 am

im definitely open to ideas, because the speakers i choose for the mids and highs are very very good..with the right enclosures and proper tuning..based on AVS reviews, they can fill a large HT room... the design externally is basic, the internals will be based on Klipsch Reference line. ie-Klipsch RF-82II

those are ordered already, but the sub, the enclosure piece lay in my van as well speak, just to assemble.. link me that amp as i was really hoping to have a bit more power for the price..

but, one thing i know, based on tuning range, i believe the plate amp will have a bit more control of the sound freq range that i am looking for without having to divert from the use of that amazing Yamaha A3000 receiver!

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 24th, 2015, 12:30 pm

Built a HT sub for my cousin. I used an Orion cobalt 10 in 2 cuft tuned to 25 hz. I sold him my BASH 300 to power it with. This sub is actually pretty impressive as it digs pretty deep. This config was chosen due to budget and space constraints. I also wrapped the box in vinyl which requires a good amount of prep but well worth it aesthetically.

I replaced the BASH with this CROWN XLS 1000 to power my sub now. :D

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 24th, 2015, 2:19 pm

now we talking!!!!

i was never in feavor of buying what i can do myself, and it is NOT rocket science to get it sounding REALLY impressive.

any more info on that amp and model/rpice/website?

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 24th, 2015, 2:40 pm

yass diy ftw !!!

https://www.parts-express.com/crown-xls ... s--245-500

The Crown is Class D, weighs around ten pounds and puts out 1100 rms at 4 ohm bridged. it also has clip and signal level indicators and selectable crossover frequencies between 50hz and 3khz either low pass of high pass or one type per channel etc.

The Behringer iNuke has a better dsp but the iNuke 1000 DSP is 750 rms at 4 ohm bridged but I dont much trust Behringers power rating. Then again its for sub duty, a low pass filter is sufficient. I didnt need any bass boost, as I run ported. sealed subs may need boost in the lowest octaves.

This Crown xls 1000 and Behringer inuke1000dsp both go for $230US

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 24th, 2015, 3:04 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:yass diy ftw !!!

https://www.parts-express.com/crown-xls ... s--245-500

The Crown is Class D, weighs around ten pounds and puts out 1100 rms at 4 ohm bridged. it also has clip and signal level indicators and selectable crossover frequencies between 50hz and 3khz either low pass of high pass or one type per channel etc.

The Behringer iNuke has a better dsp but the iNuke 1000 DSP is 750 rms at 4 ohm bridged but I dont much trust Behringers power rating. Then again its for sub duty, a low pass filter is sufficient. I didnt need any bass boost, as I run ported. sealed subs may need boost in the lowest octaves.

This Crown xls 1000 and Behringer inuke1000dsp both go for $230US

YES!

Low pass is very important, another thing about movies ppl tend to forget. movies have way more LER ( low end repoduction ) than music. it is very important to have the right sub and enclosure combo!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2015, 7:01 pm

Chiney wrote:Low pass is very important, another thing about movies ppl tend to forget. movies have way more LER ( low end repoduction ) than music. it is very important to have the right sub and enclosure combo!
Also LFE

The low-frequency effects (LFE) channel in 2.1, 5.1, 7.1 etc is the name of an audio track specifically intended for deep, low-pitched sounds ranging from 3-120 Hz.

Postby SR » June 24th, 2015, 7:27 pm

Not home theatre but audiophile
1435188793238.jpg
1435188779967.jpg
1435188763540.jpg

Postby SR » June 24th, 2015, 7:30 pm

2 channel backporch system self powered gemini 8" boxes with an 18" self powered sub using a dual 30 band eq and a sherwood integrated amp
1435188945813.jpg

Postby Gladiator » June 24th, 2015, 7:38 pm

Guys... I am looking for some home theatre furniture. Single or double seats, theatre style recliners. Point me in the right direction

Thanks

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 24th, 2015, 8:11 pm

cheeesus christ SR , where did you get that amp?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2015, 9:06 pm

SR wrote:2 channel backporch system self powered gemini 8" boxes with an 18" self powered sub using a dual 30 band eq and a sherwood integrated amp

priorities! is that a 24" TV?

Postby SR » June 24th, 2015, 9:53 pm

39" viore

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 24th, 2015, 9:58 pm

The inuke1000 is $150 shipped from parts express

https://www.parts-express.com/behringer ... --248-6700

and for $50 more you can get the inuke1000dsp version so can have an integrated sub sonic filter to prevent your ported sub from bottoming out on the really low frequency movie effects.

you also can do a passive high pass filter on the signal to the amp to prevent this.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 24th, 2015, 10:04 pm

Check out Paul Carmody's designs, really good reviews from audiophiles around the world.

https://sites.google.com/site/undefinition/diy

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 24th, 2015, 10:56 pm

Seeing as i havent ordered the sub as yet, my mind keeps leaning towards getting an IDMAX 12 locally..

but i am being patient and taking it in stages.... house>speakers

currently working on the wood working part of it.

because of the rx ( that badboy is $1500USD) i do not want to build any stupidness because it will make the rx useless with respect to its capabilities of producing really clean reproduction.

also, the Behringer NU1000 iNUKE does not have the features i would want for a sub amp.

Postby nervewrecker » June 24th, 2015, 11:03 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Anyone having any problems with their TV?

I noticed recently that my TV developed a sort of boop boop boop when my cable box is off. My TV volume is pretty high tho. Maybe in the 70 range.

When I drop the volume on the TV the noise drops. So it's picking up static. Noting wrong with any other aspects of it. It's not happening with USB connection ect.

I noticing this sound more than a year now. Thought nobody else hears it.

Did an RTA and picked up a near infrasonic hum. Not TV related but its there, maybe something I've grown accustomed to around here.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 25th, 2015, 4:46 am

That drives me insane.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 25th, 2015, 7:05 am

Chiney wrote:also, the Behringer NU1000 iNUKE does not have the features i would want for a sub amp.

What feature exactly are you are you looking for that the inuke DSP doesn't have ?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 25th, 2015, 7:25 am

I want an active lpf

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » June 25th, 2015, 7:27 am

Check out the dsp features, its all adjusted via your pc and uploaded to the amp.
has lpf and lots more.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 25th, 2015, 7:47 am

I did.. But, don't hate me for this. But I prefer the simplicity of the one soundstream626 posted. If you are familiar with his posts and know him, ud understand how of a respected audiophile/technical person he is..after checking it out I realized why he choose it. I to like what I see there.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 25th, 2015, 9:35 am

I made my choice based on the components I have. Even though the dsp on the iNuke is more flexible, in my application I dont need it. My subwoofer has 54mm one way excusrion. In this box and this power level, it won`t bottom out and I dont require boost in the lower octaves.

Conversely, that orion sub needs that kinda protection which the BASH has built in. A steep subsonic at 18hz. Both the Crown and Behringer are great but I didnt need to spend extra for features I dont need.

...and SR boy yuh bunin meye eye with that McIntosh