PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby pioneer » March 7th, 2015, 8:14 pm

There's a guy name Nick works the one in sando...he the only one who seems to know anything.

knthprks

Postby knthprks » March 8th, 2015, 11:20 am

Does anyone watercool? I have some cheap rads. Pm me for info.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 8th, 2015, 7:24 pm

Home Server build:

Components

Tyan Thunder Thunder n6650W S2915-E (S2915A2NRF-E)
2 x Opteron 2356 2.3ghz Quad Core Socket F
6 x 1gb DDR2 667Mhz ECC REG RAM
2 x 250GB Seagate Barracuda ES sataII hdds
Samsung 840 series SSD
*TESTING* Broadcom RAIDCore BC4852 - storage controller (RAID) - SATA 1.5Gb/s - PCI-X/133 MHz
*TESTING* EVGA GTX 460 2Win 2gb DDR5 pcie video card, MSI GTX 750 OC 1GB DDR5 PCIE, NVidia Quadro FX 3500 256MB DDR3, Gigabyte AMD 7950 3GB DDR5 PCIE
Samsung 16X DVDRW sata burner
NZXT Sentry 2 5 channel fan controller
Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 1000w semi modular psu
Rosewill RSV-L4000 4U rackmount server case

Cooling

2 x Thermaltake Copper CPU waterblocks with plexi top
XSPC RS360 Triple 120mm radiator
Thermaltake P500 pump + res (from Thermaltake Kandalf LCS tower)
3/8" ID Primochill tubing
Primochill coolant

Ordered the case last month and got it this week, had rest of parts already.

Inside of case top view:

The two waterblocks were corroded and oxidized so i had to clean them, took the plexi top off and soaked the blocks in white vinegar for a day. Used a paste made of table salt and vinegar to clean off the corrosion. Looks like new now.

Pic taken after cleaning (the corrosion was inside the black circular gasket and in the water channel)

Both blocks mounted on motherboard. The wiring is for the blue led corner mounted in each block.

Radiator will be mounted internally on the rear triple fan bracket behind the drives, will have to test airflow direction for the rad fans after everything is set up (blowing towards front or rear of case).

The TDP of each cpu is 75w so i don't expect much heat off both of them, cooling setup is more than capable of handling the heat dissipation.

More pics tomorrow as the build progresses. 8-)
Last edited by HCCA on March 8th, 2015, 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 8th, 2015, 7:26 pm

Impressive as usual

Nice work man

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 8th, 2015, 7:31 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Impressive as usual

Nice work man

Thanks.

The super cool thing about the build is that i got the board/cpus/copper heatiped amd heatsinks with fans/ram/raid card/Quadro gpu/4 hdds/dvdrw for $604 :mrgreen: . Didn't mind spending an $1100 for the case.

Previous owner used it as a NAS which is what i intend to use it for after i test out some apps and gaming on it.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 8th, 2015, 9:42 pm

Isn't that a bit overkill for a nas.... How many network connections does the board have??

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 8th, 2015, 10:15 pm

kamakazi wrote:Isn't that a bit overkill for a nas.... How many network connections does the board have??

(2) GbE ports/RJ-45.

I know it's overkill for a nas but i don't really have any other long term use for it. Gonna use it to learn abt server operating systems since i don't have much experience in that area.

Plan to upgrade the cpus to a pair of hex core 1.8ghz later on and add more hard drives.

kamakazi

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kamakazi » March 9th, 2015, 12:52 am

I only had an unraid NAS for a short time... Only three drives as that is what the free version is limited to and able to tolerate single drive failure only. It was fun but I was limited by network speed.... Go strong man

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 9th, 2015, 9:56 pm

Hit a lil snag today in the server build - doesn't have enough space to comfortably mount the radiator internally. :(

Gonna use this case instead for the server build since it has multiple rad support and cable management for the bigger psu:

Will use the server case for one of my gaming systems with an all in one cpu cooler so no issues there. :D

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 11th, 2015, 8:59 am

^That case huge dan lol....I like it

Reservoir came in today

went with the Maelstrom V2 instead...wasn't getting the other model. Satisfied none the less

Came with a little LED for it...not gonna be using it...aiming for a red build so gonna have to organize that

Might just put it somewhere in my other rig there that I tested it in.

