Retaining Walls

kevinknr

Retaining Walls

Postby kevinknr » September 27th, 2014, 7:54 pm

Hi all. Anyone ever had to build a retaining wall? How much did it cost you?

I ask because I may have to build a retaining wall for my house (60ft wide). It's on a sloping hill.

Re: Retaining Walls

Postby Ted_v2 » September 27th, 2014, 8:52 pm

I have too do one myself. Estimates for material cost less than the material by quite a bit.

Jet

Postby Jet » September 27th, 2014, 9:27 pm

Saw my fren did one for her house it cost her $27, 000.00 16 inch concrete block some long steel an dey sending concrete In between the block holes. Plenty work plenty money

sramnarase

Postby sramnarase » September 27th, 2014, 10:13 pm

I also have to build one 62ft across. I hope that through this thread we all get the perfect price from the perfect person/company.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 27th, 2014, 10:57 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:I have too do one myself. Estimates for material cost less than the material by quite a bit.

What???

Postby gt4tified » September 27th, 2014, 11:06 pm

My cousin is a contractor and he has done quite a bit of retaining walls. From what I've seen, you don't want any and any contractor building this. If not done to proper specification, it could be disastrous. A good retaining wall is an investment because, put simply, it is there to save your property...and yes, they do cost a bit of money.

From listening to him if I had to construct one, its not something I would want to cut corners on...so be careful about people peddling to be "cheaper than the rest". Jet summed it up well...plenty work, plenty money. lol

Postby Ted_v2 » September 27th, 2014, 11:27 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:I have too do one myself. Estimates for material cost less than the material by quite a bit.

What???

now saw what i posted, sleepy as forq.

what i ment to say was the the estimate for the material cost less than the labour.

labour was basically 45k vs 30k for material.

some ideas i was thinking off is using a set of boulders in cages, and making platforms like steps.

another is meshing the bricks, with 5/8rods and a platform and filling the blocks go up.
two rows across and one across

a next brilliant idea is getting some logs and using them, stacking them like
o||
o||
o||

if its really a big structure rent a cement mixer vs using guys to mix it, more consistent

also saw a few tyre walls already seem to work.

bottom line get someone who know what they doing and qualified.

matix

Postby matix » September 27th, 2014, 11:47 pm

Yes the labor costs more than the materials. A retaining wall done properly must be auger piled, lots of steel work and cages, those concrete trucks are a big help but not everyone can afford it. And location determines if it can be used. Most importantly you need some hard working fellas to do that type of work. I recently did a retaining wall at my home including drainage to prevent further mishaps. So if you're interested in getting a quotation and advice you can pm me.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 28th, 2014, 10:06 am

1) Where is the site located?
2) What is the height of material to be retained?
3) Is the land behind the retaining wall sloping or flat? If it is sloping, what is the slope?
4) Is the land in front the retaining wall sloping or flat?
5) Is the land behind the retaining wall unused? Is there a road or other structure that will apply a surcharge load to the retaining wall?

Answer those questions first. Then you will know what type of retaining wall can be used for your situation. Then you can get cost estimates. There are too many uncertainties in the information provided by the OP.

Kindest Regards,

Rory Phoulorie, R.Eng.

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2014, 12:48 pm

easy man, use the big concrete blocks with steel rods vertically and pour concrete in holes
put some pvc here and there to drain the water
you can see how they constructed one by country club

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » September 28th, 2014, 5:55 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:1) Where is the site located?
3) Is the land behind the retaining wall sloping or flat? If it is sloping, what is the slope?
5) Is the land behind the retaining wall unused? Is there a road or other structure that will apply a surcharge load to the retaining wall?

Answer those questions first. Then you will know what type of retaining wall can be used for your situation. Then you can get cost estimates. There are too many uncertainties in the information provided by the OP.

Kindest Regards,

Rory Phoulorie, R.Eng.

So only Rory have it right!

The retaining wall can be cheap or expensive based on the concept used. It can only be determined by the factor Rory outline. To add a few more considerations:

1- What type of soil?
2- Can the land just get bench and trees planted?
3- Is it close for the roadway, river, ocean, neighbour, etc
4- It it before or after Caroni?
5- The type of drainage to be used
6- Should the wall be "cant" or "batter", sloping back a bit
7- Auger to be considered

Pm me for site visit!

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » September 29th, 2014, 10:25 pm

Thanks all. Appreciated.

Will PM you, Rory.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 1st, 2014, 7:20 pm

Postby gt4tified » October 1st, 2014, 10:26 pm

Interesting Vega...I wonder what the compressive strength is like since it loses symmetry along one axis and the overall traditional rectangular shape. They should patent the design and sell it to clay block manufacturers.

Postby The_Honourable » October 1st, 2014, 11:12 pm

Good info here, especially by Rory and Norton.

Make sure your contractor augurs deep enough into the soil and "caps" the top of the wall. You want to see the holes being filled with concrete before capping.

According to your budget and type of wall you are going to build, don't stick using corrugated steel.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » October 2nd, 2014, 1:34 pm

Is Town and Country approval needed for the construction of a retaining wall and back filling of land?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 2nd, 2014, 1:50 pm

The ron blocks are good innovation to build a retaining wall, but it still remains a jointed system, the best thing to build a retaining wall with is soild reinforced concrete, once poured, compacted and cured properly I foresee a long life span.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » October 2nd, 2014, 1:57 pm

33 hertz wrote:Is Town and Country approval needed for the construction of a retaining wall and back filling of land?

