Flow Internet Thread

shaq090

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby shaq090 » February 27th, 2015, 4:48 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:My flow internet working perfect.

1.2mb/s download on a 10mb package.

Pretty satisfied

corrected

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 27th, 2015, 9:11 pm

^ you mean 1.2MB/s download on a 10Mb/s 8-)

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 27th, 2015, 10:42 pm

for the first time since i upgraded to it i got full speed

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 28th, 2015, 5:41 am

fouljuice wrote:^ you mean 1.2MB/s download on a 10Mb/s 8-)

Lol u probly have line or area issues

Postby maj. tom » February 28th, 2015, 9:50 am

2015 and men still eh know the difference between a megabit and a megabyte eh.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » March 1st, 2015, 6:30 pm

jm3 wrote:for the first time since i upgraded to it i got full speed

You should test again with a Miami server to get a true reflection.

HSA

Postby HSA » March 2nd, 2015, 8:23 am

8 bits in one byte....10 mega BIT package will download at 1.25 megaBYTES per second max.....alot of uninformed peeps keep calling flow saying they suppose to get 10MB/s as advertised...lol..not knowing flow in its nastiness used MB/S (mega bits per second ) as part of their marketing strategy......

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2015, 12:39 pm

mb not MB-

mb>megabit
MB>megabyte

if they used MB/s then that's false advertising :|

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 2nd, 2015, 5:22 pm

HSA wrote:8 bits in one byte....10 mega BIT package will download at 1.25 megaBYTES per second max.....alot of uninformed peeps keep calling flow saying they suppose to get 10MB/s as advertised...lol..not knowing flow in its nastiness used MB/S (mega bits per second ) as part of their marketing strategy......

All ISP providers use megabits as its measurements... So does the IEEE standard.. Or else you would have been saying u have a 12.5mb/s ethernet port compared to a 100Mb/s port..

Postby Morpheus » March 2nd, 2015, 10:22 pm

Allyuh call me when computer class is over please.....

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 3rd, 2015, 5:52 am

So who was wrong?
I said "1.2MB/s download on a 10Mb/s"

legend

Postby legend » March 14th, 2015, 7:49 am

hey guys

i have been having some problems with my flow internet package
I have the wireless ARRIS Modem with a 10mbps package
I am experiencing continuous drops in connectivity that only gets worst after 7pm sometimes it doesnt come back for hours.
Google chrome always gives the indication of "Resolving Host" and then "webpage cannot be displayed"
This happens using wireless and the LAN cable

Is the modem at fault or is it the coaxil cable line

legend

Postby legend » March 14th, 2015, 7:51 am

hey guys

i have been having some problems with my flow internet package
I have the wireless ARRIS Modem with a 10mbps package
I am experiencing continuous drops in connectivity that only gets worst after 7pm sometimes it doesnt come back for hours.
Google chrome always gives the indication of "Resolving Host" and then "webpage cannot be displayed"
This happens using wireless and the LAN cable

Is the modem at fault or is it the coaxil cable line

Archvile

Postby Archvile » March 16th, 2015, 10:27 am

USENET/NEWSGROUP Issues

Anyone here with flow using Usenet/Newsgroup servers and experiencing problems with connectivity recently?
From what I can see, since Saturday I have not been able to download through Usenet. Even though the service connects, nothing downloads.
I initially thought that the file/s may be out of the server's retention/dead, or that my server was doing maintenance however, I tried using my mobile internet connection and it worked fine :S.

This led me to believe there is some block or issue with Flow and Usenet, so I called their IT dept, and after about 25-30 mins of the usual power cycling, resetting etc. they said they would forward it to their superiors to take a look at and resolve by Morning.

Well, it still hasn't been resolved and i'm testing it atm on a Blink connection and it works.

Anyone else experiencing a similar issue?

zebratt

Postby zebratt » March 16th, 2015, 7:15 pm

Archvile,
I had the same problem. Not resolved by Flow of course.
Got my usenet going again by using SSL (NNTPS) on port 563.

Yay!

sparkette

Postby sparkette » March 19th, 2015, 5:46 pm

Is it possible to change the password for the arris wireless modem?

brickman

Postby brickman » March 27th, 2015, 2:26 am

Strange enough my net went off for about 15 minutes tonight just before 10,as it came back on my upload light which has always been orange is now green.From all that I've read simply put green is better so good on flow on that improvement in service.

Archvile

Postby Archvile » March 27th, 2015, 9:05 am

Yup @zebratt, also used SSL to get it working. At least they can't block THAT

Postby S_2NR » March 27th, 2015, 9:23 am

brickman wrote:Strange enough my net went off for about 15 minutes tonight just before 10,as it came back on my upload light which has always been orange is now green.From all that I've read simply put green is better so good on flow on that improvement in service.

I've noticed that my flow just goes down for a few minutes. Then comes back up. Neighbours as well. Always late at night. Not sure if they are working on something atm

konartis

Postby konartis » March 27th, 2015, 7:34 pm

Anyone have the new upgraded boxes from flow? Whats the feed back on it?

Postby DVSTT » March 27th, 2015, 8:05 pm

konartis wrote:Anyone have the new upgraded boxes from flow? Whats the feed back on it?

Didn't know there were new boxes

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » March 27th, 2015, 9:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:
brickman wrote:Strange enough my net went off for about 15 minutes tonight just before 10,as it came back on my upload light which has always been orange is now green.From all that I've read simply put green is better so good on flow on that improvement in service.

I've noticed that my flow just goes down for a few minutes. Then comes back up. Neighbours as well. Always late at night. Not sure if they are working on something atm

I've been experiencing the same, it also occurs during the day (I'm home these days). It seems sporadic but as fast as it goes out it returns. It makes streaming and gaming a bit problematic but other than that I've been getting good service, speeds are where they are supposed to be and fairly consistent.

Postby M_2NR » March 27th, 2015, 10:59 pm

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
updates probably...

cyb3rphantom

Postby cyb3rphantom » March 28th, 2015, 1:18 am

same happened to me all lights now green..wukin best since then :D

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 1st, 2015, 12:57 am

Anyone else's flow down right now

brickman

Postby brickman » April 1st, 2015, 3:10 am

Cable & internet went down from around 12:30 to 1:30 in p.o.s,they do alot of their maintenance around the after midnight hours when less people are on.Happens now & then.

Postby S_2NR » April 3rd, 2015, 1:10 pm

it look like flow blocking torrents.
bittorrent not connecting at all. this is with encryption and directly connected to modem. any ideas?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » April 3rd, 2015, 5:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:it look like flow blocking torrents.
bittorrent not connecting at all. this is with encryption and directly connected to modem. any ideas?

just tried bittorrent connects with encryption and proxy but it holds any other connection in otherwords. If you are streaming a video the stream stops and bittorrent continues running but the video stream comes to a complete stop Youtube, Netflix,Twitch, etc.
When you kill BT the stream reconnects and it reconnects almost instanteously to the moment you kill BT. So they may actually be monitoring and blocking.

Postby DVSTT » April 3rd, 2015, 5:29 pm

S_2NR wrote:it look like flow blocking torrents.

That is terrible news

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » April 3rd, 2015, 5:34 pm

has anyone had success getting flow to activate their own modem(personal modem), I'm trying to keep their service but run my own equipment but thus far they have refused to allow to use my own equipment(modem).