Got into an accident...Other driver has no Insurance...

sizzla89

Got into an accident...Other driver has no Insurance...

Postby sizzla89 » December 22nd, 2014, 3:15 pm

Good day Tuners,

My other car would have been involved in an accident whereby it would have been exiting a minor road onto a major road. The actual particulars of the accident are that my car already crossed the first lane and was entering the second lane whereby it was struck.

The insurance company has said that my vehicle was wrong since it was exiting a minor road onto a major road. This maybe true to some extent however my issue is that the other driver had no Insurance in the first place. Who is really at fault in this situation?

Re: Got into an accident...Other driver has no Insurance...

Postby De Dragon » December 22nd, 2014, 3:21 pm

Your car is at fault because you failed to ensure that the way was clear before entering the major road. Did police take reports/come to the scene?

skulls

Postby skulls » December 22nd, 2014, 3:24 pm

Remember and indicator cannot stop a vechile.....:idea:

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 22nd, 2014, 3:33 pm

De Dragon wrote:Your car is at fault because you failed to ensure that the way was clear before entering the major road. Did police take reports/come to the scene?

Yep. Look at the Police report. Never .. never accept or say you are liable.

Technically the major road users has right away over minor road user. But since
you were already on the major road, you can successfully fight .

Not having insurance is not really the issue here. Until payment time.

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » December 22nd, 2014, 3:34 pm

Ok. fair enough...in my head the argument is that the driver did not have any insurance as was not supposed to be driving on the road in the first place. Isn't that valid? Isn't that how it should be?...your car should be legal on the road before you drive it on said road?

Postby redmanjp » December 22nd, 2014, 3:34 pm

no insurance don't mean he CAUSED the accident though he cud be charged with driving without insurance

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 22nd, 2014, 3:34 pm

call alexander and marlan and they go tell yuh

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » December 22nd, 2014, 3:38 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:call alexander and marlan and they go tell yuh

I may do just that.

Postby sliderz1 » December 22nd, 2014, 3:41 pm

sour grapes cause you wrong?

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » December 22nd, 2014, 3:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:no insurance don't mean he CAUSED the accident though he cud be charged with driving without insurance

So ok he didn't cause the accident...Its ok to drive on the nations roads without insurance and get away with it then...the purpose of insurance is being grossly neglected here. What if lives were lost under these circumstances?...If most of you guys are correct in your suggestions then the law needs to be reviewed in these particular instances

Just for information purposes the gentleman actually accepted liability and stated that he was looking away at a stockpile when it occurred...but that's not what I am getting at.

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2014, 3:43 pm

sizzla89 wrote: Who is really at fault in this situation?

you

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2014, 3:46 pm

sizzla89 wrote:So ok he didn't cause the accident...Its ok to drive on the nations roads without insurance and get away with it then.

other driver can be charged immediately for operating a vehicle on a public road without insurance, if the matter is reported to the police & he shows up. If not he can still be charged but it will take a while.

sizzla89 wrote:What if lives were lost under these circumstances?...If most of you guys are correct in your suggestions then the law needs to be reviewed in these particular instances

Any lives lost would've been your fault & you'd be held accountable, the other driver cannot be held accountable for your error on the road.

sizzla89 wrote:Just for information purposes the gentleman actually accepted liability and stated that he was looking away at a stockpile when it occurred...but that's not what I am getting at.

Then why mention it?
And where was the driver of your vehicle looking prior to the collision that he couldn't see the oncoming vehicle?
Last edited by 88sins on December 22nd, 2014, 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » December 22nd, 2014, 3:49 pm

De Dragon wrote:Your car is at fault because you failed to ensure that the way was clear before entering the major road. Did police take reports/come to the scene?

Police took reports etc...But they failed to go to the scene and take measurements and pictures etc.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 22nd, 2014, 3:50 pm

sizzla89 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:call alexander and marlan and they go tell yuh

I may do just that.

u will have to wait until january 5th to call them .....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 22nd, 2014, 3:50 pm

Knew a man once who was driving without insurance. Police stop him and he appeared before the judge, the judge asked him what would be the situation if he hit someone and that person ended up in the hospital, what compensation would they be able to get?

Judge said I can't help you take 6 months.

This was real years ago but I think this is how it should be. If you are caught without insurance you should be jailed for minimum of 1 year without bail. Also you should be jailed if you are caught with a certain M**** one insurance since they never ever pay.

