Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby UML » February 18th, 2015, 8:00 pm

I figure is just the type of salt. Looks terrible but the fish surviving. I guess it will settle in a couple days. Back to Reef Crystals when it done :lol::lol::lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 18th, 2015, 8:02 pm

OK................ until raj stop bringing RC, I aint changing from it. Just over 4yrs and counting.
I not complaining

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 18th, 2015, 8:34 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
TheSpecialOne wrote:Morning guys. Tank has been running 8 months now and still not seeing any coraline. Is there anything i can do to help the process ?

I realize guys ask the same question all the time and don't read the lots and lots of posts we (tuners) put up about water parameters.
Lighting has a lot to do with coralline, with that being said, what lights you running. T5's, halides and most LEDS will grow coralline like crazy. 3watt LEDS, [b](NOT THE 1watt)[/b]
Other key thing is what are your ALK (8-12 dKH), CAL (350-450ppm) and magnesium (1250-1350ppm). If these things are off you will never grow coralline. Are you dosing Alk and Cal on a daily basis? Depending on water volume, If you doing basic water changes and you have corals, the Alk & Cal in the water can be absorbed by your coral and not sustaining coralline growth. I dose two part daily (6 X daily) so as to avoid a fluctuation in Alk & Cal readings and I have coralline growing like crazy over everything.........pumps, rock, class cleaners, glass, snails...........everything. I started dosing when my tank was 3-4mths old and within the first mth, coralline took off. That's nearly 4 yrs now.

So specialone, whats you ALK, CAL & MAG readings

bir123

Postby bir123 » February 18th, 2015, 8:34 pm

Anyone has raj nb I had it but lost it .

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 18th, 2015, 8:36 pm

744-8768 Raj

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 18th, 2015, 8:52 pm

Anyone have a number for a reliable aquarium man? I swear glass ppl are the least reliable ppl...

bir123

Postby bir123 » February 18th, 2015, 8:59 pm

Thanks Honda

Postby UML » February 19th, 2015, 5:49 am

Anybody ever bring down T5 bulbs with their skybox?

Cloudiness in tank clearing up this morning.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 19th, 2015, 9:48 pm

^^^^ a few years ago I know a few people who tried it and they didn't make it. Don't know how packaging is now these days. Bulbs real delicate. Would love to get some Giesemann bulbs.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 21st, 2015, 2:11 pm

UML wrote:Anybody ever bring down T5 bulbs with their skybox?

I brought down some with my skybox when I still had T5. The repackaged it in some Styrofoam wrap and really thick cardboard and it was fine when it arrived.
If you're buying it online just find a supplier you can rely on not like Amazon and so on. Small petshops will package it like that and ship to you once you tell them.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 21st, 2015, 5:19 pm

Good on the info.......... will let my cousin buy my bulbs and package it and send it to my skybox.
Going and try the Giesemann bulbs. Heard real good stuff on them

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 21st, 2015, 6:15 pm

Anyone ever used the Dr Tim's Waste-away?

http://www.drtimsaquatics.com/natural-aquarium-cleaner

Postby UML » February 21st, 2015, 8:38 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
UML wrote:Anybody ever bring down T5 bulbs with their skybox?

I brought down some with my skybox when I still had T5. The repackaged it in some Styrofoam wrap and really thick cardboard and it was fine when it arrived.
If you're buying it online just find a supplier you can rely on not like Amazon and so on. Small petshops will package it like that and ship to you once you tell them.

Thank you. I was considering to buy from marinedepot or bulkreefsupply.

So are you using LEDs now? If so, how do you compare them to T5?

I seriously considering going to LED but afraid I regret it.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 21st, 2015, 8:57 pm

UML about a year after I started my tank I decided to get into corals so that's when I bought a chiller and changed my lights.
So for the first year all I had was 2 T5 bulbs for my 100gal which was good enough for my fish only system. The t5 lighting I used was also diy setup.
So I can't compare coral growth and colour and stuff like that.
But so far I love my LEDs and have been getting great results.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 21st, 2015, 11:38 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Anyone ever used the Dr Tim's Waste-away?

