WTK: against the law for a person not wanting to transfer

Closeout Deals

WTK: against the law for a person not wanting to transfer

Postby Closeout Deals » April 30th, 2015, 3:56 pm

just to shed some light for a buddy.

What can one do if a person buys or trades a vehicle and the owner does not want to transfer because he/she wants the vehicle back, all receipts in order. Has this ever happened to anyone?

Re: WTK: against the law for a person not wanting to transfe

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 30th, 2015, 4:07 pm

go to fraud squad. You're in a bind, cause the paperwork is in their name and receipts can easily be forged.
Kept copies of any certified cheques?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2015, 4:51 pm

how was the payment made?

rnlsouth

Postby rnlsouth » April 30th, 2015, 5:09 pm

Go to the licensing department with your receipts etc and speak to the officer in charge. There are penalties for the previous owner if he fails to transfer within 7 days of the sale.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 30th, 2015, 5:58 pm

Yep, correct is right

Once you have the receipt they have to transfer the vehicle by law within 7 days

I think the Chief Clerk can sort this out

Postby brams112 » April 30th, 2015, 7:13 pm

Closeout Deals wrote:just to shed some light for a buddy.

What can one do if a person buys or trades a vehicle and the owner does not want to transfer because he/she wants the vehicle back, all receipts in order. Has this ever happened to anyone?

Let the person pay you a ransom for the car then,sonnie boi.

Postby 88sins » May 2nd, 2015, 11:51 am

Legally they have to transfer the vehicle within a stipulated time frame.
If they insist they do not wish to transfer, get the popo involved asap, cuz that's a classic example of obtaining monies under false pretenses & if they disappear is you to ketch

Postby Chimera » May 2nd, 2015, 12:50 pm

is the original owner offering to give you/your padna back the money that was paid for the vehicle?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 2nd, 2015, 1:44 pm

you have 7 days to transfer a vehicle that was sold ... or face a penalty / fine

i remember a while back i sold a vehicle to a power seller on tuner , who buys and sells cars , i told him upfront i want the van transferred , he said yes we will transfer , 2 months after he got a sale for the van and rushing me to come to License office to transfer the van i told him i was busy and couldn't make it , he went to a License officer and told him i didn't want to transfer the van , they called me and told me i could be fined for not transferring the van , when i did explain what happened they said im still at fault .....

i kinda went off topic but , peeps when u sell a car try and transfer it asap .....

op .... jus make a report to Licence office / police station and they should sort it out ....

blousing

Postby blousing » May 2nd, 2015, 2:17 pm

Actually, there is a notice in license office when if comes to transferring vehicles and I think there is a law to it. When are buying a vehicle it is to be transferred right away. For example you cannot go in license office with a bill of sale dated December and you now gonna transfer in August which is illegal. Everything has to be done immediately. Its recommended to prevent transactions of stolen vehicles, some ppl realize it too late when they gonna transfer that the vehicle is not in the name of the owner selling it.

stealth

Postby stealth » May 4th, 2015, 11:23 am

great thread.

I also in a position where i bought a car from a popular tuner since last year ....he said the paperwork in order....after i bought the car, he didnt even have a certified copy , then he told me the car's paperwork in the previous owner name....but its no problem...i just had to sign the transfer form, give him copies of my id and also pay the transfer tax....his "link" or the owners "link" will have the car transferred to me directly......i still waiting....

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 4th, 2015, 12:43 pm

In March I was looking for a used Hilux. After seeing about five of them, my first question was after was: "Do you have any link in LO?" If YES I not buying doesn't matter how good the vehicle. Is real smart man outside there.

Trinbagoviews

Postby Trinbagoviews » May 4th, 2015, 12:53 pm

ADONI wrote:In March I was looking for a used Hilux. After seeing about five of them, my first question was after was: "Do you have any link in LO?" If YES I not buying doesn't matter how good the vehicle. Is real smart man outside there.

Never thought of it like that.... good approach!......

Lance

Postby Lance » May 4th, 2015, 1:10 pm

ADONI wrote:In March I was looking for a used Hilux. After seeing about five of them, my first question was after was: "Do you have any link in LO?" If YES I not buying doesn't matter how good the vehicle. Is real smart man outside there.

What context would make it appropriate to ask someone this question? Just so you asking the seller if they have a link in LO?

Clearly some aspect of the sale would have to had made it OK to bring up this.

Postby Chimera » May 4th, 2015, 1:36 pm

No. In any business transaction that involves a government authority these days it perfectly acceptable to ask if someone have a link. Ttec,wasa, license office, inland revenue,bir, even to get yuh cesspit cleaned

Postby Slartibartfast » May 4th, 2015, 1:43 pm

Lance wrote:

What context would make it appropriate to ask someone this question? Just so you asking the seller if they have a link in LO?

