Re: best car for 50k??

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 19th, 2015, 4:43 am

can't go wrong with NZE or altis

trdguy69

Postby trdguy69 » June 20th, 2015, 11:09 pm

so after a day of some searching and checking....all altis for 50k gone....most nze prices are 55k and above mainly looking for one in the PC series but endless pressure but not giving inn still on the search...got a mint cube z12 from japan for 52k and tkes 4-6 weeks but i not too sure on that one tho more wanted a toyota but idk if i can get a roro toyota for that price

spirit

Postby spirit » June 20th, 2015, 11:26 pm

Subaru ftw! Symmetrical AWD takes ur family from point A to B safely even in the beach's dead sand...

tdavies

Postby tdavies » June 21st, 2015, 3:26 pm

spirit wrote:Subaru ftw! Symmetrical AWD takes ur family from point A to B safely even in the beach's dead sand...

Never a problem for a B14

spirit

Postby spirit » June 21st, 2015, 3:40 pm

tdavies wrote:
spirit wrote:Subaru ftw! Symmetrical AWD takes ur family from point A to B safely even in the beach's dead sand...

I actually helped push a b14 out of the dead sand it was trapped in tyrico bay Friday while my family and I were safe and unworried about getting home.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » June 21st, 2015, 3:49 pm

spirit wrote:
tdavies wrote:

I actually helped push a b14 out of the dead sand it was trapped in tyrico bay Friday while my family and I were safe and unworried about getting home.

At no time was the B14 trapped,....... you all were!!
It needed a real driver...............dat iz all!!

jagdeo353

Postby jagdeo353 » June 21st, 2015, 3:50 pm

I purchased a BMW last month for approx $50,000. The one issue I have is with parts, does anyone know where sells BMW parts at a reasonable price locally as opposed to the company?

spirit

Postby spirit » June 21st, 2015, 3:50 pm

[FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY][FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY] I'm guessing so we're the b11 and y12 wingroad

tdavies

Postby tdavies » June 21st, 2015, 3:51 pm

Also B14 is the gaza land rover so what you speaking of is blasphemy.........i hope you aware of the consequences!!

spirit

Postby spirit » June 21st, 2015, 3:54 pm

Ok ok buy the beeeefordeen lol

jagdeo353

Postby jagdeo353 » June 21st, 2015, 3:55 pm

My mechanic advised me to put in a Nissan Engine in my BMW, would like to get advice from your experts on this website on if this would be a good idea. Parts for an original BMW engine is quite expensive, but I always owned a BMW in Canada and preferred to buy one locally when I came back as I also got a good deal from a family member.

Advent

Postby Advent » June 21st, 2015, 4:12 pm

Sr20 in d bmw

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

jagdeo353

Postby jagdeo353 » June 21st, 2015, 4:17 pm

Advent wrote:Sr20 in d bmw

Thank you. I will take your advice, it is indeed a good Engine from what I know. I cannot warrant the cost to maintain a BMW Engine but I do love the leather interior and suspension. So I will put in the SR20

Advent

Postby Advent » June 21st, 2015, 4:37 pm

Well you can drive d BMW engine till it fails and is to expensive yo repair then go sr

jagdeo353

Postby jagdeo353 » June 21st, 2015, 4:59 pm

Advent wrote:Well you can drive d BMW engine till it fails and is to expensive yo repair then go sr

This sounds like a more economically viable plan. As of now it works fine since the last job I did on it which was replacing a water pump. I will use it for now until it gives out, should give me a lot of mileage until then.

Postby j.o.e » June 21st, 2015, 5:47 pm

Sounds like u can't really afford a BMW... stop fooling yourself and just get a B14.... no shame in that.

jagdeo353

Postby jagdeo353 » June 21st, 2015, 6:01 pm

j.o.e wrote:Sounds like u can't really afford a BMW... stop fooling yourself and just get a B14.... no shame in that.