Tried their products when I was initially cycling my 150. Expensive but worked pretty good actually.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2015, 1:37 am

^^^^ I talking about the sludge remover........ not the bacteria.
Thanks though

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2015, 12:39 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Anyone ever used the Dr Tim's Waste-away?

I actually used it for the first time a few months ago. I used their Clear - up product before and that worked really well so when I saw this by raj I just had to try it.
It cleaned my sand bed immediately and after a couple days the tank did seem significantly cleaner. In between the rocks were clean as if I blew it out with a powerhead. My skimmer also worked double time with this too. I didn't expect this kind of results so I didn't take before and after shots.

The corals did lose slight colour but after a couple days they were back to normal. I still have a bottle and wouldn't hesitate to use it again.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2015, 12:40 pm

^^Although it dissolves the waste... You should also have a good skimmer and good water flow to help this product work even better.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2015, 1:49 pm

Ok cool. Thanks.
I stop using a skimmer about 5-6mths now so I will have to do research on it.
Took it out to clean it and never put it back

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2015, 2:05 pm

What?? Loll
Guessing you do weekly water changes?
That's a good setup without the skimmer though.
If you're selling that skimmer let me know!! :grin:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2015, 2:21 pm

I still do mthly 50gal water changes, still feed 5-8 times daily, still dose coral food daily and no issues. Still have the grouper in the sump and feeding him heavy. Had a cyano outbreak about 1 wk ago because one of my powerheads konk out. Used chemiclean and in 2 days it was totally gone. Bought down 2 koralias this week with me and things good.
That skimmer is ah boss. Not selling that at all. That going in the fish room. Will need it there.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2015, 2:40 pm

^^That's 50gals weekly?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2015, 3:08 pm

[quote="HondaB20B"]I still do mthly 50gal water changes, quote]

let me put it the other way.......... I change 50 gal every month..................LOL.
And also I missed a water change last mth. But that's my regular thing
Last edited by HondaB20B on February 22nd, 2015, 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 22nd, 2015, 3:13 pm

Just a pic of my fowlr system... still haven't gotten the new tank... glass man rel unreliable
1424632324182.jpg

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2015, 5:13 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:I still do mthly 50gal water changes, quote]

let me put it the other way.......... I change 50 gal every month..................LOL.
And also I missed a water change last mth. But that's my regular thing

Honda the guru :shock:
Lol my little tank gets a 50gal change monthly lol ik it's a big change but I'm just comfortable with doing a much larger water change. And my skimmer is about 3/4 full at the end of every month lol that's with feeding twice daily, sometimes once.

I'm pretty sure I don't need that big of a water change since my skimmer does a good job and my nitrates & phosphates are always 0. But I have to find the balls to not do the water change or remove the skimmer yes lol. That's a risk I'll do without

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2015, 6:56 pm

Me aint no GURU pal......................LOL
And imagine both my nitrates and phosphates are undetectable. I don't get any type of algae growth in the main tank whatso ever. I stop using Phosbhan remove mustbe close to a year now. I still running the 12 - T5's and I love them. Only prob I have is the excess silt in the main tank. will try the Dr Tims this week maybe.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2015, 7:21 pm

Welcome to the forum kyhamil.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 22nd, 2015, 7:41 pm

Thanks... been following for awhile... still trying to figure out a gd light for my 3 ft 20 deep tank... honestly I doh wanna spend more than 200us atm... but if I have to id wait a month or 2 so I can raise the price

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2015, 8:16 pm

^^^^ I have numerous tanks and my first tank which is over 5 yrs running (4ft -75gal) and it actually came with 4 - T5 lighting. They blew out and I end up replacing them with the marineland LED's. They not growing the easy corals that I find simple in my reef tank but will work great as a FWOLR. Its 1watt led's. Its ok in the tank for now. Think I running it like about 7-8mths. Its not the best but it works. Both white and blue lights. Has its own timer built in.

http://www.amazon.com/Marineland-Double ... neland+led

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 22nd, 2015, 8:17 pm

Buy 2 and run them side by side