^So i've obtained all the major components for the loop now...just to get me some fittings and fans for the rads :D

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 11th, 2015, 6:33 pm

^^I have too much custom liquid cooling parts yes, kinda fed up of it now since i doh overclock/benchmark again and the parts just there.

The azza case has a triple rad on top installed and a liang ddc pump connected to a swiftech micro res. Will be cooling the server cpus and an evga gtx 570.

Have abt 4 complete liquid cooling setups, only using two right now.

The nzxt kraken x60 i have go pack down a while till i feel to use it.

Was fun while it lasted yes.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 11th, 2015, 7:50 pm

Pulled the trigger and ordered the new parts

Asus x99 deluxe mobo
I7 5820k
Corsair vengeance lpx 2666 ddr4
Swiftech h240x cooler

X99 is real expensive though lol

Postby skylinechild » March 11th, 2015, 8:10 pm

jm3 wrote:Pulled the trigger and ordered the new parts

Asus x99 deluxe mobo
I7 5820k
Swiftech h240x cooler

nice parts. 8-)

Postby pioneer » March 11th, 2015, 8:51 pm

My z97 and ram in de country

Puttin together ah poverty build

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 11th, 2015, 8:57 pm

Asus x99 deluxe mobo
I7 5820k
Swiftech h240x cooler

The cpu is a damn good price for a hex core.

The rest of the parts so-so (price wise)

Hoping ddr4 go drop like how ddr3 was under $100us for a 16gb kit.

How much the swiftech run u?

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 11th, 2015, 10:13 pm

Swifttech was 169 on Amazon I like that it's basically a ready built loop that can be expanded when I'm ready. I'm just gonna wait another month before I put water blocks on the r9 290's

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 11th, 2015, 10:17 pm

The ddr4 is the killer tbh I got the 16gb kit 32 and 64gb still feels like overkill but I'm sure in the next two years 32gb will become a little more mainstream

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 11th, 2015, 10:20 pm

pioneer wrote:My z97 and ram in de country

Puttin together ah poverty build

Z97 very nearly had me in fact in single core the 4790k is outperforming the 5820k just wanted to finally have a beast build lol.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 12th, 2015, 7:03 am

jm3 wrote:The ddr4 is the killer tbh I got the 16gb kit 32 and 64gb still feels like overkill but I'm sure in the next two years 32gb will become a little more mainstream

I running 8gb minimum ram in my gaming systems, no problems so far nah.

The only system i'd upgrade to 32gb is the server board, abt $100us for an 8 x 4gb kit on ebay average. Would be better able to make use of that amount performing non gaming tasks.

Postby pioneer » March 12th, 2015, 8:07 pm

i7 4790k inbound :)

Postby DVSTT » March 12th, 2015, 8:10 pm

pioneer wrote:i7 4790k inbound :)

Nice.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 13th, 2015, 10:29 am

Good Morning

I need some help locating a decent mini/mid tower case; and by decent I mean a simple and or elegant design case from any respected name in case manufacturing

Most of the new cases have these god awful LEDs and all these silly angular cuts like they were designed to impress a 5 year old or they think that gamers like this stuff.

what happened to cases like the thermaltake Tsunami dream or the Soprano RS or even the CM 690.

anyone know where I can acquire such a case

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 13th, 2015, 11:46 am

Nice one pios what board did you go with?