My dad still in court with them after 5 years, guy hit the old civic from behind he was dead wrong hell he even hit a parked car thats how wrong he was. Can't get money from to this day, once I was lucky and got hit from a woman who was with Guardian General boy that was the best accident of my life, first she was a bess thing, secondly I get my money in 1 week time and some more.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on December 22nd, 2014, 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 22nd, 2014, 3:51 pm

sizzla89 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:no insurance don't mean he CAUSED the accident though he cud be charged with driving without insurance

So ok he didn't cause the accident...Its ok to drive on the nations roads without insurance and get away with it then...the purpose of insurance is being grossly neglected here. What if lives were lost under these circumstances?...If most of you guys are correct in your suggestions then the law needs to be reviewed in these particular instances

Just for information purposes the gentleman actually accepted liability and stated that he was looking away at a stockpile when it occurred...but that's not what I am getting at.

Hoss you have the answer right in front of you ! Do not get into complications, like a review of Laws.

If the other driver accepted liability move on quickly and inform YOUR insurance company.

Postby TRAE » December 22nd, 2014, 3:56 pm

no insurance- not supposed to be on the road- yu have right cause you insured, take it as a matter of steps- if he was not supposed to be driving then you wouldn't have gotten hit

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » December 22nd, 2014, 3:57 pm

orangefox wrote:
sizzla89 wrote:

Hoss you have the answer right in front of you ! Do not get into complications, like a review of Laws.

If the other driver accepted liability move on quickly and inform YOUR insurance company.

I advised them of that but it appears that they are trying to make me appear wrong as it is easier for them to get me to pay excess and increase my annual policy and recoup there expense as they go along. They also told me that once I make a claim whether I am wrong or right..my excess would need to be paid and my premium would increase...is that true?

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2014, 3:57 pm

orangefox wrote:If the other driver accepted liability move on quickly and inform YOUR insurance company.

stop tellin ppl sheit.
The insurance will revert to the police investigator, that will tell them their client's vehicle was the causal factor in the collision, & he still wrong.

when all yuh accustomed to drivin is cockroach wit baygon yuh should jus hush yuh blasted mout whe ppl talkin bout d road & cars

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2014, 4:01 pm

sizzla, they may increase your excess/premium. this is how insurance works in T&T. they will cover you for a lil less, as long as they don't ever have to pay out.

nuttn stopping you from discontinuing your policy with them & seeking another insurer when time to renew tho. They can only raise the premium/excess when you go to renew.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 22nd, 2014, 4:07 pm

orangefox wrote:If the other driver accepted liability move on quickly and inform YOUR insurance company.

stop tellin ppl sheit.
The insurance will revert to the police investigator, that will tell them their client's vehicle was the causal factor in the collision, & he still wrong.

when all yuh accustomed to drivin is cockroach wit baygon yuh should jus hush yuh blasted mout whe ppl talkin bout d road & cars

So what the Police investigator say fluffy ? Why you getting vex so papi ? No turkey .. :mrgreen:

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 22nd, 2014, 4:12 pm

^^ Even if Popo say you wrong. You could fight it by your logic that you were on the major
road and the other driver accepted liability since he was not paying attention. These are called
mitigating circumstances.

88 Hammer-boy papi above does not know the Law.

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » December 22nd, 2014, 4:17 pm

orangefox wrote:^^ Even if Popo say you wrong. You could fight it by your logic that you were on the major
road and the other driver accepted liability since he was not paying attention. These are called
mitigating circumstances.

88 Hammer-boy papi above does not know the Law.

Kool...you live and you learn. Thanks!

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 22nd, 2014, 4:19 pm

sizzla89 wrote:

him not having a license and you not exercising caution while entering a major road are mutually exclusive.

The police needs to deal with him and charge him - assuming you did go to the police station.
but you'll have to fix the vehicle yourself.

Postby Rainman » December 22nd, 2014, 5:49 pm

I woulda puddong a dry cry, maybe even tears.

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2014, 6:01 pm

orangefox wrote:^^ Even if Popo say you wrong. You could fight it by your logic that you were on the major road

I could see by this post, that if you weren't so stupid, you would be absolutely nothing

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2014, 6:04 pm

No smokey

"mitigating circumstances"
the popo doh kno what they sayin, he could fight it by his logic

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 22nd, 2014, 6:07 pm

orangefox wrote:^^ Even if Popo say you wrong. You could fight it by your logic that you were on the major road

I could see by this post, that if you weren't so stupid, you would be absolutely nothing

Why you so angry papi ? I am a stranger. No turkey.

Take a drink, eat a ham , and leave the tech stuff to the professionals.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 22nd, 2014, 6:12 pm

^^ OP do not forget to give your statement to the insurance agent. Give your side as explained
above. You may convince them not to raise your premium . It is a matter of communication.
If you try to go elsewhere chances are you will be penalized for something that was not your
fault.

Good luck buddy ! Much success !

Postby K74T » December 22nd, 2014, 6:32 pm

Hope you thanked mama for the nine months she carried you through all the pain and suffering. :)