Official New Born Baby Thread

air wick

Re: Offical New Born Baby Thread

Postby air wick » June 17th, 2015, 10:07 am

I understand that, but just for info sake, what happens if you have an emergency will the doctor waiver the appointments and fit you in?

Postby tr1ad » June 17th, 2015, 10:21 am

That's why I have more than one, as backup for emergencies.
I can't say for Dr Minocha what he does for emergencies; I tend to have doctors from the same facility.... Where the files are shared

air wick

Postby air wick » June 17th, 2015, 10:28 am

Well Dr. Minocha has a emergency after hour service which i never used. He was primarily for shots / vaccines.
If cases of an emergency or general sickness I carry her to our company doctor or ALH.

Postby mero » June 17th, 2015, 10:57 am

Looking for a new car seat for my 2 1/2 yr old daughter. Any recommendations? And is bringing in one through skybox worth it?

bean_head

Postby bean_head » June 17th, 2015, 12:56 pm

graco nautilus and yes you save a couple hundred if you bring it in yourself... http://www.amazon.com/Graco-Nautilus-Ca ... F5GVNJTHJD

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 17th, 2015, 2:34 pm

mero wrote:Looking for a new car seat for my 2 1/2 yr old daughter. Any recommendations? And is bringing in one through skybox worth it?

Use sea box
Will save about 50% on shipping

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 17th, 2015, 7:13 pm

Congrats tr1ad.

I use Dr Ramsingh at Victoria Nursing home. You can call an ask for her, make an appointment. She is in office Monday Wednesday and Friday. But in call 24/7 for emergencies.
Very good experience so far.
As for shots, I hitting the health center normal for all those stuff. Only reason to go to a pediatrician for me is if baby sick. Regular checkups at health center.

Postby X_Factor » June 17th, 2015, 9:42 pm

our pediatrician told us the only difference between him and the health center for shots is one you pay with money and the other you pay with time

so we decided to try the health center, ours is in macoya and once i go there around 630 and i get a number less than 15....then we go back for 8am and by 930 we are home

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » June 18th, 2015, 7:01 am

My son is going for his second set of shots Today.. St Mary's Clinic FTW..I hope all goes well like the first set and that he doesn't get a fever

Postby mero » June 18th, 2015, 10:56 am

X_Factor wrote:our pediatrician told us the only difference between him and the health center for shots is one you pay with money and the other you pay with time

so we decided to try the health center, ours is in macoya and once i go there around 630 and i get a number less than 15....then we go back for 8am and by 930 we are home

I would do that but time is a no no.. Best thing I took out at work was health plan coverage for a dependant.. We're both covered for a $150 a month

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » June 18th, 2015, 12:33 pm

Guys I'm looking for a stroller and car seat travel system, all I'm seeing here is Stork and Graco. Are there any other good brands locally.
Any advise would be great, thanks.

Postby X_Factor » June 18th, 2015, 1:12 pm

Britax but its a bit costly

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » June 18th, 2015, 1:34 pm

X_Factor Britax available locally? if so can you say where please.

Postby X_Factor » June 18th, 2015, 4:24 pm

^ nopes amazon and seabox for it...i've never seen it selling locally..i shipped mine in

unless ur buying the graco thats sold in pricemart, bringing the britax will be about the same price landed for whats sold in baby stores locally

http://www.amazon.com/Britax-B-Agile-B- ... seat+combo

this set up may cost about 3500 or less landed, since i dont think you pay duties on strollers/car seat

or just order in a decent graco

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » June 18th, 2015, 4:37 pm

Thanks X_Factor, saw the Britax and Baby Trend online but was looking for options locally. Might do just that and bring it in.
Thanks again.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 18th, 2015, 10:27 pm

The graco in pricesmart is not recommended for new born. See my earlier post.

Britax is highly rated; only negative in most reviews is that it is very heavy compared to other seats.