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 13th, 2015, 11:48 am

Cases unfortunately are hard to source locally in Trinidad u may have to just jump out the cost and bring one in but the shipping is not for the faint of heart :(

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 13th, 2015, 11:51 am

The corsair range although expensive are normally classy and very functional.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 13th, 2015, 11:58 am

jm3 wrote:

Nice one pios what board did you go with?

Remember is a poverty build he doing so is prob not an Asus. :lol:

kamakazi wrote:Good Morning

I need some help locating a decent mini/mid tower case; and by decent I mean a simple and or elegant design case from any respected name in case manufacturing

Most of the new cases have these god awful LEDs and all these silly angular cuts like they were designed to impress a 5 year old or they think that gamers like this stuff.

what happened to cases like the thermaltake Tsunami dream or the Soprano RS or even the CM 690.

anyone know where I can acquire such a case

Amazon.

I bought two of these last year, mini itx/micro atx only because i kinda tired of the full tower case scene.

http://www.coolermaster.com/case/mini-tower/n200/

Simple design and can support a dual rad in front which is what i have set up in one of them.

Wizz have a few decent cases sometimes but the majority are the cheap mid atx cases and the flashy weird 'gaming' cases from Omega and Xtech.

On my end, the server board/dual opteron setup went inside the Azza Genesis case last night, installed Win 7 x64 Pro on it and the required drivers. WEI score is 7.5/7.5/7.5/7.5/6.9 (the 6.9 is because i didn't enable AHCI for the ssd.)

Gonna install 3dmark apps on it later and see how it holding up for gaming.

The NAS system was replaced by an Intel Core i7-2600 on an MSI Z68a-GD65 board with 8gb ddr3 1600mhz ram. Chose that option since the board has 8 sata ports already and it'll consume less power running for long periods of time. Just need a heatsink/fan for it and i'll setup the OS and stuff.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » March 13th, 2015, 1:47 pm

Asus x99 deluxe mobo
I7 5820k
Swiftech h240x cooler

Ah boy...welcome to 'the future'.

I'm interested to see what another user can squeeze out of the 5820K (if you plan to overclock).

.....and I can attest to the simplicity and functionality of the Cooler Master N200 as well.
Price is right too.
Couple that with one of their Seidon or Nepton AIOs, and you got yourself a killer combo that will support anything you can throw at it.
I used one for a while, but upgraded it to the Corsair 350D, as I needed a little more/better cable-management, and more fan support, and well, it looks nicer too. :lol:

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM(N910C) v1.0 | SwiftKey | Tapatalk v4.11.4

Postby pioneer » March 13th, 2015, 6:45 pm

I call dong ah NZXT Source 530 case...ordered tru Raptor

jm3, mobo is a Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Last edited by pioneer on March 13th, 2015, 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 13th, 2015, 7:06 pm

I will swing by Wizz tomorrow

If I were to bring it in...what kinda price are we looking at to clear it through a skybox. The CM n200 as small as it is has a listed weight of 10 pounds....and the weights for other cases kinda go up from there

Thanks for the info

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 13th, 2015, 7:20 pm

kamakazi wrote:I will swing by Wizz tomorrow

If I were to bring it in...what kinda price are we looking at to clear it through a skybox. The CM n200 as small as it is has a listed weight of 10 pounds....and the weights for other cases kinda go up from there

Thanks for the info

I paid $450 each for mine. Brought in thru raptor cuz skybox does always be a few hundred more.

I was gonna sell one of mine cheap since i doh use it but i ent really have enuff time to pack it up for sale right now.

Anyway,while i was shopping for a micro atx case, before i chose the n200, it had a Fractal Design case which was more enticing than this one in that it could take a triple rad on top. Even if u not liquid cooling, three exhaust fans still good to have.

This is it: http://www.amazon.com/Fractal-Design-Mi ... esign+mini

Back then it was $60US though.

The n200 is a very good for the price. The only thing is that the led integrated into the power button is a bright white but some boards like asrock can turn it off when the pc is running or u can just not connect the LED to the board.