Fry Turkey, better than baked!!!

Pablo660

Fry Turkey, better than baked!!!

Postby Pablo660 » December 14th, 2014, 7:30 am

I started frying Turkeys early last year and wondering if anyone here has ever tried it. It's the BEST turkey ever.
I would chose this over baked because it stays so moist and the cooking time in less than an hour is great.
I fried a 19 lb turkey for World Cup final lime and tried Cajun style with injection of spices etc
It was the bomb. I'm going to try a different style this year with walnut n syrup glazed

Re: Fry Turkey, better than baked!!!

Postby SMc » December 14th, 2014, 8:14 am

there is info in the 'BBQ' thread i think Pugboy was going to do it, and there were a few that had already done it too...check there

Postby gastly369 » December 14th, 2014, 8:40 am

usually fry up the remainders after with onions n pimentos slight crisp

does lash

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 14th, 2014, 10:31 am

whole turkeys not parts

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2014, 10:57 am

I did a few last year, also used Charbroil infrared roaster.

You need to monitor the temperature to pull it out at otherwise it will overcook fast
Better than oven baked for sure.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 14th, 2014, 1:38 pm

420 degrees, blaze it then glaze it boy

Postby zoom rader » December 14th, 2014, 2:30 pm

Pablo660 wrote:I started frying Turkeys early last year and wondering if anyone here has ever tried it. It's the BEST turkey ever.
I would chose this over baked because it stays so moist and the cooking time in less than an hour is great.
I fried a 19 lb turkey for World Cup final lime and tried Cajun style with injection of spices etc
It was the bomb. I'm going to try a different style this year with walnut n syrup glazed

Bro be careful what you eating. Trini cobo is known as the turkey vulture .

Postby SR » December 14th, 2014, 4:07 pm

Smoked is even better

Postby gt4tified » December 15th, 2014, 8:06 am

Fried anything isn’t anywhere near as healthy as baking, smoking, broiling, BBQing...think about what you are putting into your system carefully because we often only focus on how something tastes rather than how our bodies process it....especially meat. A piece of meat stays in your mouth for a few seconds, but you’ll be surprised how long it stays in your digestive system.

Postby RBphoto » December 15th, 2014, 10:27 am

^^The fired turkey is a different matter tho. Only the surface gets fried. The batter seals in the goodness and once you take it out before it stops steaming, there is little to no oil permeating the meat.

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2014, 3:45 pm

correct, most people are amazed how moist a fried turkey is
oil has to be proper temp to avoid oil sogginess

turkeys are normally not fried with batter

Postby RBphoto » December 15th, 2014, 3:52 pm

^^^Probably some kinda glaze I saw on the one I had?...was very thin.. probably a breadcumb spice rub or something? Anyahoo, when people hear fried turkey, they think either KFC or Chinese style crispy chicken but much bigger... which is NOT the case.

Postby pioneer » December 15th, 2014, 4:14 pm

Not a single recipe posted

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » December 15th, 2014, 6:13 pm

Not a single offer to eat some...

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2014, 6:14 pm

no recipe required, I did a few butterball straight from bag to oil fryer with great results

most turkeys come prebrined with some seasoning, read the label
this thing about green seasoning is not required

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 15th, 2014, 11:45 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Not a single offer to eat some...

this!!!!!! :x

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 16th, 2014, 4:55 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1418719992.206327.jpg

Well I got a butterball turkey fryer and the oil never crosses 375deg so it crisp the outside but the inside is moist n soft
Also it's 3-4 min per pound fry time

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 16th, 2014, 5:02 am

For Pioneer

The Cajun injection is a mixture of
Beer, hot sauce, butter, cayenne, onion and garlic juice, Worcester sauce and black pepper,
Mix in a sauce pan under low heat and inject the bird
Then prep for deep fry
The oil takes about 10-20 min to heat up but the bird is amazing at the end
No oil as it drains for another 10 min

Postby SR » December 16th, 2014, 5:28 am

Use peanut oil and yes temp must be correct otherwise the meat ends up soaking in the oil turkey should not be frozen or very wet when putting in the deep fryer.... recipe for splashing hot oil fire and launching the turkey

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2014, 6:34 am

peanut oil is the real thing but it will bankrupt your wallet and cost more than the meat
5 gallons of peanut oil will be several hundred dollars

I used the regular oil in keg from pricesmart
have to make sure it is not overheated to smoking point where oil starts to breakdown
into carcinogens

the ideal frying temp is around 370-380
rps20141216_063018_522.jpg

Postby RBphoto » December 16th, 2014, 9:38 am

1Jelly @ pugboy's manly kitchen.

Postby RBphoto » December 16th, 2014, 9:39 am

Can this be done in a pressure cooker?

neexis

Postby neexis » December 16th, 2014, 11:02 am

RBphoto wrote:Can this be done in a pressure cooker?

That's a big pressure cooker you have?! Or a small turkey?

I think it needs to be adequately submerged.

How much oil you all normally use to fry up? Also, what you all using to keep the bird upright in those pots?

Postby desifemlove » December 16th, 2014, 11:23 am

lolol....yuh does like fried bird meat all year...and yuh cyah have one day without?

Postby nervewrecker » December 17th, 2014, 9:47 am

pugboy wrote:peanut oil is the real thing but it will bankrupt your wallet and cost more than the meat
5 gallons of peanut oil will be several hundred dollars

I used the regular oil in keg from pricesmart
have to make sure it is not overheated to smoking point where oil starts to breakdown
into carcinogens

the ideal frying temp is around 370-380

Im not sure most people aware of that last line.

Its the main reason I shy away from fried foods at fast food establishments.

Liking the thread so far BTW.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 24th, 2014, 5:42 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1419457351.817421.jpg

Another one mmmmmmmm

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 24th, 2014, 5:44 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1419457462.823873.jpg

Postby Damien » December 24th, 2014, 6:13 pm

coconut oil is much healthier to use, food grade one eh

Postby meccalli » December 24th, 2014, 6:42 pm

Only excessively processed and refined 'coconut oil' possesses a high enough smoke point to handle that sort of job, at that level of refinement- it ceases to have any benefit and chances are you'll be paying for snake oil.

Postby pugboy » December 24th, 2014, 6:48 pm

Pablo that last one real tight, hope there is enough room for the oil temp to circulate
do you open periodically to check internal temp ?

not bothering to fry any this year, trying to start 2015 diet from now, lol
only thing on cards is a ribeye roast tomorrow