Re: FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Postby 1UZFE » May 29th, 2015, 7:15 pm

K74T wrote:
bluefete wrote:
eliteauto wrote:^^that article shows a clear bias by the reporter

What do you expect from a British newspaper?

Umm not any British newspaper, Dailymail is usually full of bollocks which no one can take seriously (well besides you :|). It'll be better if you post from something more reputable like BBC.

Daily mail still post abt mermaids...

Postby K74T » May 29th, 2015, 7:26 pm

Bigfoot and the Loch Ness Monster as well. :|

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2015, 7:29 pm

I bet jack dont reveal anything of note

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 29th, 2015, 7:42 pm

D Diesel Report wrote:But wait nah! Ent one of them Warner boys is a big PNM Financier.

Wonder where that come from? Oh oh... :shock:

Is that man blight Jack....he should have known better than to shake his hand.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 29th, 2015, 8:51 pm

Postby bluefete » May 29th, 2015, 9:22 pm

Postby bluefete » May 29th, 2015, 9:28 pm

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 30th, 2015, 7:08 am

Not any of my business!

Postby RASC » May 30th, 2015, 7:57 am

megadoc1 wrote:
pete wrote:RASC yuh still taking bets on Kamla going to parliament today?
RASC could have made real money today

Am I ever wrong?

General_Lee

Postby General_Lee » May 31st, 2015, 10:24 am

Fifa crisis: South Africa 'admits $10m football payout'

31 May 2015

From the section Africa

SA fans at World Cup 2010South Africa was chosen ahead of Morocco to host the 2010 World Cup
South Africa did pay $10m (£6.5m) to a football body led by Jack Warner, a figure at the centre of Fifa corruption allegations, local media say.

Danny Jordaan, head of South Africa's FA, is quoted as confirming that the amount was deducted from a Fifa payment to the country in 2008.

A subsequent letter requested that money to be sent, instead, to the Caribbean Football Union, reports say.

South African officials deny it was a bribe to secure the 2010 World Cup.

But US prosecutors insist South Africa made an illegal payment after the government promised $10m to Mr Warner - then a Fifa vice-president - in exchange for the "Rainbow Nation" becoming the first African country to host the World Cup.

Fifa chose South Africa as host ahead of Morocco.
South African papersThe Fifa crisis dominates Sunday's South African newspapers
Danny Jordaan could not be reached for comment on Sunday, but he is quoted as insisting the money was paid to the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) in 2008 as South Africa's contribution towards their football development fund.

The BBC's Andrew Harding in Johannesburg says unnamed officials have confirmed that the payment was made to support football development among members of the African diaspora - something which does make sense in the political context of the time.

The latest reports come with Fifa - the governing body of world football - in crisis. Senior Fifa officials face a string of bribery charges.

Its head, Sepp Blatter has not been implicated but has faced calls to stand down. He was re-elected as Fifa president on Friday.

In other developments:
◾Two UK banks have launched internal reviews into whether they were used for corrupt payments by Fifa officials, the BBC understands
◾Sepp Blatter's daughter Corrine has told the BBC that "dark forces" are working against her father who is not corrupt and has "earned every penny"
◾English Football Association chairman Greg Dyke has called on the president of Uefa to show strong leadership to unite Europe behind a collective boycott of the 2018 World Cup.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-32952078

Postby K74T » May 31st, 2015, 11:15 am

You could have posted that from your usual account rather than create a new one.

Postby De Dragon » May 31st, 2015, 3:15 pm

Postby bluefete » May 31st, 2015, 5:35 pm

^ That video is not working.

So The Onion website posted a fake article and Jack Warner quoteth it for truth.

That is what you call HUBRIS!!!

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/arrested- ... 00596.html

Postby bluefete » May 31st, 2015, 6:01 pm

England Still Toting!

Fifa corruption cheated England out of World Cup glory
Thanks to US and Swiss investigators, we now seem to know why England's 2018 World Cup bid failed. But will the culprits ever be brought to justice?

9:25PM BST 31 May 2015

Comments61 Comments

Looking back, I can remember clearly when I first had an inkling of the disaster. It was the night before the fatal vote in 2010, and we in the England delegation were summoned to that swanky Zurich hotel where the Fifa hierarchs like to do their deals.

It must have been about 10pm. Somewhere upstairs the Prime Minister was schmoozing a series of mendacious figures from the world of international football. Prince William was on another doomed mission somewhere else. I found myself in a dimly lit bar, drinking beer with Gary Lineker and Fabio Capello, while keeping an eye on the door.

Our instructions were simple. If any Fifa executive walked in, we were to make ourselves as pleasant as we decently could. We were to inveigle ourselves into their society, to tell self-deprecating jokes, to put them at their ease in the approved British manner – in short, to use whatever feeble charms we possessed to persuade them to vote for us.

I managed to join a group from – I think – Latin America. They were full of fun and life. They loved London, they adored England, they recognised our role in the creation of football. But would they vote for us? I looked into their merry faces; I scanned their eyes for a clue; and I was none the wiser.

My tension grew. We all knew that the case for England 2018 was superb; we knew that by every measure of logic and fairness we should be serious contenders to host the World Cup. But what was actually going to happen? At length I sought out the nice young British executive who had been put in charge of the PR for our bid - and I asked him straight out; and I will never forget the look I saw in his eyes – a look of sudden and terrifying candour.

I had talked to him for months, on and off, and had never known him to deviate from a tone of buoyant optimism. We had sketched out all sorts of scenarios for success, and they each depended on progressing to the second round. If X country or Y country were eliminated, we would tell ourselves, then all their first round votes would transfer to us.

By the second round we would be in an immensely strong position. Fortified with the votes of X or Y, we would scorch into the third round – and, bingo! Everyone would vote for England as the safe bet, and it would be Three Lions on a Shirt, Jules Rimet gleaming again in Wembley, and a general feeling of orgiastic national good humour.

England would host the greatest tournament of the world’s most popular game for the first time since 1966 – and all we had to do was get through that first round of voting. But could we? “I don’t know,” said our campaign manager in a whisper. “I have moments when I just can’t see where our votes are coming from.”

As we were to see the following day, he was right to be nervous. It was a rout, a fiasco, a moment of national humiliation and derision. England was blown a collective raspberry in a global version of the Eurovision song contest. Nobody’s votes transferred to us, because we beat nobody. We managed to be kicked out first with nul points and only two votes, one of which came from the English chap on Fifa.

And ever since I have asked myself why we bombed so badly. We seemed to have such a good case. England had given the game to the world, and yet we hadn’t hosted the Cup for two generations. We had by far the most developed markets for TV and advertising. We had a football-loving public. Above all we had the infrastructure to put on a world-class sporting event, as we showed beyond doubt in 2012.

And it isn’t as if we failed to woo the Fifa executives. When their delegation was in town, we made sure their traffic lights were always on green, like a series of invisible butlers holding open the doors of a palace. I even joined the 32-stone Chuck Blazer for breakfast – or for one of his series of breakfasts. Blatter, I am afraid, was treated with a reverence that was positively emetic. And none of it was enough.

Now, thanks in large part to the indefatigable work of the British press, we now appear to know the reason. It was a fix. The whole Fifa edifice was and is weevilled with apparent corruption. While other countries turned a blind eye, the Americans have stepped in. The US has an extraordinary doctrine – that if you commit a crime by using an American banking network then you have committed a crime under American law and must answer to America; and if it brings the kleptocrats of Fifa to justice, then I am all for it.

I hope that the law now takes its course: that Sepp Blatter is finally forced to take responsibility for what appears to have happened on his watch, and to resign. If they had any sense of honour the sponsors would now pull the plug on this plainly fraudulent organisation.

In an ideal world the guilty would be convicted and Fifa would be wound up and replaced – as I have long since argued – by a more transparent and accountable body. I have to say, alas, that I am not entirely certain that things will turn out this way. As both the US and Swiss investigators acknowledge, bribery is difficult to prove.

And then there is a further geopolitical problem. You and I may rejoice at the notion of Britain and America triumphing in the final reel of the movie – James Bond and Felix Leiter coming together to winkle Blofeld from his lair. Not everyone sees it that way; not everyone likes the idea of an Anglo-American imperium. You may have noted that the French and Spanish Fifa wallahs decided, amazingly, to vote for Blatter.

