Official New Born Baby Thread

Re: Offical New Born Baby Thread

Postby janfar » May 28th, 2015, 8:25 pm

Meh, sex life wasnt affected. Its a personal thing though... some might be scarred for life and others maybe asking for excuse from the delivery room to go jerk one off.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 28th, 2015, 8:33 pm

goalpost wrote:any good paediatricians in the eastern area? heard great things about dr manning alleyne from my wife's ob gyn, but she's quite in the west.

u can try Dr. Thomas at Frontier Kids

http://frontierkidscare.com/contact-us

Postby X_Factor » May 29th, 2015, 12:08 am

bluefete wrote:
khandman wrote:Glad to see this thread. Expecting my first child this week! Have a lot to learn about formula. Any recommendations?

Breast feed, breast feed, breast feed! Water and coconut water.

Formula should only be used as a basic supplement to breast milk. But breast is best!!!

Early solids can be boiled and crushed eddoes with plantain.

while i do fully support breast feeding, its not the be all and end all
what happens after the 4-6mths of breast feeding is equally important
those bottled baby foods are crap and full with sugar and sodium so its really important for parents to prepare their own purees for their child

I must say thanks to our sitter, our son ate everything we made, boiled carrot, banana, broccoli, dasheen, green figs, eddoe, sweet potato, pumpkin, beets, apples....he ate everything we prepared

after 9mths....till now 1yr
every day he has either one whole boiled egg, fish or minced chicken breast all seasoned with a lil black pepper , salt and olive oil together with rice/beans or some ground provision in addition to the wellkids baby vitamins....i try to stay away from the pasta although its the fastest thing to prepare...but he still eats anything though we can see some preferences are creeping in now

soo...my dotish point is even though you give ur child the breast milk, dont dump the junk into them after just because its easier and faster

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » May 29th, 2015, 12:28 pm

How often do you bathe your baby? While in the US we did this every other day as recommend by the pediatrician however in our climate sometimes twice a day.

I know this is heavily debated online , prob due to the climate.

tizik 2nr

Postby tizik 2nr » May 29th, 2015, 3:29 pm

UML wrote:
rane wrote:Hey Guys just taught that this thread will help with information on soon to be or if you already a daddy or mummy.

So what milk agreeing with your newborn kid
Better brands of pampers
Etc.

Breast milk :roll:

you will see the difference in the health and developmentof your child compared to powder babies.

At the doctors office my baby is used as an example to encourage other mothers there. Many mothers always ask her age and say she looks like a bigger child.

this might be the best advice i ever give here!

Definitely this. My daughter has been in the 95th percentile in terms of height ever since her first check-up and at her ideal weight. She is starting preschool in September as is taller, more coordinated and brighter (in my opinion, I might be biased :D ) than a lot of the other kids who were at the interviews, and some of them were a whole year older than her.

She was breast fed for two years and basically weaned herself once she was told that "mommy's boobies are tired" lol

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » May 29th, 2015, 3:47 pm

goalpost wrote:any good paediatricians in the eastern area? heard great things about dr manning alleyne from my wife's ob gyn, but she's quite in the west.
I heard of one located at St Augustine Private Hospital and another located on McDonald street in Curepe...I was told that both are good...sorry I can't remember their names

Postby X_Factor » May 29th, 2015, 3:51 pm

Warris in saph

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 29th, 2015, 10:44 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:
I heard of one located at St Augustine Private Hospital and another located on McDonald street in Curepe...I was told that both are good...sorry I can't remember their names

The one on McDonald street would be Dr. Thomas

Postby UML » May 30th, 2015, 1:36 pm

tizik 2nr wrote:
UML wrote:
rane wrote:Hey Guys just taught that this thread will help with information on soon to be or if you already a daddy or mummy.

So what milk agreeing with your newborn kid
Better brands of pampers
Etc.

Breast milk :roll:

you will see the difference in the health and developmentof your child compared to powder babies.

At the doctors office my baby is used as an example to encourage other mothers there. Many mothers always ask her age and say she looks like a bigger child.

this might be the best advice i ever give here!

Definitely this. My daughter has been in the 95th percentile in terms of height ever since her first check-up and at her ideal weight. She is starting preschool in September as is taller, more coordinated and brighter (in my opinion, I might be biased :D ) than a lot of the other kids who were at the interviews, and some of them were a whole year older than her.

She was breast fed for two years and basically weaned herself once she was told that "mommy's boobies are tired" lol

Great job!!

The evidence speaks for itself.

Will tell the wifey to try the tired excuse :lol::lol::lol:

Postby UML » May 30th, 2015, 1:45 pm

For those who worried that the baby not getting enough breast milk or fussing soon after, breast milk doesn't have "weight" like powder Das why parents quick to go powder cause they say the baby still hungry or doesn't get full. Breast milk like water so u have to do it very often, hence the many reasons NOT TO breast feed, too much work or effort; so much easier to have a powder baby!

Postby UML » May 30th, 2015, 5:53 pm

Folic acid is important before and during pregnancy

bean_head

Postby bean_head » June 1st, 2015, 1:35 pm

you dont need folic acid throughout the pregnancy. you can start taking it when you decide you want to have a baby and for 12 weeks after conception...

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 1st, 2015, 11:02 pm

Heard the same. Folic acid has no effect after 3 months. Not sure how accurate that is

khandman

Postby khandman » June 16th, 2015, 9:14 am

Recommendation on pediatrician in South anyone? Six weeks old now and want to take her for a checkup just to check development. Don't know at what intervals they are supposed to go.

