Hyperion

Street Racers and Drunk Drivers beware

Postby Hyperion » February 6th, 2015, 6:16 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Big ... 75441.html

$$ Penalties increased for drunk driving, street racing

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service is advising that, effective January 30, the fines related to drunk driving, speeding and driving without a permit, have been increased. The following are the new penalties.

Motorists who drive drunk will now have to pay steep fines ranging from $12,000 to $22,500.
These new fines went into effect on January 30th 2015, with the amendment to the Motor Vehicle Road Traffic Act. Chapter 48:5 (MVRTA), which increased the penalties on existing road traffic offences.
A person will be liable under the Act once their breath alcohol level is in excess of 35 micro grammes.
The increased penalties under the MVRTA as amended are as follows:
Under Section 42 (1) persons Driving Without a valid Driver’s Permit can pay an increased fine of $1500 from the previous band of $500 - $1000.
For exceeding the speed limit, that fine has been increased from $4,000 to $6,000.
Under Section 70 (1) Driving under the Influence of Liquor, the fine has moved from $8,000 to $12,000 for a first conviction. In cases of repeat offenders, the fine can range from $15,000 to $22,500.
The other revised fines under Section 70 of the MVRTA are as follows:
· Section 70 B (5) Fails to Provide Breath Specimen fine increased from $8,000 to $12,000 for first conviction.
· Section 70 C(6)c & d Fails to Provide Breath or Attempts to Alter Specimen for Analysis fine increased from $8,000 to $12,000 for first conviction and from $15,000 to $22,500 for second conviction.
· Section 70 E (1) Refusal to Provide Blood Sample for Analysis fine increased from $8,000 to $12,000 for first conviction and from $15,000 to $22,500 for second conviction.
Sober Zones
In the interest of public safety, the DUI Task Force of the TTPS in collaboration with Arrive Alive will continue to conduct voluntary alcohol breath testing at Sober Zones set up at certain pre and post Carnival events including the Ash Wednesday beach parties.

Re: Street Racers and Drunk Drivers beware

Postby K74T » February 6th, 2015, 6:26 pm

Lol, so speeding is considered to be street racing?

Postby skylinechild » February 6th, 2015, 6:45 pm

^^ you are considered to be speeding when yuh car have 20 inch croam rims..loud fart cannon exhaust..suspex decal on the front, more HID light than the rajed out vigo. custom paint job that included a lil refliective strip..blacked out taillights and drivin at 140kmh

Postby DVSTT » February 6th, 2015, 6:56 pm

skylinechild wrote:^^ you are considered to be speeding when yuh car have 20 inch croam rims..loud fart cannon exhaust..suspex decal on the front, more HID light than the rajed out vigo. custom paint job that included a lil refliective strip..blacked out taillights and drivin at 140kmh

I heard people use more colourful words to describe drivers of such vehicles.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » February 6th, 2015, 7:22 pm

Deez just my opinion...

Approx 33k cars registered in 2014 at an approx cost of $30k each. That leaves us at $990,000,000.00. The country must run. I understand that, but are we really spending to ease traffick congestion in our cities...

And dey imposing more ridiculously priced fines...

Postby tr1ad » February 6th, 2015, 7:35 pm

Ridiculous prices fines you say? I wish it was higher.... Better deterrent

Postby Redman » February 6th, 2015, 8:02 pm

So does the act speak about enforcement?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 6th, 2015, 8:18 pm

^^^ as usual no, and that is the downfall in this banana republic, no enforcement of any laws.

Postby 1UZFE » February 6th, 2015, 8:33 pm

removing some decals n stickers from meh farteen.. Dem ting does make d cyar tooo fassup..
who wah ah extra 10hp?
Calvin_Peeing.jpg

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » February 6th, 2015, 8:39 pm

this is just more revenue generating scams ,for currupt politicians and public officials,to continue to plunder the treasury . the quality of our roads are not improving and we have never had intelligent/common sense law enforcement officers. for all the haters i don't drink and drive.

Postby DVSTT » February 6th, 2015, 9:13 pm

Hirotoshi wrote:this is just more revenue generating scams ,for currupt politicians and public officials,to continue to plunder the treasury . the quality of our roads are not improving and we have never had intelligent/common sense law enforcement officers. for all the haters i don't drink and drive.

