Filling cracks in Concrete Floor

kevinknr

Filling cracks in Concrete Floor

Postby kevinknr » February 12th, 2015, 11:57 am

I have quite a few cracks in the concrete flooring behind my house that I want to get filled. They vary in thickness, none wider than 4 mm.

Should I use sharp sand or building sand in the mixture? Also, what about gravel?

Sundar

Re: Filling cracks in Concrete Floor

Postby Sundar » February 12th, 2015, 11:59 am

there is a concrete filler, or caulk

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 12th, 2015, 12:09 pm

there are epoxy based fillers that come in small pails or in a dispenser similar to silicone that you use a gun to apply

Check FT Farfan

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » February 12th, 2015, 1:10 pm

^^ That's a product called ETI LV supplied by SCL- 675-5555

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 12th, 2015, 3:20 pm

Sounds interesting .Will this stop grass from growing in these cracks?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 12th, 2015, 3:33 pm

I am not an engineer or builder but it is very hard to get concrete to join and already set surface . SCL has some products and there are various caulking items that may fit that purpose . On the local front some masons swear by poly V .

I remember seeing a rubber product from IRP that should also do the job .

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » February 12th, 2015, 4:05 pm

There's a port injection system that you could use with the ETI-LV. You have to drill the concrete and insert the ports, then inject the epoxy.

Postby shogun » February 12th, 2015, 8:12 pm

shotta 20 wrote:^^ That's a product called ETI LV supplied by SCL- 675-5555

Is that stuff ideal for sealing cracked plant pots as well shotta?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 13th, 2015, 10:24 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:there are epoxy based fillers that come in small pails or in a dispenser similar to silicone that you use a gun to apply

Check FT Farfan

Hmm. I've got some pits on a surface, wondering if this would work or just redo the surface.

Even though it's been recast a couple times already.

Postby sliderz1 » February 13th, 2015, 12:27 pm

bhagwansighs had an ACE product that is sold in a bucket.

Anton

Postby Anton » February 13th, 2015, 9:10 pm

Try hydraulic cement.

Postby sliderz1 » February 13th, 2015, 9:12 pm

^^thats the name of it

Postby nervewrecker » February 14th, 2015, 11:21 am

Nice.
I like this thread

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » February 14th, 2015, 11:46 am

This thread should be stickied under tab "home improvement ".

We home owners / new / existing always have maintenance to do on various parts of the property.

Twist thread a little

I am presently looking for a efficient remedy for killing those 8 legged freaks who keep making incessant webs all over the window edges and under the eves

Tried peppermint oil but...

Postby maj. tom » February 14th, 2015, 12:48 pm

Just use a broom and sweep away the webs when you're cleaning. If you didn't have spiders you would notice very soon just how many insects they keep in check in your house. Unless you're talking about an excess invasion of spiders?

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » February 14th, 2015, 5:22 pm

I clean webs weekly and they just keep making more , I know they maintain the insect population but not in my house. Haha.....

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » February 14th, 2015, 7:35 pm

Try PC CONCRETE very effective. Sold at Bhagwansighns

low-profile

Postby low-profile » February 15th, 2015, 2:59 pm

i've used regular thinset for tiling to fill some cracks in concrete. worked good so far for me

York

Postby York » February 16th, 2015, 10:20 pm

some of those products may be expensive and possibly not intended for small back yard household cracks. might want to consider plaster mix with d fibre business or chip d crack, make it bigger so whatever yuh mix and fill will have enough surface area to contact and hold strong. poly V with a strong sand mix might be good too.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » February 18th, 2015, 1:25 pm

Thanks all. I found out that poly v was used before but the cracks opened up again. Thinking of trying an epoxy filler as suggested by duane and mark.

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2015, 2:23 pm

keep in mind if the slab was not properly setup with steel etc to reinforce and keep together

the natural expansion/contraction could very likely make same cracks reappear even after filling with epoxy.

York

Postby York » February 18th, 2015, 7:24 pm

Concrete doesn't join and yuh cyar glue it together. Steel reinforcement and prior compaction if not properly done...yuh will have to live with cracks and just fill them as they appear or widen.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » June 15th, 2016, 11:03 am

Ok. So i finally got around to buying the PC concrete. Got a tube for $150 in a Couva Hardware. A few dollars cheaper than Bhagwansinghs.

I may need to buy more as the cracks have significantly widened. My fault for taking so long to patch them.

Anyway, most hardwares have something called Plasti Filler or something like that. Price ranges from 700-800 a bag. Supposed to mix with poly v and fill cracks. Anyone have experience with plasti filler? Is it any good?

Postby DVSTT » June 15th, 2016, 1:20 pm

In for info