Postby Rainman » June 16th, 2015, 9:20 am

khandman wrote:Recommendation on pediatrician in South anyone? Six weeks old now and want to take her for a checkup just to check development. Don't know at what intervals they are supposed to go.

Dr. Kerryn Brahim southern medical clinic

khandman

Postby khandman » June 16th, 2015, 9:46 am

Any personal experiences with him? Thanks for d reply btw.

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » June 16th, 2015, 11:15 am

khandman wrote:Recommendation on pediatrician in South anyone? Six weeks old now and want to take her for a checkup just to check development. Don't know at what intervals they are supposed to go.

Dr. Parag in gulf view med. Great service and usually available in the afternoon

Postby Rainman » June 16th, 2015, 11:36 am

khandman wrote:Any personal experiences with him? Thanks for d reply btw.

This is my Daughter's pediatrician, a bit on the pricey side but it's not the usual revolving door visit you would get from other doctors. He does a thorough examination, schedules your child's your vaccines, show you your child's progression and developmental milestones, diet plans for your child etc....ask as many questions as possible.

Everyone I've ever recommended him to was extremely satisfied with the quality of the visit.

H.S.E GuY

Postby H.S.E GuY » June 16th, 2015, 12:23 pm

I give my support to Rainman's response with regards to the pediatrician Dr.Brahim - We looked around and spoke to a few other parents before we chose him, he's really thorough with your child's progress. Yes - ask as many questions as you can.

khandman

Postby khandman » June 16th, 2015, 1:47 pm

This is the type of service that i am looking for. As a first time parent, it would be great to have knowledgeable assistance that isn't just about quick turnover and getting upset when u ask questions etc. I am by no means well off but I don't mind sacrificing in other areas to ensure i provide d best for my family. Thanks guys, will schedule a visit this week and update u all after.

Postby Rainman » June 16th, 2015, 1:54 pm

Lol the waitlist for Brahim is 3 months at a minimum pal. But try and see if there is an opening.

khandman

Postby khandman » June 16th, 2015, 2:31 pm

Oh damn. Didn't know that. Will still try and see.

Postby tr1ad » June 16th, 2015, 11:33 pm

Earliest opening for Dr Brahim in October

khandman

Postby khandman » June 17th, 2015, 12:57 am

Is October u say! Will have to get another. Will definitely not be able to wait until October. Hearing good recommendations about dr. Minocha (probably spelt it wrong) from Gulf view medical. Really skeptical about anyone who is associated with Gulf view med though.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 17th, 2015, 2:06 am

9 weeks to go for my 1st! so I doing a little casual reading. Trying to finish up our baby room at the moment. Hoping to bring baby hope to a nice clean environment.. Had to move out a ton of car parts from in the house! Ah yes, the sacrifices.. :lol:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0011E75RK?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=od_aui_detailpages02

I know someone using this and is quite satisfied with it. Bought it for my wife as well. We are currently seeing Dr Reiaz Mohammed at Gulf View Med and he has been really great so far, very helpful and would come highly recommended.

Postby tr1ad » June 17th, 2015, 6:37 am

khandman wrote:Is October u say! Will have to get another. Will definitely not be able to wait until October. Hearing good recommendations about dr. Minocha (probably spelt it wrong) from Gulf view medical. Really skeptical about anyone who is associated with Gulf view med though.

Dr Minocha is a long wait at his office, you'll get a waiting room full of kids and sick ones as well. He is good though.
From my experience.... My daughter came on Friday morning; is that these exception of Dr Brahim is that they just overbook.

Personally I don't want to spend a long time waiting to see a doctor with a room of sick kids in the event that my child isn't sick.

My back up doctor is at southern medical as well... Dr John; she also dealt with us on Friday when the baby came and seems professional enough

Postby X_Factor » June 17th, 2015, 7:02 am

Foood for the day
1434538938173.jpg

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 17th, 2015, 7:41 am

Graco alano travel system which is being sold By popular retailers in Trinidad is not rated for newborns although advertised as such.

Car seat: snug ride classic connect 22

Amazon warning :
* When you use, please make sure button to the bottom.
* Children under the age of 4 months should not be carried in this carrier.
* If your child cannot hold her head up on her own, it is advised you should not use this carrier as it is best for children 4 months to 3 years.
* Babies between 7 lb (3.2 kg) and 12 lb (5.5 kg) must use the FancyLand Carrier, and the baby should only be carried in the front-carry position.
* Babies more than 12 lb (5.5 kg) but younger than 4 months or without strong and consistent head and neck control must continue using the Ergobaby Infant Insert with the carrier.
* Neither the baby carrier nor the Infant Insert should be used for children under 7 lb (3.2 kg).

Additional reviews from parents states that the baby heads falls forward; which can result in blocking of the breathing passage

air wick

Postby air wick » June 17th, 2015, 8:55 am

I use Dr. Minocha, yes the wait is a bit long depending on the time you reach but you are not obligated to wait in the waiting room. I usually go for around opening time 8 - 8:30am put down my daughter's name on the list ask the estimated wait time, leave and come back.
I have been using Dr. Minocha since my daughter was born in 2013 for all her shots etc. and I never had a bad experience.

Postby tr1ad » June 17th, 2015, 9:40 am

Everyone has their own preference .... I for one am not of the name go down on a list style.... You give me a time via appointment and we work with that