Clearly some aspect of the sale would have to had made it OK to bring up this.
You have a hilux to sell or wha? Just the fact that you have to ask that question means ADONI will definitely consider buying the hilux from you.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 4th, 2015, 3:14 pm

It was just shady characters saying how they will 'organize' the transfer without me going LO.
I doh wah go and pass the vehicle over the pit for inspection sticker later on and LO tell me give them the keys and travel home cause of some fraud issue.
For example, one guy had a Hilux with the signed transfer form, from the previous owner, who looked like he went back India to live....

stealth

Postby stealth » May 4th, 2015, 3:25 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:No. In any business transaction that involves a government authority these days it perfectly acceptable to ask if someone have a link. Ttec,wasa, license office, inland revenue,bir, even to get yuh cesspit cleaned

This !! true talk !

btw, with respect to my situation, i applied for a CC, and i got it ...I hope to track the last owner down by the end of this week and get this resolved.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 4th, 2015, 10:30 pm

so if a person sold a car and did not transfer...say a year has passed.....can the buyer and seller redo a receipt with updated date and go to transfer with that without any issue?

Postby Slartibartfast » May 4th, 2015, 10:45 pm

You mean just pay for the car a year early ;) yeah once you dont tell them anything then it's not a problem. I dont see why people buy cars without proper paperwork though. It's not like they get it cheaper. Even if you don't get it transferred one time make sure you have the cert copy and a direct line of contact and a agreement with the person who's name is on it

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 5th, 2015, 12:00 am

good info........

fishergirl

Re: WTK: against the law for a person not wanting to transfer

Postby fishergirl » December 10th, 2019, 10:48 pm

Sold a car over a year ago. Did not transfer because there were issues with the vehicle and the person agreed to do the transfer after he fixed it. I've been calling and messaging and getting the run around. Made a police report but other than that , nothing was done. Person still does not want to meet to get this done. Any advice on what my options are at this point is much appreciated.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 10th, 2019, 11:17 pm

Why in the world did you agree to only do the transfer after it was fixed?

Postby pugboy » December 11th, 2019, 5:55 am

well the car is still yours, so simply go and report it stolen.
end of story.

otherwise they could get in an accident and you will be liable or they could use it for a robbery etc

fishergirl wrote:Sold a car over a year ago. Did not transfer because there were issues with the vehicle and the person agreed to do the transfer after he fixed it. I've been calling and messaging and getting the run around. Made a police report but other than that , nothing was done. Person still does not want to meet to get this done. Any advice on what my options are at this point is much appreciated.

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2019, 6:34 am

stealth wrote:great thread.

I also in a position where i bought a car from a popular tuner since last year ....he said the paperwork in order....after i bought the car, he didnt even have a certified copy , then he told me the car's paperwork in the previous owner name....but its no problem...i just had to sign the transfer form, give him copies of my id and also pay the transfer tax....his "link" or the owners "link" will have the car transferred to me directly......i still waiting....

do the search online on the LO website, to see that it has ACTUALLY transfered to ur name. next ting he just mamaguy u with the documents, and he eh do one fart. cause the previous owner name on it, so he have nutten to do with it in reality. he sold u the car, but if his name is not on the cert, he is technically, NOT the owner. and is the owner that needs to transfer.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 16th, 2019, 4:35 pm

hey does anyone know if it is possible to request a certified extract for a vehicle that you don't own but know the particulars? Also can this be requested and obtained same-day @ Caroni?

thx for any help.

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2019, 4:44 pm

Yes, very commonly done when ppl hit and run

daxt0r wrote:hey does anyone know if it is possible to request a certified extract for a vehicle that you don't own but know the particulars? Also can this be requested and obtained same-day @ Caroni?

thx for any help.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 16th, 2019, 4:52 pm

pugboy wrote:Yes, very commonly done when ppl hit and run

daxt0r wrote:hey does anyone know if it is possible to request a certified extract for a vehicle that you don't own but know the particulars? Also can this be requested and obtained same-day @ Caroni?

thx for any help.

thx man, really appreciate d input! and ah go get thru same day in Caroni right?
Ah from deeeep deep south an doh wa make a failure run na daiz y ah makin sure on all d details na.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 16th, 2019, 6:21 pm

daxt0r wrote:

thx for any help.

thx man, really appreciate d input! and ah go get thru same day in Caroni right?
Ah from deeeep deep south an doh wa make a failure run na daiz y ah makin sure on all d details na.

depending on how much info you want, like if you just verifying chassis number and current owner's name, you can use the online verification tool
https://apps.mowt.gov.tt/apps/

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 16th, 2019, 9:02 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
daxt0r wrote:

thx for any help.

depending on how much info you want, like if you just verifying chassis number and current owner's name, you can use the online verification tool
https://apps.mowt.gov.tt/apps/

i actually need the CC that's why i asked if its possible and same day.