Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The nonsensical argument is to believe that hanging convicted killers from ten years ago will make a huge dent in crime now when present killers don't care because the detection rate is abysmally low. The only way this would make sense is if you highly believe and have proof that most of these convicted killers are carrying out your present killings from inside prison themselves.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:I does do same when Kams rumfle face on......and the propaganda ads too
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The nonsensical argument is to believe that hanging convicted killers from ten years ago will make a huge dent in crime now when present killers don't care because the detection rate is abysmally low. The only way this would make sense is if you highly believe and have proof that most of these convicted killers are carrying out your present killings from inside prison themselves.
De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The nonsensical argument is to believe that hanging convicted killers from ten years ago will make a huge dent in crime now when present killers don't care because the detection rate is abysmally low. The only way this would make sense is if you highly believe and have proof that most of these convicted killers are carrying out your present killings from inside prison themselves.
What also emboldens criminals murderers is that they know that at present, they cannot be hanged. Also, your logic is flawed, since what you essentially are saying is to not hang already convicted persons because you believe that it will not make a difference. Why stop there though? Why not abolish all punishment? People steal, rob, rape, in spite of punishments prescribed for these things.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The nonsensical argument is to believe that hanging convicted killers from ten years ago will make a huge dent in crime now when present killers don't care because the detection rate is abysmally low. The only way this would make sense is if you highly believe and have proof that most of these convicted killers are carrying out your present killings from inside prison themselves.
What also emboldens criminals murderers is that they know that at present, they cannot be hanged. Also, your logic is flawed, since what you essentially are saying is to not hang already convicted persons because you believe that it will not make a difference. Why stop there though? Why not abolish all punishment? People steal, rob, rape, in spite of punishments prescribed for these things.
I think what emboldens anyone is the fact that you won't get caught. Fines and penalties increase for traffic violations and that doesn't reduce the level of law breaking. The only thing that truly causes a dent is being caught.
Note that I never said do not hang anyone. I said that hanging persons convicted of murder from ten years ago will have little if any effect on present crime. So no don't misinterpret what I am saying to try to argue to removing all punishment.
If persons see a police officer on the shoulder they don't take chances because they know they will get caught and charged/fined. A person thinking of committing murder is not thinking as far ahead as hanging. Why? Because he isn't even seeing police officers arresting guys for murder in the first place.
De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The nonsensical argument is to believe that hanging convicted killers from ten years ago will make a huge dent in crime now when present killers don't care because the detection rate is abysmally low. The only way this would make sense is if you highly believe and have proof that most of these convicted killers are carrying out your present killings from inside prison themselves.
I think what emboldens anyone is the fact that you won't get caught. Fines and penalties increase for traffic violations and that doesn't reduce the level of law breaking. The only thing that truly causes a dent is being caught.
Note that I never said do not hang anyone. I said that hanging persons convicted of murder from ten years ago will have little if any effect on present crime. So no don't misinterpret what I am saying to try to argue to removing all punishment.
If persons see a police officer on the shoulder they don't take chances because they know they will get caught and charged/fined. A person thinking of committing murder is not thinking as far ahead as hanging. Why? Because he isn't even seeing police officers arresting guys for murder in the first place.
I am not misinterpreting anything, just pointing out that your logic is flawed. Anyone anti death penalty can point out that capital punishment doesn't lead to a reduction in any country, just as pro death penalty could show you it does for another country. What I am saying is that a consistent application of the death penalty is not only lawful, but worth pursuing ALONG with improved detection rates. How exactly do you know how a murderer thinks anyway? Have you done some type of survey among death row convicts? Has anyone?
mrtrini45 wrote:
UML wrote:If you vote PP, I done with TT
Friday, January 16 2015
OPPOSITION People’s National Movement (PNM) General Election candidate for Mayaro Clarence Rambharat on Wednesday night told supporters if the country votes to keep the People’s Partnership (PP) in office, he will “wash my hands” of Trinidad and Tobago.
The meeting followed Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley’s second walkabout in the constituency currently held by UNC MP Winston ‘‘Gypsy’’ Peters. Rambharat told supporters he left his job at the Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation (HSBC) in Canada on May 20, to work on getting the Opposition back in power.
“I left my job in Canada. I haven’t worked since. My time has been dedicated to getting the PNM back into office. I am 8,000 miles away from my wife and kids. If we lose this election, I wash my hands of this country! If we lose, I will not have a Plan B for you...”
In an attempt to emphasise the crucialness of removing the PP, Rambharat said the Government has done a lousy job of running the country.
“The UNC is a relentless campaign machinery and a relentless mischief machinery...This Government will do anything.. We’ve got an obligation to recover every cent of money for our young people. If the stories are true about six houses and two $20 million houses, then we need to know and recover it,” Rambharat said.