It was a bit unexpected upon my return to Trinidad. It was very much affordable for me in Canada.
In Trinidad, not so much.

As for a suggestion to getting a Nissan Sunny, I very much like the suspension and genuine leather interior of the BMW. I will hold onto it until something catastrophic happens before I make my decision as whether to sell it or simply replace the Engine.

Postby RBphoto » June 22nd, 2015, 9:57 am

You realize if you replace the engine you will lose most if not all of the safety feature of the BMW right?

Postby tr1ad » June 22nd, 2015, 10:15 am

You like BMW but can't afford to maintain.... Stay in your budget and get a corolla or something with a leather interior....
Putting an SR in a BMW not only shows that you just want to roll around in a "nice" badged car, but you are already out of pocket

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 22nd, 2015, 2:31 pm

NZE, cya go wrong with toyota, stay way from altis singapore is trouble

trdguy69

Postby trdguy69 » June 22nd, 2015, 5:42 pm

looking for a nze atm.....hard to find a PC series one in my price range tho....saw one of the local nze with sunroof in pos thursday gone...looked sooo good

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » June 22nd, 2015, 8:04 pm

The NZE, Altis or Impreza are your best bets. I sold my Altis in January for $45k and the only thing wrong with it was that the fronts seat leather was cracked. Engine, suspension, transmission were all in good condition. Whatever you're buying have a mech with a scan tool check it.

trdguy69

Postby trdguy69 » June 22nd, 2015, 9:14 pm

im getting a fielder wagon PCA series fully loaded and non Singapore model has body kits and everything for 50k

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » June 22nd, 2015, 10:31 pm

trdguy69 wrote:im getting a fielder wagon PCA series fully loaded and non Singapore model has body kits and everything for 50k

Great buy. Just do proper checks before

trdguy69

Postby trdguy69 » June 23rd, 2015, 9:32 am

Toyopet wrote:
trdguy69 wrote:im getting a fielder wagon PCA series fully loaded and non Singapore model has body kits and everything for 50k

Great buy. Just do proper checks before

that is what I wna go see about asap

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 23rd, 2015, 9:37 am

jagdeo353 wrote:
Advent wrote:Sr20 in d bmw

Thank you. I will take your advice, it is indeed a good Engine from what I know. I cannot warrant the cost to maintain a BMW Engine but I do love the leather interior and suspension. So I will put in the SR20

so wa d fork you buy it for????

just to say you have a bm??? steupse, allyuh good yes

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » June 23rd, 2015, 2:12 pm

I know someone with a rb25 in their bmw. And another with a diesel td27 or qd32.
Nobody knows unless you pop the hood.

2jz

Advent

Postby Advent » June 23rd, 2015, 2:23 pm

Coppershot wrote:I know someone with a rb25 in their bmw. And another with a diesel td27 or qd32.

2jz

:oops:

trdguy69

Postby trdguy69 » June 23rd, 2015, 8:53 pm

Coppershot wrote:I know someone with a rb25 in their bmw. And another with a diesel td27 or qd32.

2jz

maybe all you need is d correct mechanic and it can be a good conversion like this one.....hands down the best conversion on a bm i have ever seen

Postby X2 » June 24th, 2015, 8:51 pm

I believe the real answer to this question... What's the best car for $50,000 is actually:

You won't find a whole lot of comfy pickups in that price range, so as long as it's a car or crossover you want...Stay within the general Japanese car range of your typical car parts place (Nissan, Toyota, Honda) and in that order... and you will probably never suffer for parts (mechanical). Otherwise just choose a brand you can easily or inexpensively source parts when necessary.
Buy a $40,000 car and throw about $10,000 in maintenance into it.

Changing out fluids, belts, brake parts, hoses and maybe even a shock or two, timing belt/chain, water pump and some seals and you'd be surprised how quickly $10k jumps out your pocket. You will have a fairly reliable whip in your possession for a $50k investment.