Re: Concern about private drones ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2015, 10:15 pm

gurmuk wrote:Dam Phantom 3 already!
and the price is pretty awesome!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 8th, 2015, 11:29 pm

Was looking into getting a dji, not a phantom though. F550 with naza-m lite.
Reviews/footage seem pretty awesome.
Check out www.helipal.com for some great deals.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 8th, 2015, 11:33 pm

yh, these drones can pose a serious threat to national security, saw a documentary where the us navy or army or waever was developing technology to kill them in flight if suspected to be a threat

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 9th, 2015, 8:08 am

ru$$ell wrote:Was looking into getting a dji, not a phantom though. F550 with naza-m lite.
Reviews/footage seem pretty awesome.
Check out http://www.helipal.com for some great deals.
why a F550?
You have a big payload to carry?

Naza is DJIs flight system. The Phantoms have it too.

Cid

Postby Cid » April 9th, 2015, 10:53 am

Stay away from the 3 just yet.. They upgraded the motor for more power but decided to use a thinner wire from the ESC, this wire will melt..There has been alot of crashes because of this.They sold the upgraded motors and wiring as a mod for the p2 and these crashed as well..Im not sure if its been sorted out yet...

Edit: actually that should be the p2v+ version 3 that has the problems , The P3 (Phantom Vision 3 ) is all new
Last edited by Cid on April 9th, 2015, 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 9th, 2015, 10:57 am

Cid wrote:

Stay away from the 3 just yet.. They upgraded the motor for more power but decided to use a thinner wire from the ESC, this wire will melt..There has been alot of crashes because of this.They sold the upgraded motors and wiring as a mod for the p2 and these crashed as well..Im not sure if its been sorted out yet...
we'll see. I'm waiting in the real world reviews anyway.

It's interesting that most the people suggesting that ppl stay away from the 3 are 2+ owners. Just an observation BTW.

Postby Chimera » April 9th, 2015, 11:00 am

*sends page link to fbi office*

Carry on "drone" users

Cid

Postby Cid » April 9th, 2015, 11:04 am

Cid wrote:

we'll see. I'm waiting in the real world reviews anyway.

It's interesting that most the people suggesting that ppl stay away from the 3 are 2+ owners. Just an observation BTW.

I dont know about the phantom 3 but the problems with the p2v+ version 3 are real tho ...

http://forum.dji.com/forum.php?mod=view ... 72&lang=en
http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/if ... 99&lang=en

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 9th, 2015, 11:49 am

I have had 2 ARDrones v1 and they worked great in the day, they have there limitations.
But I got more flight time n fun compared to the 4 scrap 3d choppers I have laying around.
Can't imaging how these DGI perform now, they look amazing
I believe if competent responsible people pilot these drones then there shouldn't be any major fuss

Postby MG Man » April 9th, 2015, 11:50 am

Pablo660 wrote:I have had 2 ARDrones v1 and they worked great in the day, they have there limitations.
But I got more flight time n fun compared to the 4 scrap 3d choppers I have laying around.
I believe if competent responsible people pilot these drones then there shouldn't be any major fuss

who determines that?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 9th, 2015, 11:51 am

Plus i only realized there are a couple RC fields around where people can practice.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 9th, 2015, 11:56 am

Pablo660 wrote:I have had 2 ARDrones v1 and they worked great in the day, they have there limitations.

who determines that?

The actual pilots I hope, no spying in ur neighbor bedroom
Plus drones now come with prop guards n safe landing capability, battery low landing , collision assist ( ARDrone had this)so much other safety stuff
If u hear a buzzing above u I hope u would move out n not get struck Or stung if it's a bora bee cause drones not quiet too

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2015, 12:38 pm

Pellet gun in drone tail from now on

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 9th, 2015, 1:10 pm

Lol a regular wind ball will do the trick once ur aim good lol

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2015, 2:39 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Lol a regular wind ball will do the trick once ur aim good lol

Yeah then the owner of the drone will know who pelt down his drone.
With a pellet it's sniper in he tail.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 9th, 2015, 11:34 pm

Postby shogun » April 10th, 2015, 12:19 am

^Good stuff.

zoom rader wrote:Pellet gun in drone tail from now on

There's one that appears around a friend's neighborhood once in a while... just flying around and hovering randomly.. we dubbed it the Macco drone. Heard enough talk of pellet guns for that one too.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2015, 12:38 am

So how do drone users manage the life of their batteries ?
How do you know when it no longer is giving full power and wont crap out in flight ?

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » April 10th, 2015, 1:32 am

^^ well on mine i have a timer set up for a general idea as to when the battery life is at about 60% discharged to come back home

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » April 11th, 2015, 4:10 am

Cid wrote:

Edit: actually that should be the p2v+ version 3 that has the problems , The P3 (Phantom Vision 3 ) is all new

Cid, I own a V3 Vision + and have not had any issues for the period Ive owned it (knock on wood). No hardware upgrades and I have approx 400hrs flight time. I do know about the ESC issues but I cannot say for sure if the issue was rectified.

I personally do not fly pass 400ft, the best pictures and videos are below that threshold...after that you might as well use google maps.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » April 11th, 2015, 9:38 am

Will buy one who sellin PM me.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2015, 12:01 pm

ok I will buy one....brought in a cheap one for my son's birthday (us$130) but it was huge and looked quite weird just hovering there....vids and photos were surprisingly pretty decent......didn't have good range though and something inside just burnt recently....been thinking of the dji to maco the property and the pond (for those who remember what goes on there...snicker snicker)....

Cid

Postby Cid » April 11th, 2015, 3:25 pm

KarbonFiber wrote:
Cid wrote:

Cid, I own a V3 Vision + and have not had any issues for the period Ive owned it (knock on wood). No hardware upgrades and I have approx 400hrs flight time. I do know about the ESC issues but I cannot say for sure if the issue was rectified.

I personally do not fly pass 400ft, the best pictures and videos are below that threshold...after that you might as well use google maps.

Glad u got a good one kf , i remember this was one of the biggest problems of the v3, happened last year October, the first versions were lemons... which is why i went with the v2+ some stores might have old stock so its really difficult to tell.... i just advise ppl to stay away completely, after all its a heavy investment...

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » April 11th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Yup, I hear you Cid. I had 2 AR drones (the org and 2) and i swear they were lemons. Told everyone to stay away from them. Im liking the Phantom 3, will wait to see how it goes tho.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » April 17th, 2015, 8:59 am

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-32334186

Then read Michael Crichton's book: Prey which was published in 2002.

It's not a question of "if" but "when" drones and AI will pose serious challenges for humanity.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 20th, 2015, 2:58 pm

paparazzi wrote:http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-32334186

Then read Michael Crichton's book: Prey which was published in 2002.

It's not a question of "if" but "when" drones and AI will pose serious challenges for humanity.
Skynet!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 20th, 2015, 3:03 pm

this one drone from 3D Robotics seems to better the Phantom 3 with built in features like cable cam, orbit and follow me

http://3drobotics.com/solo/

US$1399

Cid

Postby Cid » April 20th, 2015, 7:39 pm

looks really promising.... features are awesome.... gopro footage will be better than phantom.... the fact that the gopro integrates with the software makes is so versatile.... user reviews should be looked at to see if there are any problems with all those signals.... gps lock wifi range etc........but yea its a nice drone

Jammoh23

Postby Jammoh23 » May 6th, 2015, 5:56 pm

Are there any import restrictions on drones right now and roughly how much would it cost to clear one like the phantom 3