3ne2nr fishermen

mrlantra

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby mrlantra » April 18th, 2015, 6:54 pm

All my rods are short from boat fishing or the kayak, tho if it's from a beach I just will tow the baits out

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2015, 8:27 pm

The 5000fj could handle alot of fish but its better to be confident and yeah, if you wading with a stradic, things could go bad fast. A good reel weight for lures is somewhere around 20-22 oz, the gosa isn't too far off @ 24 although they advertise underweight. A 6 or 8000 might be the sweet spot.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 18th, 2015, 8:57 pm

Meccalli

I'm thinking of getting an uglystick big water spinning rod, 10 or 11 ft and using one of my lethals on it for rocks or piers

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2015, 9:45 pm

Those uglies bws are rock solid rods, don't worry bout knocking, throwing them around. Can take rell licks and deliver, not too heavy. The lethal should match up pretty good I think if particularly if you just throwing bait.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 18th, 2015, 9:49 pm

I already have a tiger lite to replace the broken Shimano and yes those ugly sticks are tough rods, I get the finnor lethals at a 10% discount ( being a kayaker has it's perks ) and have co workers who travel between Houston and here monthly but I find buying rods at mankees is cheaper.

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2015, 9:58 pm

yeah, idk how he does it but crazy prices. You won't go wrong with the tigers as long as you don't high stick em as its still graphite composite. Those aren't built with the howald process as the bws I think.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 18th, 2015, 10:02 pm

Mecalli, u don't hav to tell me what those shimano 5000's can do...ppl fed up ask me why I taking dem ting offshore for an killing most of the fish wit dem from tarpon to 100lbs, tuna 20lbs, cavali, kingfish anyting yes...but from shore is another case, I mite go wit ah Saragosa 10000 to be certain on ah nice 10' rod...I wanna meet up wit u an check out d avid so I cud make ah decision on ah setup I wanna get...

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2015, 10:12 pm

Sweet, the avid is super light being high modulus carbon, did I mention light? lol. Only problem with rods like that, accidentally knock it and get ready to replace it. It's interesting what shimano doing with that new tc4 design in the tiralejo to make the blanks withstand more lateral force.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 18th, 2015, 10:13 pm

Hmm...I hav to see dat to decide...the shimano real nice though...

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » April 19th, 2015, 7:51 am

anyone know what the seaweed situation is like on d se coast?

ModMania

Postby ModMania » April 19th, 2015, 2:36 pm

Went manzan thia morning....no weeds

drop ho

Postby drop ho » April 19th, 2015, 4:20 pm

Strange was there yester eve and it still had albeit wasnt a lot... a guy was casting into surf and was still pulling up weeds caught in his hooks.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 19th, 2015, 7:12 pm

Marlin madness tournament was slow today...real plenty weed in the water...ah few marlin an some sailfish were released though...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 19th, 2015, 8:26 pm

All this talk about rods... I broke my 8ft today :( The ray broke it early in the am.

Some pics...from today, only took a picture of the fish in the back of the boat, front's cooler was packed and gone before I got a pic. Mixed catch over all, a few small reds, power, lots of racando, grunts, and some rays, eels, crappo..etc. We shot some carrete, power and a moonshine. Water was clean, mostly calm and cold! :drinking:

Postby *KRONIK* » April 19th, 2015, 8:46 pm

Wat allyuh does do with the stingray?

Stingray edible??

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » April 19th, 2015, 9:10 pm

yeh stingray is edible. skinned and filleted you can fry it or put it in broth.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 19th, 2015, 9:31 pm

Sea goat!

bumpie

Postby bumpie » April 19th, 2015, 10:26 pm

Heading tobago tuesday goin to try 2 spots sandy point an bucco by d jetty info bout those spots?

grad

Postby grad » April 19th, 2015, 10:55 pm

we caught about 6 big rays one day, and let them all go cuz no one in our crew eats it. does anyone here eat it? if we catch any in the future you all can have it....

Also, evrytime we pass here it keeps reminding me of fishing for bass with lures on the fishing channel. saw a couple guys catching boshay, tilapia and cuscurub with shrimp. they even said a couple 3 ft tarpon hooked on and let go. looks like a nice place to kayak and throw some artificials.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » April 19th, 2015, 11:00 pm

^^ is that the swamp area in Cedros? And the flappers of the stingray taste real good when u fry it in a batter.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » April 19th, 2015, 11:12 pm

Nah that's Icacos

grad

Postby grad » April 19th, 2015, 11:18 pm

yup icacos. ive heard all kinda stuff bout the stingray, but as i say if anyone wants it when we catch, no problemo!

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 19th, 2015, 11:25 pm

Ya the icacos marsh is on my list to try and fish in the kayak, just waiting on a good weekend to make the drive, tho has anyone scouted the area for a launch point?

Postby X_Factor » April 19th, 2015, 11:28 pm

whats the best way to keep fish frozen for say a mth or more to minimize flavor loss, freezer burn, meat texture etc?

bumpie

Postby bumpie » April 19th, 2015, 11:37 pm

Freeze it in a bucket of water make sure weter is all around fish.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 20th, 2015, 5:25 am

Yes, u take the zip lock bag and submerge it to the zip area to remove all the air in the bag and zip it in the water this keeps it alot fresher for a longer period...or if u hav a vacuum sealer, that works great too

I was down icacos and scoped out that same area to do some inshore fishing...some friends went in there wit some kayaks already and caught some nice snook, tarpon and some guabeen...

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 20th, 2015, 7:08 am

Banking yesterday was pressure, jus a few cro cro and like 2 stingrays. Water was choppy in d gulf whole day.

I feel dem fish gone vene side for vacation yes. Lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 20th, 2015, 7:09 am

Nah, hav men holding the banking fish down patos but daz on coordinates...when the water calm down the fish will pickup...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 20th, 2015, 8:33 am

that Icacos swamp look like a nice place just to relax and de-stress, even if you don't catch any fish.

Proton how deep in the Gulf you all were?

Stingray is the same family with shark, I wouldn't doubt some vendors in Maracas use it as a substitute.

Postby TRAE » April 20th, 2015, 8:44 am

they already doing that bruh ^^