Gate Safety Legislation///// boy killed by falling gate

Re: Gate Safety Legislation///// boy killed by falling gate

Postby desifemlove » February 1st, 2015, 9:00 pm

ban retarded trinis........would leave a population of 5,000, but so what? more land to build large house.....

john005

Postby john005 » February 1st, 2015, 9:19 pm

pugboy wrote:
a safer gate would have the guide on a post on the inner side(non-road) of the gate
this way the gate is sandwiched between the wall post and guide support post.

Not quite true...
90 % of gates in Trinidad are designed this way. Problem is many of them have an open top where water collects and erodes the post at the base but on the inside where it cannot be seen. It's too late to notice until the gate comes crashing down, usually while in motion. This has happened to my brother gate. He was lucky. A better design is to have the gate secured at 2 points. One at the top and second at the mid-way point but on the inside like suggested. This way if one point fails the other acts as a back-up... My 2 cents...

Postby UML » February 1st, 2015, 9:30 pm

Really fed up hearing of children being killed by gates.

What I have to ask is, why d fcuk wud a person build or want a gate that was heavy enough to kill or break bones?!!!

What u have to guard so that ur gate must be big and heavy?

God forbid that my gate should fall on anyone but I doubt it cud kill anyone.

Postby Redman » February 1st, 2015, 9:42 pm

From the story...something was wrong with the gate and the father was pulling on it.

Last night I blamed the father ..based on TV news..after reading the above story..now I'm not so sure.

Accidents happen and some are unavoidable or Unforeseeable.

With the chit load of unenforced law just in home construction etc..it's pointless creating new code..

People need to know how fragile life is..especially your child's.

Can't be too Paranoid with them.

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2015, 9:45 pm

A good welder will use material insuch a way to minimize water collection/rust as well as type of material
Many never clean steel properly so even primed and painted it still rusts later

Local welders are the worst of any tradesmen

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 1st, 2015, 9:58 pm

don`t blame the welders. it have no legislation so they go with what they know .

Postby j.o.e » February 1st, 2015, 10:01 pm

b14inb12 wrote:don`t blame the welders. it have no legislation so they go with what they know .

Allyuh really want gate legislation? lol

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » February 2nd, 2015, 7:50 am

Like alyuh never watch final destination?

Postby Slartibartfast » February 2nd, 2015, 8:16 am

I say bring in the legislation so that people who are affected have a means to seek some form of redress in cases like this.

If the gate was built properly this would not have happened. Unprofessional should not be allowed to fabricate things that could potentially harm someone like the gate has. Therefore once you pay someone to build a gate they basically stating that they are a professional by accepting your money to do so and will be held liable (i.e. get sued) if anything goes wrong with the gate.

And it's not just gates, it's everything in the construction industry. I guarantee you nothing will be enforced but hopefully people start to do the right thing when they start getting charged and sued left right and centre.

Postby desifemlove » February 2nd, 2015, 10:51 am

UML wrote:Really fed up hearing of children being killed by gates.

What I have to ask is, why d fcuk wud a person build or want a gate that was heavy enough to kill or break bones?!!!

What u have to guard so that ur gate must be big and heavy?

God forbid that my gate should fall on anyone but I doubt it cud kill anyone.

Most gates like dat must weigh bout half a tonne........a grown person would get injured at the least, a chile...well...we know what happened....

Postby DVSTT » February 2nd, 2015, 11:15 am

Existing building codes can't be enforced but you all want to implement more?

Postby Slartibartfast » February 2nd, 2015, 11:17 am

Not about enforcing it. It's about making it easier for the client to seek redress for non-performance. But then again, that's assuming the legal system works.

Postby Team Loco » February 2nd, 2015, 12:32 pm

build swing gates. talk done

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » February 2nd, 2015, 12:37 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I say bring in the legislation so that people who are affected have a means to seek some form of redress in cases like this.

If the gate was built properly this would not have happened. Unprofessional should not be allowed to fabricate things that could potentially harm someone like the gate has. Therefore once you pay someone to build a gate they basically stating that they are a professional by accepting your money to do so and will be held liable (i.e. get sued) if anything goes wrong with the gate.

And it's not just gates, it's everything in the construction industry. I guarantee you nothing will be enforced but hopefully people start to do the right thing when they start getting charged and sued left right and centre.

have to agree with you

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » February 2nd, 2015, 12:48 pm

Sigh gates? Really? There are more concerning matters than that...

anyhow, glad this 16yr old younging was found safe! reasons for going missing remains unknown

Last edited by INHUMAN on February 2nd, 2015, 1:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2015, 12:49 pm

govt go remove GATE now good ting i finish my degree

oh wait...

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2015, 12:51 pm

Team Loco wrote:build swing gates. talk done

but errbody want fancy automatic ting now

Postby Redman » February 2nd, 2015, 12:56 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Sigh gates? Really? There are more concerning matters than that...

but we can deal with more than one issue at a time..I think.

Its part of a much larger issue of setting standards for generally better quality of life.
Establishing,Monitoring and enforcing them.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 2nd, 2015, 1:05 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Team Loco wrote:build swing gates. talk done

but errbody want fancy automatic ting now
It have automatic swing gate

SugarFree

Postby SugarFree » February 2nd, 2015, 1:09 pm

desifemlove wrote:ban retarded trinis........would leave a population of 5,000, but so what? more land to build large house.....

And who building the house.?? :agrue: :agrue: :drinking: :drinking:

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2015, 1:30 pm

SugarFree wrote:
desifemlove wrote:ban retarded trinis........would leave a population of 5,000, but so what? more land to build large house.....

And who building the house.?? :agrue: :agrue: :drinking: :drinking:

guyanese....

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2015, 1:30 pm

How come sliding gates does only falk on injun and creole.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 2nd, 2015, 1:46 pm

zoom rader wrote:How come sliding gates does only falk on injun and creole.
I won't even bother.You just hopeless :roll:

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2015, 2:00 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:

Think about it. How come we don't hear about gates falling on ppl in Westmorings. Is it that they pay for quality. The rest of Trinis quick to low ball on prices.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 2nd, 2015, 2:01 pm

Think about it. How come we don't hear about gates falling on ppl in Westmorings. Is it that they pay for quality. The rest of Trinis quick to low ball on prices.
Just this once ZR... just this once be an Elsa and let it go.

Postby desifemlove » February 2nd, 2015, 2:02 pm

cos PNM does mess up QC on purpose to fall on lil indo chirren....

Postby desifemlove » February 2nd, 2015, 2:04 pm

So fault is on manufacturers alone?

erm....which parent leaves dey lil chile near a large object like dat? why not have continuous watch over a toddler?

Postby zoom rader » February 2nd, 2015, 2:09 pm

desifemlove wrote:

erm....which parent leaves dey lil chile near a large object like dat? why not have continuous watch over a toddler?

Like I said how come you don't hear about gates falling on Westmorings ppl.
Is it because they have better parenting skills.

Postby Redman » February 2nd, 2015, 2:17 pm

desifemlove wrote:

Like I said how come you don't hear about gates falling on Westmorings ppl.
Is it because they have better parenting skills.

Cuz when yuh moving a chit load of coke you can afford to call the gate man and to have yuh chirren outside the country?

Dais meh answer since we generalizing and broadbrushing.

Postby MG Man » February 2nd, 2015, 2:20 pm

unfortunate, but to say 'bad parenting / is de mudda fault' etc is rather harsh and judgmental
Clearly some pl in here never tried their hand and managing dem lil critters called kids
I agree they could have had a better designed gate, and we take things like th is waaay too lightly, but to say is de chile mudda fault....harsh