The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby pete » June 24th, 2015, 8:34 am

Soo.. my G2 since the start of this month hasn't been getting 3g/4g speeds on digicel, it says 4g and when service isn't good goes back to E but on 4G it maxes out at 16kB/sec. Think it's a Digicel thing?

Since Lollipop upgrade it seems the setting to switch to just 2g or 2g/3g has disappeared. I'm not 100% sure if it stopped working when I upgraded or if it was just from the start of this month.

Postby stev » June 24th, 2015, 10:23 am

pete wrote:Soo.. my G2 since the start of this month hasn't been getting 3g/4g speeds on digicel, it says 4g and when service isn't good goes back to E but on 4G it maxes out at 16kB/sec. Think it's a Digicel thing?

Since Lollipop upgrade it seems the setting to switch to just 2g or 2g/3g has disappeared. I'm not 100% sure if it stopped working when I upgraded or if it was just from the start of this month.

Digicel? happens to me when I forget to pay my bill......just call technical support and ask them to refresh your account....restart phone.

Postby pete » June 24th, 2015, 11:48 am

Corporate phone.

Definitely is on their side though. Put the sim in the LG 4xHD and same speeds. Will call them now.

As a result I've only used 400Mb/3Gb of data this month. Hope it rolls over like they claim it will :|

AdmissionBAned

Postby AdmissionBAned » June 24th, 2015, 12:41 pm

ZenFone 2 working like a dream

Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using Tapatalk

Postby S_2NR » June 24th, 2015, 1:38 pm

@pete cloudy lollipop with g4 ui.
its fairly stable. if you wanna flash it i can show you how i did it.
back on kitkat cloudy though, better battery.

Postby Chimera » June 24th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Pete are your apn settings set correctly?

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » June 24th, 2015, 2:29 pm

Anyone have any info about android wear smart watches and what u guys recommend?

Postby Spitfir3 » June 24th, 2015, 3:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:@pete cloudy lollipop with g4 ui.

how does it compare to stock lollipop? thinking about giving it a try im not to concerned about battery life

Postby dougla_boy » June 24th, 2015, 3:23 pm

so question..where allyuh does order S4 screen digitizer complete from? i want one and like asap to order online.....places down here charging 1300 to change that....i paying around 500 for it online....100 to change and prbaly 100 to clear....forking wicked people yes

Postby pete » June 24th, 2015, 3:34 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Pete are your apn settings set correctly?

Isn't it just web.digiceltt.com?

Postby pete » June 24th, 2015, 3:40 pm

Where changes the screen for 100?

Brought in the LCD and frame for my G2 and don't really want to do it myself.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 24th, 2015, 4:33 pm

Lollipop 5.0.1 officially out for trinidad.

Postby maj. tom » June 24th, 2015, 5:07 pm

2015 Asus Zenfone 2 for $249+tax CAD at Newegg.ca
Specs look pretty good for such a cheap phone. Comes with Lolipop and a ton of bloatware but folks at XDA already unlocked the bootloader.

Will post when it arrives via Purolator.

Postby pete » June 24th, 2015, 5:34 pm

16gb is 200 on Amazon. Is that the 64gb?

Postby S_2NR » June 24th, 2015, 6:27 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:@pete cloudy lollipop with g4 ui.

how does it compare to stock lollipop? thinking about giving it a try im not to concerned about battery life

It is based on stock lollipop so shouldn't have a difference. Most likely would be better than stock because it's debloated. Never tried stock lollipop so can't know for sure.

Postby pete » June 24th, 2015, 6:50 pm

So they reset the account, worked well for a while now it's back to edge speed although it says 4g.

Postby S_2NR » June 24th, 2015, 6:54 pm

Maybe you are in a bad coverage area?

Postby pete » June 24th, 2015, 7:25 pm

That's what I had been thinking all month. I think it would just stay on edge rather than display 4g and the fact it sticks at 18kB/sec it is operating like I went over my data for the month but I still have 2.56gb remaining.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 24th, 2015, 8:22 pm

Digicel sent me a message a while ago.
10$ a mb. That's data without a plan.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 25th, 2015, 12:17 pm

Friend of mine went into rom flashing overdrive last night & ended up leaving his sim in his s4 during a flash.Now its saying imei null & not getting a signal from any sim.Any help from the crew here would be appreciated.

Postby stev » June 25th, 2015, 12:34 pm

brickman wrote:Friend of mine went into rom flashing overdrive last night & ended up leaving his sim in his s4 during a flash.Now its saying imei null & not getting a signal from any sim.Any help from the crew here would be appreciated.

flash baseband or try this:

http://www.technobezz.com/restore-galax ... n-network/

i dont think it's as a result of leaving the sim in the phone...i always leave my sim in the phone when flashing.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 25th, 2015, 2:26 pm

Flashed the baseband & now that works but now have the "not registered to the network" digicel problem.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 25th, 2015, 3:40 pm

sounds like he flashed the wrong modem

try looking for the stock modem and flash that see if it fixes the problem

brickman

Postby brickman » June 25th, 2015, 5:22 pm

Decided to update it with the trinidad lollipop version & that fixed the problem,thank for the help guys.

Postby M_2NR » June 25th, 2015, 8:11 pm

Just swapped an HTC One X+ battery into my HOX (increased capacity) sadly this one was really old also... It's charging now from 0% so I'll see if I get any gains

Postby pete » June 25th, 2015, 8:26 pm

G2 screen replaced. Got a couple issues that people talked about on Amazon, namely the area for the proximity sensor is tinted too dark and it doesn't work so the screen goes blank in a call. Might have to take it apart and try to remove the tint.

biggz1985

Postby biggz1985 » June 27th, 2015, 10:17 am

Sony Xperia Z3 for Sale [White]...9/10 condition...$2900...3033213

Val

Postby Val » June 27th, 2015, 11:33 am

I have been using the stock 5.1.1 image for a while in the nexus 5 and gotten a lot of intermittent connectivity issues (both data and WiFi). Flashing back to 5.0.1 to attempt to remove this issue.

Also going to try Franco Kernel to improve battery life, although it is pretty good as is.

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2015, 6:52 pm

5.1.1 is better than 5.01 though

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » June 27th, 2015, 7:04 pm

Val wrote:I have been using the stock 5.1.1 image for a while in the nexus 5 and gotten a lot of intermittent connectivity issues (both data and WiFi). Flashing back to 5.0.1 to attempt to remove this issue.

Also going to try Franco Kernel to improve battery life, although it is pretty good as is.

Actually bro, i found that there's an update on the play store for the connectivity issues on 5.1.1, you need to manually click update for it, as it will not auto update.

Don't know why, as it's so necessary you'd think Google would have automatically updated it. Image

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk