2,600 Terabytes of the Sun's goodness..

Postby Monk BANzai » May 22nd, 2015, 1:46 pm

February 11, 2015 marks five years in space for NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory, which provides incredibly detailed images of the whole sun 24 hours a day. Capturing an image more than once per second, SDO has provided an unprecedentedly clear picture of how massive explosions on the sun grow and erupt ever since its launch on Feb. 11, 2010. The imagery is also captivating, allowing one to watch the constant ballet of solar material through the sun's atmosphere, the corona.

Re: 2,600 Terabytes of the Sun's goodness..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2015, 2:05 pm

many people don't realise how huge our sun is compared to the earth

and these solar flares are HUGE
this isn't the earth far away, this is to show the size the earth as compared to a large solar flare

or realise how tiny our sun is compared to other suns in other solar systems in our galaxy

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 22nd, 2015, 2:13 pm

Came in expecting to see half nekkid women basking in the sun. It's Friday and I am disap-OH SHEEEIIIIT 1:37 REEEEAL BAD

djcase00

Postby djcase00 » May 22nd, 2015, 3:32 pm

Coincidentally, just looked at the movie Sunshine last night. Was pretty good. I recommend yall take it in. Expedition to revive the dying sun.

Postby shogun » May 22nd, 2015, 4:06 pm

It really doesn't get much more awesome than that.

djcase00 wrote:Coincidentally, just looked at the movie Sunshine last night. Was pretty good. I recommend yall take it in. Expedition to revive the dying sun.

Dude, one of my faves... underrated flick for sure.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » May 22nd, 2015, 4:37 pm

That was beautiful.

Postby mero » May 22nd, 2015, 6:09 pm

2600 terabytes of pics and footage!? NASA could give dougla boy some competition yes :lol:

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 22nd, 2015, 8:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:many people don't realise how huge our sun is compared to the earth

Imagine living on a planet the size of Antares

and you in a long distance relationship , pole to pole

and you have a dial up connection, coupled with the lag from the electrons in the wire cuz the planet so flickin big

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2015, 8:45 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:many people don't realise how huge our sun is compared to the earth

and you have a dial up connection, coupled with the lag from the electrons in the wire cuz the planet so flickin big
well Antares is 691,461,863 miles in diameter. That's a circumference of 2,172,291,509 miles. That means if there was a planet that size, it would take 3 hours and 15 minutes for light to travel from one pole to the next on the surface of the planet. That is some retarded levels of latency!

Also that's light. We can't travel at the speed of light. Yet.
In a commercial jet it would take you about 451 years to fly from pole to pole on Antares.
451 years ago Columbus had only just discovered Trinidad 66 years earlier.

Postby nervewrecker » May 22nd, 2015, 9:22 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

well Antares is 691,461,863 miles in diameter. That's a circumference of 2,172,291,509 miles. That means if there was a planet that size, it would take 3 hours and 15 minutes for light to travel from one pole to the next on the surface of the planet. That is some retarded levels of latency!

In a commercial jet it would take you about 451 years to fly from pole to pole on Antares.

Land go be cheap dey ent?

Postby supercharged turbo » May 22nd, 2015, 9:57 pm

^^^lololol

JStaples

Postby JStaples » May 22nd, 2015, 10:04 pm

Lol:D:D

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 22nd, 2015, 10:05 pm

I guess this sheds alot of light on the situation

Budum - Ching!

Postby cinco » May 22nd, 2015, 10:15 pm

nareshseep wrote:I guess this sheds alot of light on the situation

Budum - Ching!

Youze a bright fella

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2015, 11:18 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » May 23rd, 2015, 12:50 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:February 11, 2015 marks five years in space for NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory, which provides incredibly detailed images of the whole sun 24 hours a day. Capturing an image more than once per second, SDO has provided an unprecedentedly clear picture of how massive explosions on the sun grow and erupt ever since its launch on Feb. 11, 2010. The imagery is also captivating, allowing one to watch the constant ballet of solar material through the sun's atmosphere, the corona.

Best comment from the video..

incredible. Proof that there is, indeed, a hot ball of plasma near the barycentre of our solar system.

Just FYI, the Sun is technically not the center of our solar system.. The actual center is called the Barycenter, or the center of mass of all objects within the system.

See:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barycenter

Postby Monk BANzai » May 23rd, 2015, 5:30 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Came in expecting to see half nekkid women basking in the sun. It's Friday and I am disap-OH SHEEEIIIIT 1:37 REEEEAL BAD

lol men have me down in a certain way yes!!>...lol

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 25th, 2015, 12:19 pm

Advent

Postby Advent » May 25th, 2015, 12:46 pm

shogun wrote:It really doesn't get much more awesome than that.

djcase00 wrote:Coincidentally, just looked at the movie Sunshine last night. Was pretty good. I recommend yall take it in. Expedition to revive the dying sun.

Dude, one of my faves... underrated flick for sure.

DJCASE welcome to the sunshine club lol

Shogun :D

Postby dougla_boy » May 25th, 2015, 2:49 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Came in expecting to see half nekkid women basking in the sun. It's Friday and I am disap-OH SHEEEIIIIT 1:37 REEEEAL BAD

lol men have me down in a certain way yes!!>...lol

well dont disappoint nah.... :fadein:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 25th, 2015, 3:23 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

Wonder how close we are to reaching light speed travel....

Postby stev » May 26th, 2015, 12:07 am

The Sun will one day be about the size of Earth:
After its red giant phase, the Sun will collapse, retaining its enormous mass, but containing the approximate volume of our planet. When this happens, it will be called a white dwarf.

The Sun contains 99.86% of the mass in the Solar System:
The mass of the Sun is approximately 330,000 times greater than that of Earth. It is almost three quarters Hydrogen, whilst most of the remaining mass is Helium.

The Sun travels at 220 kilometres per second:
The Sun is 24,000-26,000 light years from the galactic centre and it takes the Sun 225-250 million years to complete an orbit of the centre of the Milky Way.

more: http://space-facts.com/the-sun/

zoom into the picture below, then scroll....thats how many Earths can fit in the sun

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 26th, 2015, 12:38 am

scotty_buttons wrote:Wonder how close we are to reaching light speed travel....
not sure.

It really isn't that fast when you consider the sheer size of space

http://joshworth.com/dev/pixelspace/pix ... ystem.html

Scroll to the right and then click the icon in the lower right of the screen to travel through the solar system at light speed. Seems slow huh.

Light takes a whole 8 minutes to get to Earth from the Sun.

It takes 5 and a half hours for light to travel from the Sun to Pluto.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 26th, 2015, 7:17 am

scotty_buttons wrote:Wonder how close we are to reaching light speed travel....
not sure.

It really isn't that fast when you consider the sheer size of space

http://joshworth.com/dev/pixelspace/pix ... ystem.html

Scroll to the right and then click the icon in the lower right of the screen to travel through the solar system at light speed. Seems slow huh.

Light takes a whole 8 minutes to get to Earth from the Sun.

It takes 5 and a half hours for light to travel from the Sun to Pluto.

Yep I know. Especially when u start considering different solar systems and galaxies are 100s of light years away. Kinda depressing. Really hoped I would've been living in the generation that experiences other intelligent life forms and 'traveling beyond the speed of light like 'hyperdrive' :(

Postby X2 » May 27th, 2015, 12:48 am

Enters Thread...

Witnesses Nerdgasm...

Laughs at all the billion year old information being bandied about...

Confirms no cornbread...

Sending complaint letter to admin...