Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

kyhamil

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby kyhamil » May 31st, 2015, 12:24 pm

I got some resilient green algae on my glass... I been scrubbing hard and it showing still... wtf is that and how do I get rid of it... chemiclean?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 31st, 2015, 12:54 pm

Chemiclean removes red slime algae (which looks like and has the texture of jam) or cyano. Its not hard. What you can have growing is coralline algae which is actually found in many colors..........purple, reds, pink, green, yellow and whites. The purples and pinks being the most common. Go get a normal hand scraper or get a magflip. Just make sure you buy the right blade for it. There is the one for glass and one for acrylic. It works real good. Take your time and make sure you have the blade flat on the glass cause you can scratch the glass and make it worse. Sometimes the regular glass cleaner doesn't clean off the hard algae like that

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 31st, 2015, 5:04 pm

kyhamil wrote:How do you do the garlic soak?

http://www.amazon.com/Seachem-ASM173-Ga ... rum+garlic

Postby UML » May 31st, 2015, 5:57 pm

Anyone know what is this bright yellowish-green thing?

I have a few growing in my tank.

:?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 31st, 2015, 6:01 pm

need better pics............. size and a description may help.
does it move, is it soft or hard.....................????

Postby UML » May 31st, 2015, 6:49 pm

HondaB20B wrote:need better pics............. size and a description may help.
does it move, is it soft or hard.....................????

Dat pic is with the phone zoom.

Like quarter inch

Looks hard does not move.

Looks like a brain coral with a tube to the top

Here's another zoom pic same poor quality

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 31st, 2015, 7:05 pm

Looks hard? So you never touch it?
Sure is not sponges?

Postby UML » May 31st, 2015, 7:23 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Looks hard? So you never touch it?
Sure is not sponges?

I think I did and it was hard. I don't know. Sponges grow in direct light or underneath rocks?

Will touch it again whenever I working on my tank.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 31st, 2015, 7:39 pm

sponges grow all over. I have sponges growing in caves. they also come in many different colors.
It could even be a sea squirt which comes in all different shapes, colors and sizes. I have a few.
There are many different creatures that could come on live rocks

bir123

Postby bir123 » June 2nd, 2015, 5:33 pm

Need some help.
So i have a 48 by 18 by 18 fresh water aquarium with an aquaclear 120 ,aquaclear 50 ,heater ,1 48 inch double t8 and 1 48 inch single t8 also have a heater controller.

Lookinh to convert this tank to salt water but dont really have much experience in salt so i would like sum assistance.I would like to set up the most basic and least costly system and over a period of time slowly obtain more and more equipment.can you guys tell me what equipment i could reuse from the tank and what equipment i would need to buy.I am eventually aiming for a reef aquarium so would like to start to build the ground work for this .
Thanks in advance also where sud i buy these equipment and please recomend spectific brands of you can.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » June 3rd, 2015, 9:41 am

From what ive learnt here... basics are sand bed min 2inches, 1lbs of live rock per gallon, a filter that tuens over your. Water at least 4 times per hour and an oversized protein skimmer

bir123

Postby bir123 » June 3rd, 2015, 10:03 am

Do you know where i can buy saltwater equipment and fish?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » June 3rd, 2015, 10:14 am

Raj 744-8768 he is in st augustine or the let store in valpark... thats the 2 that I know of... I brought down my equipment through my skybox though

bir123

Postby bir123 » June 3rd, 2015, 10:48 am

Thanks alot thinking about bringing down a protine skimer and the lights but going to check out some prices in tnt first.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » June 3rd, 2015, 12:09 pm

I cant afford nun sold here... teachers salary.... Im not doing reefs so I got a cpl rolls of leds white amd blue and would install it when I get time...

bir123

Postby bir123 » June 3rd, 2015, 1:31 pm

Could i start up a salt water tank with just the filter live rock and sand and then like after about 6 months buy a skimmer .cuz my budget also kind of tight and seeing the prices of the skimmers :shock:

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 1:43 pm

^^ no disrespect but my best advice is to stay away from this hobby if your on a tight budget, everything expensive in saltwater tanks. If your going for fishes only you can do a nice chiclid tank for a fraction of the cost.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 1:46 pm

My tank does have me broke every time I go by Raj.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » June 3rd, 2015, 1:53 pm

Don't skimp on the skimmer... cld get away with cheap lights if your not going with corals...

bir123

Postby bir123 » June 3rd, 2015, 1:55 pm

Lol i have real plenty fresh water tanks and really want to move over to salt .
Orr thing tho do u guys use chillers cuz i called raj to find out some prices and he say ill need a skimmer
Last edited by bir123 on June 3rd, 2015, 2:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bir123

Postby bir123 » June 3rd, 2015, 1:56 pm

Thinking about doing a nano tank instead .

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » June 3rd, 2015, 4:45 pm

dgobo wrote:My tank does have me broke every time I go by Raj.

yuh lie............... :roll: :roll: :roll:

\
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » June 3rd, 2015, 4:47 pm

bir123 wrote:Could i start up a salt water tank with just the filter live rock and sand and then like after about 6 months buy a skimmer .cuz my budget also kind of tight and seeing the prices of the skimmers :shock:

Yes you can!!!!!
Just dont load the system with lots of fish. That puts your bioload high.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 5:01 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

\

^^ im not the man who does be all over the world flying in private jet and thing lol.

bir123

Postby bir123 » June 3rd, 2015, 5:39 pm

Change my mind going small after i hear them prices from raj.
Goinh 18 by 18 by 18
25 lb live rock
2 inch live sand
Aquaclear 50
2 nano wave makers
And possibly a protine skimmer
Looking to start off with 2 clown fish a few imvertibrates
Do u guys think this setup can work and any recomendations on small lights that wud beable to sustain coral that wud work on this small tank .
Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Thank you in advance

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » June 3rd, 2015, 7:18 pm

dgobo wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

\

^^ im not the man who does be all over the world flying in private jet and thing lol.

Nah, they repo the jet last week.
So ah could pump more money into my fishbowl.

I dont have 8 sets of brembos............................. :roll: (crickets)
Last edited by HondaB20B on June 3rd, 2015, 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » June 3rd, 2015, 8:27 pm

^ lmao at that comment

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 8:49 pm

Wheeey man and I did not even get a ride yet.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » June 3rd, 2015, 8:52 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

So ah could pump more money into my fishbowl.

How the room coming along, done yet?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » June 3rd, 2015, 8:54 pm

added something in the post before.............LOL