All we can do is watch events, send whatever evidence we have to the Americans, and live in hope. And if the Swiss police indeed show that the 2010 contest was corrupted, then it will have to be re-run. London stands ready.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/footba ... glory.html

Postby rfari » May 31st, 2015, 11:47 pm

JW on edge yo
Warner 'fooled' by fake article
Published on May 31, 2015, 9:46 pm AST
By Leah Sorias

The peeling of onions usually results in tears and yesterday the satirical online US news­paper The Onion caused embattled Independent Liberal Party (ILP) leader and former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner to stumble in his self-defence against being "everybody's whipping boy both nationally and internationally".

Warner, who appeared not to know The Onion is famed for its satire, sought to use in his defence an article which appeared in that newspaper. He did so in an eight-minute video posted on his online television station, Jack TV, in which he insisted the US has "double standards".

The Onion article, which appeared on the website on Wednesday, poked fun at FIFA, saying that in an attempt to appease US officials following the arrest of football executives on Wednesday, it chose the US to host the 2015 Summer World Cup.

Warner believed the article to be true and stated: "If FIFA was so bad why is it that USA want to keep the FIFA World Cup? Why is it that they began games on May 27, two days before the FIFA election?"

Warner's mistake was picked up by the international media, including the New York Times, ABC Online, The Toronto Sun and CBS News.

He also was the laughing stock of many on social media sites yesterday. Just after 2 p.m., the video was removed from Jack TV and Warner's Facebook page.

It was reposted hours later, minus the reference to the Onion article.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150531 ... es-on-jack

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2015, 1:44 am

They're hunting for the heads of those accepting bribes. But I kinda agree with jack's point where those who offered the bribes should also be equally prosecuted.

Lance

Postby Lance » June 1st, 2015, 3:53 am

A lot of these banks played middlemen to facilitate these transfers. I hope they too are brought into discussion.

Time to clean house.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 1st, 2015, 8:54 am

Take it in fellas

Waited whole week for this

Below was from last year

Postby pete » June 1st, 2015, 9:10 am

The more entertaining thing about that episode was the threat to put "Chicken F&*#er" on people's wikipedia pages.

John Oliver - British man getting things fixed in USA.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 1st, 2015, 9:43 am

BERN, Switzerland (AP) — The immediate price that seven international soccer officials paid for their role in a U.S. corruption probe is perhaps best illustrated by their sudden change of accommodation. On Tuesday night they were staying at one of Switzerland's finest hotels, where top suites can cost more than $4,000 a night and a 2-ounce dollop of caviar will set you back almost $400. By Wednesday morning the men, who had come to Switzerland to attend the annual meeting of soccer's governing body FIFA, found themselves in less salubrious accommodation — prison cells around Zurich where the $16 daily budget for food gets inmates a daily portion of meat, a "filler" such...

http://article.wn.com/view/2015/05/29/S ... officials/

Postby rfari » June 1st, 2015, 6:12 pm

Oh my...

Blatter’s Top FIFA Deputy Is Said to Have Transferred Money Central to Bribery Case - NYTimes.com (via http://ble.ac/teamstream-) http://teamstre.am/1cuOF58

Postby pete » June 1st, 2015, 7:33 pm

Only just realised that was a new video. He talked about the fifa elections the episode before that. This was much funnier.

Postby bluefete » June 1st, 2015, 10:24 pm

Former FIFA president Jack Warner is deliberately acting delusional in bid to avoid corruption trial in the U.S. on mental health grounds, claims Trinidad minister

The former vice-president has drawn attention for bizarre behaviour
Attended party hours after telling reporters he was too exhausted to speak
Uploaded Facebook video citing satirical news The Onion as defence
Claiming to have helped Trinidad Prime Minister get financial backing

By Kate Pickles For Mailonline

Published: 16:03 GMT, 1 June 2015 | Updated: 18:37 GMT, 1 June 2015

Former FIFA vice president Jack Warner has been accused of being deliberately 'delusional' to try and dodge trial in America on mental health grounds.

Dr Roodal Moonilal, a Government minister in his native Trinidad and Tobago, said Warner's odd defence of FIFA corruption and money laundering charges against him were a ruse to appear mentally unfit.

It follows a series of bizarre incidents involving the disgraced official since he surrendered himself to authorities last week, the Trinidad Express reports.