I purchased Chicco bravo
http://m.albeebaby.com/chicco-bravo-tra ... mpire.html
Coupon 15off to get 15% off

Postby supercharged turbo » June 18th, 2015, 11:35 pm

Really great thread.Learned alot so far

H.S.E GuY

Postby H.S.E GuY » June 19th, 2015, 12:10 am

Look at the Safety1st brand, I had looked around and had gotten a stroller / car seat combo first, but my son grew out the car seat by age one and a half. I purchased another Safety1st car seat this one though is recommended for infants up to toddlers and is a forward facing and is able to recline..
To my mind the padding was better than the Graco and had lot's of good reviews, the Britax is excellent but I had not seen available locally.
Personally when I think back I should have bought the second car seat first and a stroller because now we don't have use for the first combo as yet.
Got everything locally at Gopaul Lands Marabella.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » June 19th, 2015, 12:28 am

Thanks francis1979, HSE Guy thanks will check them over the weekend.

Postby X_Factor » June 19th, 2015, 8:05 am

Dont spend much for a newborn car seat because as they said, the child will grow it out in under one year and then you will have to spend more money in buying a bigger one again

Postby tr1ad » June 19th, 2015, 9:15 am

Company provided the graco stroller combo from PriceSmart and that works well with the newborn; also have the recaro/denali combo for the second ride

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » June 24th, 2015, 8:05 am

X_Factor wrote:we may be doing a bit of flying for the july/august period
here to Houston, then to ft lauderdale then back home

those sippy cups should help with the ear pressure once he keeps taking small sips but
i honestly feel gonna walk with children's gravol, tussadyrl or something just incase
those sippy cups with the straw should help with the ear pressure tingy

I'm here in ft. lauderdale. it is really hot outside during the day. i recommend you use sunscreen when outside as the fl sun is blazing. if you have any questions or anything lemme know. hit meh ah pm

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » June 24th, 2015, 8:20 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Heading Miami next few weeks. My brother's wife is due in a few months and I was thinking to bring back a car seat for them as a gift.
Anyone ever bought back one as luggage??
I am concerned with its size basically. Would a new one in box be oversized?

hot as frying oil here in fl. use sunscreen, and you'd prolly want to take it out of the box as some airlines may charge extra for that size box. the car seat's come in really big boxes. also depends if you getting a base or just the car seat

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » June 24th, 2015, 9:08 am

lots of great info here. my 1st one (girl) is going to be 4 on saturday. and my second one is 11 months (boy) he'll be 1 in july. both were breast fed and supplemented with formula. the little one has the two bottom teeth and two top teeth comming in. so eating baby food like a boss but want to eat what we eat. cook food and whatever like he tries to take the spoon outta my hand and all kinda ting.

currently using the tommetippee bottles. they are the best ones so far. for the first one we used the dr browns. but she still had gas.

he has some baby eczema and they told us to just keep the skin moisturized we have been using a mixture of aveeno and aquaphor eczema. but just switched to the Goldbond Eczema way better imo.

also desitin worked great for first child and didnt work so great for second child. left skin a little scaly. so using aquaphor for the butt as well. works great just need to keep using it throught the day.

other than that. just keep yourself encouraged. try to not get to frustrated when the child has all needs taken care of and still crys.

Postby X_Factor » August 5th, 2015, 12:35 am

where sells decent beds for a toddler with guard rails?

Postby janfar » August 5th, 2015, 2:18 am

X_Factor wrote:where sells decent beds for a toddler with guard rails?

I have a pricemart crib at home. Very good. My cousin's daughter stays at my home in the day as well and they brought their pricemart crib as well. Both are very well build IMO.

Yes, i have 2 cribs at home.

Postby Dave » August 5th, 2015, 5:58 am

Furniture plus also had some they may grow into

Postby Habit7 » August 5th, 2015, 10:58 am

I realise that my child is going to grow out of most of her stuff and I need someone to palm them off to...

But I have friends and family with older children trying to palm stuff off on me too.

gundelero

Postby gundelero » August 5th, 2015, 12:48 pm

Gopaul's in marabella has bed with rails. Check and see if the crib can convert to a toddler bed. If so, you would jus have to buy the side panels and a mattress.

gundelero

Postby gundelero » August 5th, 2015, 12:52 pm

Does anyone use the Enfamil stage 3 formula? I have a tin I bought for my baby last month and she decided shes going to stop drinking formula. It's sealed, expiry date is Dec-15. Anyone interested...let me know $95.