Got into an accident...Other driver has no Insurance...

konartis

Re: Got into an accident...Other driver has no Insurance...

Postby konartis » December 26th, 2014, 9:15 pm

pete wrote:Was no insurance or expired insurance?

that's the question of the day!! nice question also!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 26th, 2014, 11:16 pm

konartis wrote:
its the decision of a magistrate, Mg Rambachan in the sanfernando traffic court, the driver coming down the entrance/exit of the SFGH with insurance and turned south onto the lady hales avenue and struck a security van w/ insurance...the driver of the car insisted that he had enuff time to make it unto the road and proceed, he said that the other driver couldve stopped and insisted that he should have insurace to be on the road in order to drive lawfully so....he never accepted liability, he was charged for the matter went before the court, took from 2005-2010 to actually start, at the end, the driver of the car was found guilty of careless driving based on what i said, the driver of the security company was also charged and pleaded guilty in the first appearance for drive no COI, he ended up as the witness for the prosecutor who argued that the offender was prosecuted for his negligence and was on his way to renew his insurance at that time, he stressed that the offender had no right to assume that the driver took heed that uncoming traffic should stop for him
magistrate noted the negligence of the driver and that the vehicle was uninsured, however he said "As a driver you must not and CANNOT anticipate the actions of another driver"

the police prosecute drivers for negligence, thats it....
i have dealth with over 25 cases in traffic, before Rambachan.....

the driver at the end, was told to seek compensation tru private means tho....

and negligence to renew your insurance doesn't trump the negligent driver, its punishable by a ticket for no insurance.
i can go on and on, :fist:
most folks claim the ability to go on and on yet failed to deliver ... first, this was not a civil matter you described here! tell us what did you say that caused a man to be found guilty of careless driving? which driver was told to seek compensation thru private means?

in the case you mentioned , one said that "the other driver could've stopped and insisted that he had enough time to make it unto the road and proceed" its obvious that a response from a magistrate or anyone with sense will go along such lines its only logical! but I cant believe you take that and think you can judge ops case, its foolish to do so! this was based on evidence gathered from that incident. now what do u think that same magistrate would say to the guy who said he was looking at stockpile at the side of the road when he crashed into the op?

in your example, the magistrate did not deal with the matter of compensation,just as in the one I put forth that was a civil matter, the judge did not get into the criminal side of things
guess what? that would now have to be heard as a civil matter where compensation is concerened,but you did not identify which driver was advised to seek compensation, this would have been a perfect case to look at if made available
that is the one I want to see

konartis wrote:but wasting my brain arguing to you a nobody is a waste
lol ..to bad you know who's a nobody, I try to keep it that way but the fact that you responded tells that you don't mind :) maybe just a bit annoyed thanks anyway

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » December 26th, 2014, 11:19 pm

konartis wrote:
pete wrote:Was no insurance or expired insurance?

that's the question of the day!! nice question also!

No insurance! Liability was also accepted as a result of not paying attention...by the driver also

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 26th, 2014, 11:30 pm

yuh good to go op take it easy out there man

Postby desifemlove » December 27th, 2014, 5:38 am

megadoc1 wrote:^by checking his documents and making sure they are in order before hitting the road

sizzla89 wrote:
Just for information purposes the gentleman actually accepted liability and stated that he was looking away at a stockpile when it occurred...but that's not what I am getting at.
just seeing this .... if this is true it means the guy was driving without insurance and not paying attention on the roadways but yet folks here want to say op wrong?

So yuh have x-ray vision? yuh can see into others' cars? lolol...whatever dude..

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 27th, 2014, 10:01 am

desifemlove wrote:So yuh have x-ray vision? yuh can see into others' cars? lolol...whatever dude..
yute man ,you serious? what prompted this sort of thinking?

konartis wrote:that law was amended when the PM driver was caught driving without insurance and won because of this loophole

you should consider making available, a copy of this amended act instead of just making such bold assertions it helps a lot...thanks

robbery

Postby robbery » December 31st, 2014, 2:50 pm

Was in an accident...went thru the insurance route...third party...let's say I was liable...the insurance asked me to pay the excess...my question is, am I legally obligated to pay it? I mean, what is stopping me from just switching insurance companies and not paying the old one the excess?

robbery

Do I need to pay my excess?

Postby robbery » December 31st, 2014, 2:51 pm

Was in an accident...went thru the insurance route...third party...let's say I was liable...the insurance asked me to pay the excess...my question is, am I legally obligated to pay it? I mean, what is stopping me from just switching insurance companies and not paying the old one the excess?

Postby SMc » December 31st, 2014, 2:53 pm

morals for a start?

robbery

Postby robbery » December 31st, 2014, 3:12 pm

Just wanted to know if they could put me in court or send a debt collector after me or any thing?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 31st, 2014, 4:40 pm

hey, pay nah man! excess is how munch again?