It depends on where? However, if there is a risk that your house can fall, individuals get harm for a dramatic land slip, you can take corrective actions while seeking approvals..

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » October 2nd, 2014, 2:00 pm

Land is currently vacant but there is a steep drop off on the last 20ft. Wanted to put a retaining wall and back fill so by next year it should be completed/settled so I can start building.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 2nd, 2014, 2:05 pm

Norton12005 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:1) Where is the site located?

Kindest Regards,

Rory Phoulorie, R.Eng.

So only Rory have it right!

The retaining wall can be cheap or expensive based on the concept used. It can only be determined by the factor Rory outline. To add a few more considerations:

1- What type of soil?
2- Can the land just get bench and trees planted?
3- Is it close for the roadway, river, ocean, neighbour, etc
4- It it before or after Caroni?
5- The type of drainage to be used
6- Should the wall be "cant" or "batter", sloping back a bit
7- Auger to be considered

Pm me for site visit!

angle of repose of soil.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » October 2nd, 2014, 2:05 pm

33 hertz wrote:Land is currently vacant but there is a steep drop off on the last 20ft. Wanted to put a retaining wall and back fill so by next year it should be completed/settled so I can start building.

What length you estimate the retaining wall would be? A site visit is the most practical thing to do though!

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » October 2nd, 2014, 2:17 pm

lost to all,

Most individuals, really just interested in getting their wall build, and really not into the considerations identified above. A site visit follow by a quotation and project duration is the best way out.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 2nd, 2014, 2:27 pm

OP, you got some good advice from Rory and Norton. For their sensible input you should consider acquiring their services since paying them a small consultation fee up front will save you lots in the long run.
Too many "must have" and "best" comments here. It all depends on your particular situation and budget. It's possible that the best thing to do might be to build somewhere else but it may not be the ideal solution for you.
Just seek and listen to sensible advice, do some reading online to verify what is being said like search "must all retaining walls be auger piled", don't listen to what you want to hear only.
Depending on the design, I may not consider hand mix or even renting a concrete mixer. The concrete truck gives a measured consistent mix with inherent double checks (you have another party that must also protect their interest which may not correspond with the contractors best interest), workmen get tired and may take shortcuts (mix the concrete with too much water so it will mix easier and run faster, fill trenches/ block holes with dirt so it will take less concrete etc.)

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 2nd, 2014, 3:19 pm

Norton12005 wrote:lost to all,

Most individuals, really just interested in getting their wall build, and really not into the considerations identified above. A site visit follow by a quotation and project duration is the best way out.

lol, guess you don't know what angle of repose is. Google is ur friend buddy, I worked in engineering soils lab and a construction lab. So I know a little. Relax yuhself dan!

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » October 2nd, 2014, 3:52 pm

lost to all wrote:

lol, guess you don't know what angle of repose is. Google is ur friend buddy, I worked in engineering soils lab and a construction lab. So I know a little. Relax yuhself dan!

Lol, good one, I would try google as you suggested but look below first.

A.s.c, B.sc, Ba(Hons), Mba, and next Sept Dba
Last edited by Norton12005 on October 2nd, 2014, 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 2nd, 2014, 5:13 pm

You really ought to have a professional conduct a site visit to determine what are your needs. Some people charge, others don't.

I have a preference for mechanically stabilised earth (MSE) walls. They don't require much excavation and are quick to construct once you have an experienced contractor. I have designed and supervised the construction of MSE walls (using a combination of soil/rock anchors and geogrid) both in the north and in the south of Trinidad. It can be used in all types of soils. They are very beautiful as the ones I have designed have used the Allan Block from Bestcrete as a facing.

Postby 88sins » October 3rd, 2014, 12:42 pm

i put up a retaining wall about 4 yrs ago. 95'x10'x4' tapered to 2' wall on 5.5' wide by 6 deep foundation.
Cost me about 92k labor & material.

yuh hadda spend money to protect yuh investments

eltoro

Postby eltoro » October 6th, 2014, 9:33 am

Some excellent advise from Rory. Is there any specific recommendations for up-slope drainage, holes, rubble drainage? Whereas I did a rubble drain, condition of slope when rain stared to fall required me to quickly back-fill. All in all would have preferred to prep the up-slope side better - waterproofing etc.
Kevinknr - perhaps may not apply to you but when I moved my retaining wall 12 feet up-slope (excavating flat to the back) I had less back-filling to do and a lot more basement space so. Larger decking cost a bit more but offset by savings from much less back-fill.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 7th, 2014, 7:29 am

Norton12005 wrote:
lost to all wrote:

Lol, good one, I would try google as you suggested but look below first.

A.s.c, B.sc, Ba(Hons), Mba, and next Sept Dba

you is ah boss! LOL! somebody fraid you! steupps!

am156

Postby am156 » February 22nd, 2015, 3:16 pm

I'm looking for someone to build a 100ft retaining wall...I need a quotation from the person upfront. Can anyone provide me with some contact numbers for trusted builders.