I don't think this was done in an effort to make money. If they wanted to make money wouldn't have been more financially lucrative to increase alcohol and tobacco taxes?

Postby pioneer » February 6th, 2015, 9:59 pm

I guess this too is gonna turn into a 10 page thread talking about fog lights and hid's.

Postby DVSTT » February 6th, 2015, 10:21 pm

pioneer wrote:I guess this too is gonna turn into a 10 page thread talking about fog lights and hid's.

Yea

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » February 7th, 2015, 12:55 am

So rather than spend some of we tax money and employ more police presence to enforce these laws, they raise the fines to scare people and make money........and they say the government chupid.

Postby mero » February 7th, 2015, 1:15 am

Popo gonna benefit the most from this

So instead of a lil $400 vex money wrap up in the Insurance for the officer, new vex money hadda jump up to lil $3-4000 minimum now boy?

Postby DVSTT » February 7th, 2015, 7:33 am

mero wrote:Popo gonna benefit the most from this

So instead of a lil $400 vex money wrap up in the Insurance for the officer, new vex money hadda jump up to lil $3-4000 minimum now boy?

Popo hadda eat too

Postby j.o.e » February 7th, 2015, 8:07 am

Nothing gonna change until the radar guns implemented. Fyaahz will be geed

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » February 9th, 2015, 9:16 am

wat about those said officers with G5 tint an fog lights and hid's. also blacked out taillights and drivin at 140kmh
you know they never get stopped or questioned!!

nismo/trd fanatics

Postby nismo/trd fanatics » February 9th, 2015, 9:48 am

We should vote ilp and tell jack if we vote for he if he go bring down the fines to low cost

Postby j.o.e » February 9th, 2015, 3:40 pm

matthew2730mvp wrote:wat about those said officers with G5 tint an fog lights and hid's. also blacked out taillights and drivin at 140kmh

sour grapes..... doh beat up. Sound like you want G5 tint,hid's etc

Postby tr1ad » February 9th, 2015, 4:17 pm

ent?!

TriniC6

Postby TriniC6 » February 9th, 2015, 4:57 pm

I guess the Politicians and law enforcement officers are going to get richer than the licensing officers now, they will be collecting more bribe for offences than the licensing officers collecting for favours at the licensing offices, especially getting a 2 & 3 digits plate.
The laws in Trinidad and Tobago need to revised and we need to stop using the old English laws, we need to think about the future of our kids and the Island.
The people will need to get into action and start a protest about the laws and the traffic condition, we the people are the power of our country, but only if we the people wants to get together and change what is wrong, unity is strength and United we stand, divided we will fall and let the law officers keep control and treat us all like 5 yeas old kids.

Postby pioneer » February 9th, 2015, 7:09 pm

matthew2730mvp wrote:wat about those said officers with G5 tint an fog lights and hid's. also blacked out taillights and drivin at 140kmh

oh boy :roll:

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » February 9th, 2015, 7:36 pm

j.o.e wrote:

of course he must be sour. what good for one should be good for all.

Postby DVSTT » February 9th, 2015, 7:38 pm

oh boy :roll:

You mean to say local officials corrupt?
So new and exciting.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » February 9th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Maybe cause dem said officers ha ting to hide & need to get away quick, especially at nights...

Postby j.o.e » February 9th, 2015, 9:52 pm

badmanbopeep wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Well take ticket in allyuh MC!

pluggie

Postby pluggie » February 10th, 2015, 3:00 am

Hirotoshi wrote:this is just more revenue generating scams ,for currupt politicians and public officials,to continue to plunder the treasury . the quality of our roads are not improving and we have never had intelligent/common sense law enforcement officers. for all the haters i don't drink and drive.

And yet rasholes find it easy to drive at 120km/h in back roads

Postby DVSTT » February 10th, 2015, 6:38 am

pluggie wrote:

And yet rasholes find it easy to drive at 120km/h in back roads

Depending on how much stickers you have, 120 might reach quick

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » February 11th, 2015, 11:39 am

j.o.e wrote:
badmanbopeep wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Well take ticket in allyuh MC!

the way you responding gives the impression like you are a victim the police
1 of my points is that No 1 is above the LAW, but only good for a certain section in society!!