Last week the 72-year-old was freed from prison due to 'exhaustion' only to be seen partying with supporters hours later. Days later he cited an article by satirical news outlet The Onion in an attempt to counter the criminal charges against him.

But Dr Moonilal, leader of Government Business, claims the eccentric behaviour may be a cynical attempt to avoid extradition to America.

'I wouldn't be surprised if he's trying to build a case in defence to suggest that he's medically and mentally unfit to face a trial in the United States,' he said.

'It could well explain some of the delusional statements that he makes, if it is that one day he would raise a defence of being mentally unable to stand trial in the United States.'

Warner, who was forced to quit FIFA as Vice President in 2011 over allegations of bribery, is among nine FIFA officials and five corporate executives charged by the US Department of Justice with running a criminal enterprise that involved more than £100million in bribes.

Prosecutors say Warner solicited bribes worth £6.5million from the South African government to host the 2010 World Cup and diverted bribes for personal use.

He was granted a $395,000 (£257,000) bond but spent the night in jail.

The next day, he refused to speak to reporters due to exhaustion but was later seen donning a garland and whipping a partisan crowd of political allies into a frenzy with an energetic and defiant speech professing his innocence.

'If I have been thiefing FIFA money for 30 years, who give me the money? How come he is not charged?' he asked the crowd.

'Why only persons from Third World countries have been charged?'

On Sunday, he uploaded an eight-minute video to his Facebook page, speaking about 'a trying week' with regards to FIFA corruption charges but mistakenly believing an article using satire which said the United States will host the World Cup in 2015.

Jack Warner posts bizarre video RANT

Now Trinidad government officials have been forced to deny his latest claims that he accompanied Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to meetings with contractors to seek financing for election campaigns.

Dr Moonilal, whose party the United National Congress have not commented formally on the case, questioned his honesty.

'I don't know who in the world today is prepared to believe Mr Warner, Mr Blatter, Mr Webb and others. It is really a sad thing when people utter things in public and you really can't believe anything,' he said.

'I thought the experience last Wednesday would in a way calm him down and allowed him to reflect on his own mortality, political and otherwise. His recklessness continues.'
Read more:

Trinidad Express Newspapers: News | Absurd Jack

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z3brqgc7K9
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 1st, 2015, 10:32 pm

Double_Facepalm_Meme.jpg
Double_Facepalm_Meme.jpg (24.55 KiB) Viewed 3731 times

Postby shogun » June 1st, 2015, 10:46 pm

I see what Moonilal did there. Let's hope it works, for his sake.

Postby K74T » June 2nd, 2015, 6:59 am

Please ignore all Dailymail articles.

Mr Midas

Postby Mr Midas » June 2nd, 2015, 12:58 pm

Blatter resigns as FIFA president

Sepp Blatter says he will resign as president of football's governing body Fifa amid a corruption scandal.

In announcing his exit, the 79-year-old has called an extraordinary Fifa congress "as soon as possible" to elect a new president.

Blatter was re-elected last week, despite seven top Fifa officials being arrested two days before the vote as part of a US prosecution.

But he said: "My mandate does not appear to be supported by everybody."

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/32982449

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » June 2nd, 2015, 1:00 pm

Mr Midas wrote:Blatter resigns as FIFA president

Sepp Blatter says he will resign as president of football's governing body Fifa amid a corruption scandal.

In announcing his exit, the 79-year-old has called an extraordinary Fifa congress "as soon as possible" to elect a new president.

Blatter was re-elected last week, despite seven top Fifa officials being arrested two days before the vote as part of a US prosecution.

But he said: "My mandate does not appear to be supported by everybody."

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/32982449

Blater had real belly to even seek re-election when his entire exec was accused of corruption. It looks like someone turned the screws in him.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 2nd, 2015, 1:01 pm

wonder if he will now turn informant??? ohhh JAckieeeeeeeee! (paging Jackie))))

Postby Habit7 » June 2nd, 2015, 1:09 pm

BRZ wrote:wonder if he will now turn informant??? ohhh JAckieeeeeeeee! (paging Jackie))))

Yes they will use the president as an informant on the vice president :roll:

Because Jack is a bigger catch than Blatter.