CLOSED. kerosene in diesel engine.

silverfire

Re: URGENT! kerosene in diesel engine

Postby silverfire » March 5th, 2015, 3:27 pm

ADONI wrote:Not all gas stations sell Kerosene and if they do, the pump does be Blue and kind ah out of the way...

this one not out of the way...that's what mess me up. I ALWAYS use the same one but I always use the right hand side of it...both of the pumps are diesel on the right side. today there was a big truck blocking up that side so I say lemme use the left side...little did I know that only one was diesel and the other was kerosene and I automatically just pull the kerosene hose cuz it was the only one that was reaching around my SUV.

As for the colour codes...only today I learnt there was such a thing :S

Postby RBphoto » March 5th, 2015, 3:33 pm

MG Man wrote:when I now started driving diesel vehicle, ona couple occasions, I forget, and pull up by de gas pump outta habit..one day I reach as far as swipin mih credit card and grabbin de pump...hardest part was puttin it back and movin de van widout feelin dotish :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

hARD FOR ME TO NOT FEEL DOTISH :(

silverfire

Postby silverfire » March 5th, 2015, 3:36 pm

For those who asking how I can make this mistake. Both pumps or whatever u call them are diesel. I only use the right side of the first one cuz my tank is on the left side of the suv. Today i used the left side and automatically assumed that both hoses on that side was diesel....but as u can see one was kerosene.....for those to be cautious...this is medford on the flyover in chaguanas.
1425584032327.jpg

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2015, 3:58 pm

they waste a whole main line spot with a kero pump

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » March 5th, 2015, 4:00 pm

Advent wrote::| empty it and put diesel

Seems legit!

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » March 5th, 2015, 4:03 pm

silverfire wrote:it was 1/4 tank. southern sales said to wreck it and bring it to them :( I'm sure someone on the outside can drain it but since it's a new engine we wanna be sure

Its under warranty so DO NOT let anyone touch your vehicle. They will void your warranty. As long as the vehicle isn't started and its drained it will be fine.

Postby DVSTT » March 5th, 2015, 4:06 pm

krb4788 wrote:
silverfire wrote:it was 1/4 tank. southern sales said to wreck it and bring it to them :( I'm sure someone on the outside can drain it but since it's a new engine we wanna be sure

Its under warranty so DO NOT let anyone touch your vehicle. They will void your warranty. As long as the vehicle isn't started and its drained it will be fine.

Please let us know what they charge you. Also what vehicle is it?

Postby j.o.e » March 5th, 2015, 4:08 pm

pugboy wrote:they waste a whole main line spot with a kero pump

This

Postby Redman » March 5th, 2015, 6:00 pm

pugboy wrote:they waste a whole main line spot with a kero pump

You would be surprised the volume of Kero that will sell.

Op in this instance the only thing to worry bout is the warranty.

The engine will be fine.

I've run 100% Kero in a brand new Ranger with no issues.

You could run a deisel additive just to be ultra cautious.

Postby rspann » March 5th, 2015, 6:18 pm

To be safe next time,watch the colour of the nozzle,red for,super white for premium,diesel is black I think and kerosene grey. To be sure check it when you go to the gas station because I'm just saying from memory,but there is a difference.

Postby DVSTT » March 5th, 2015, 6:31 pm

rspann wrote:To be safe next time,watch the colour of the nozzle,red for,super white for premium,diesel is black I think and kerosene grey. To be sure check it when you go to the gas station because I'm just saying from memory,but there is a difference.

I filled premium in my van once. 0-$100 so fast.... :(

Postby pete » March 5th, 2015, 7:03 pm

That pump also used to print out kerosene on the credit card slip when you put diesel. Sure you put kero?

Nissan Forever

Postby Nissan Forever » March 5th, 2015, 9:52 pm

Nothing will happen to your engine it will just clean your injectors

Postby black start » March 6th, 2015, 12:32 am

Nissan Forever wrote:Nothing will happen to your engine it will just clean your injectors

you have documented proof of this?

jasp

Postby jasp » March 6th, 2015, 7:17 am

I saw someone make that same mistake at medford gas station. Both pumps are similar in colour. One black and one grey. Btw why do we need a kero pump...

jasp

Postby jasp » March 6th, 2015, 7:19 am

South of the bridge really different yes..

Postby black start » March 6th, 2015, 9:41 am

jasp wrote:I saw someone make that same mistake at medford gas station. Both pumps are similar in colour. One black and one grey. Btw why do we need a kero pump...

pich oail stove pich oail frige fuh d light fud d boat etc

Postby sliderz1 » March 6th, 2015, 12:59 pm

TD27 E24. Arima to POS 100% kero. gave it quite some pep

drain the tank and pump in some diesel.
/problems

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 7th, 2015, 10:29 am

rspann wrote:To be safe next time,watch the colour of the nozzle,red for,super white for premium,diesel is black I think and kerosene grey. To be sure check it when you go to the gas station because I'm just saying from memory,but there is a difference.

When not absolutely sure it is best to not comment killa.... red is super, white is premium, grey is diesel and blue is kero

Postby DVSTT » March 7th, 2015, 10:43 am

randolphinshan wrote:

When not absolutely sure it is best to not comment killa.... red is super, white is premium, grey is diesel and blue is kero

Diesel nozzle sometimes us white and sometimes is muddy yellow/gray colour. It's best to look for the sign.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » March 7th, 2015, 12:41 pm

Wat gas station is this?

silverfire

Postby silverfire » March 8th, 2015, 9:50 pm

For those who wanted to know, it cost $800 to drain and service and change filter and what not. Took very long to drain. Did not go to Southern Sales, we used a diesel engine technician. Thankfully it did not damage the pump.

*Issue closed*

Re: CLOSED. kerosene in diesel engine.

Postby DVSTT » March 8th, 2015, 9:53 pm

silverfire wrote:For those who wanted to know, it cost $800 to drain and service and change filter and what not. Took very long to drain. Did not go to Southern Sales, we used a diesel engine technician. Thankfully it did not damage the pump.

*Issue closed*

Congrats. 800 is alot though.

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Yuh Shudna tell southern sales anything tho. Look how they gonna bring this up to get out of any warranty liabilities in future

Postby DVSTT » March 8th, 2015, 11:01 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Yuh Shudna tell southern sales anything tho. Look how they gonna bring this up to get out of any warranty liabilities in future

OP : "My front wheel assembly fell apart!"
SS Rep; " Gosh I want to help you but remember that time you filled kerosene in to the tank? Seems to have voided your warranty"

Postby black start » March 8th, 2015, 11:06 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Yuh Shudna tell southern sales anything tho. Look how they gonna bring this up to get out of any warranty liabilities in future

same thing I was thinking....

Also, $800?

To drain, refill and change some filters?

I hope that included the parts and the fuel...

silverfire

Postby silverfire » March 9th, 2015, 8:48 am

Yes it did. As for all the annoying warranty comments, the warranty is over.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 9th, 2015, 9:26 am

Me seh Fyah fi you

kerosene fyah owah... :lol:

Postby RBphoto » March 9th, 2015, 10:08 am

Fyah in yuh wata!!

nigelphagoo