Rambharat was approached by Rowley in December 2013, to join the PNM team. “In December 2013, Rowley approached me and said I would have his personal support.”
Rambharat said he feels comfortable in representing Mayaro in a PNM government and said no one can represent that constituency better than he. “As a candidate, I’m comfortable with what lies in front of me. No one can represent Mayaro better than me.
I won’t waste my time talking about the Government because air time expensive and I want to talk about me.
“Dr Rowley has endorsed our East Coast Renewal Project. Everytime Devant Maharaj stands up in the Senate and attacks me, I have to remind them of the 1992, tripartite report where Dr Rowley was able to bring together all elements of the Sugar Industry, wipe away Caroni’s billion dollar debt and give that company a fresh start. And not long after, Mr Panday came into Government and we know what happened,” Rambharat said.
“A PNM government will talk about agriculture, we have to talk about consumption. We have to talk about where you get your food. And when I sit in a PNM government, I am going to require that my Navet dasheen, my Mayaro fish and my Mayaro coconut water be on the plate of every government minister,” Rambharat said.
Rambharat admitted that winning the votes of Mayaro residents is difficult and he has a hard time especially when he comes into Poole. He urged the PNM brigade to work harder to ensure that in the end, the party succeeds in getting the 1,500 UNC voters in Poole to support him.
“When I get into Poole, I have problems. I see Diego Martin West, Pointe-a-Pierre and Tabaquite (referring to those present at the PNM meeting).
“But I have a more serious battle here. I’ve walked this constituency and people cuss meh.” He said once Mayaro goes to the PNM the party will win the general election.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,205608.html
VERY PATRIOTIC!!!
We see how sincere and that he does not have the country interest at heart since he can abandon ship so quickly and easily!!!
BUT THEN AGAIN...his entire family lives in Canada....so he eh business!!
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The nonsensical argument is to believe that hanging convicted killers from ten years ago will make a huge dent in crime now when present killers don't care because the detection rate is abysmally low. The only way this would make sense is if you highly believe and have proof that most of these convicted killers are carrying out your present killings from inside prison themselves.
I am not misinterpreting anything, just pointing out that your logic is flawed. Anyone anti death penalty can point out that capital punishment doesn't lead to a reduction in any country, just as pro death penalty could show you it does for another country. What I am saying is that a consistent application of the death penalty is not only lawful, but worth pursuing ALONG with improved detection rates. How exactly do you know how a murderer thinks anyway? Have you done some type of survey among death row convicts? Has anyone?
I say you misinterpret simply because you are saying I am anti capital punishment. You will not find that statement anywhere in my posts. In fact in the post you just quoted I stated, "Note that I never stated do not hang anyone." How you can interpret that line to mean I am anti capital punishment I am not sure.
Also at no point in your previous posts did you speak of doing both i.e. hanging and increasing detection rates.
UML wrote:Cost "overruns" and unaccountable/nontransparent budgets....the modus operandi of the PNM
THA always complaining for more money...u see whyNo opening date for Scarborough Library
Sunday, 09 November 2014 00:47
Written by Elizabeth Williams
No opening date for Scarborough Library
IT has been over ten years, and to date the People’s National Movement led Tobago House of Assembly is yet to deliver the Shaw Park Cultural Complex and the Scarborough Library.
The Secretary of the Division of Infrastructure and Public Utilities, Gary Melville says he remains hopeful that both projects will be handed over to the people of Tobago by the end of the year.
The Scarborough Library initial completion cost was $28 million. Today, this has risen to $86 million. Ten years and counting, the project is yet to be completed. “MTS (National Maintenance Training and Security Company Limited) has informed us that the main contractor on the project will hand over the building to the project managers MTS in the coming week,” states Melville. He says the fire suppression system and the information communication technology systems are to be ready by mid-November. “We at the Division of Infrastructure and Public Utilities have every confidence that while we cannot give the public a set date today for the opening of the library, that within an outside time of 6-8 weeks, that we would be able to have a final opening day within that particular period,” says Melville.
Meanwhile, the Shaw Park Cultural Complex, originally budgeted for $196 million, is now projected to cost a whopping $634 million, and Melville says that while there continues to be challenges, work on the project has accelerated. The main contractor is Yorke Structures Limited, with NIPDEC as project manager. “The Tobago House of Assembly is leaving no stone unturned, and resources and systems are being applied towards the completion of those works by the end of this year,” says Melville.
http://www.thetobagonews.com/news/item/ ... gh-library
Epicurus wrote:Thanks to the achievement thread I learnt that there are now box drains everywhere. This is great news indeed. You are confident that there is a great mix at the meetings because you present them with the food cards for their attendance yourself?