San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby RBphoto » November 17th, 2014, 9:16 am

bluesclues wrote:lol why allyuh have to assume im not educated.

Coated for awesomeness because.... no sig :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 17th, 2014, 11:01 am

dedz yet?

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2014, 4:02 pm

Why can't I post images in here?

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2014, 10:30 pm

bluesclues wrote:
joker wrote:
bluesclues wrote:after they spend the remaining money in the treasury the mang will come back and take that highway. after it pave, the road will erode until it become unusable and have to re-fix by jr sammy every monday morning. my issue with this hoghway is the proposed route is BS as an alternate route can be made, but most of all, the cost of the project is absolute bollocks robbery of the highest order. remind me of manning skyscrapers multiplying the price of doubles by 300%

you passed by a civil engineering class today or wah?

He sounds like our security guard at work.

But then I showed him a pic of the mosquito creek that there decades now and no mangrove take it back, no it eh sink into the ground and when he saw the sea on the next side of the wall he exclaim "bomboclatt, ollor south peeople mad yo! Driving on ah f**king road in sea! Not this ni*ga!"

jah say he want a mang dey and if yuh move it he go take it back lol

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MAR ... &smobile=y

“I CANNOT live in a duck pond as a result of the highway,” declared Mohan Chatoor yesterday as he waded through flood water in Fyzabad. Chatoor was just one of the hundreds either marooned in their homes or stranded on the streets after heavy showers caused river banks to burst throughout the south-western peninsula. They had no hope of the waters subsiding by late evening as thousands of dollars were lost in soaked furniture and appliances. Many, including Chatoor, were left disappointed because all their Divali plans were squashed as they could not prepare meals or light deyas, which is customary for the festival. “This is the worst Divali ever,” they said. Chatoor, who lives at Chatoor Avenue, said: “For all the years we have been living here, nothing like this has ever happened. I cannot be living in a duck pond as a result of the highway,” referring to construction of the Solomon Hochoy Highway extension to Point Fortin. “I am a devout Hindu and we cannot study Divali right now. We might have to get floating deyas to light here. Who is compensating us?” Chatoor and other residents emphatically stated they were not supportive of the highway because they said its construction was to be blamed for the severe flooding.

and yes i got my masters at School of CS

ah still sounding like d security guard in work?

Don't have time to watch that vid but what you got your masters in sir?

Masters in CS - "Common Sense"

i studied geography in school and on my own over the years. i already know about soil composition, layers, tables and basins. id say i have a pretty sound understanding of how water works, how it travels through soils and how that relates to our water table. ive studied nature and natural events around the world for many years including our local flooding. based on all that ive learned.. add some good common sense and you'll figure out that there must be diverse effects including reclamation when a swamp is drained and sealed. because of something i call environmental balance. nature has a reason for doing things like setting up swamps where you have plans of building a housing or highway.

let me put it this way. nature always wins. things will balance out. if you take nature's swamp.. she will re-implement it again either in the same place or distribute the effects of the environmental change across diverse places. wherever is the easiest and quickest path for the water to take through soils underground, saturating them, raising the water table and cause exaggerated flooding perhaps where it never had flooding before and all. the water can no longer accumulate as nature expects it where the swamp was. it has to go somewhere. if it erodes the soil under structures, of course, gravity will then take it's effects on the surface when enough erosion due to dissolving particles etc. has occurred under the surface.

i dont think i need a masters to say that that is a very possible assessment based on the information about this highway i have been privy to and my private research on the topics surrounding the building of this highway. you dont move a swamp without regional side effects. that is an accepted fact in geological and environmental studies. that's how nature works. the swamp is there for a reason.

http://pubs.usgs.gov/wri/wri034178/images/fig06.jpg

http://iwmi.dhigroup.com/images/used/sa ... sion2.jpeg

http://img.bhs4.com/ba/e/bae228283bd211 ... _large.jpg

http://img.bhs4.com/d6/0/d6029324d1d40e ... _large.jpg

for those of us with a clue :drinking:

TriP

Postby TriP » November 20th, 2014, 11:46 pm

jus sum pics - Mosquito Creek
s.jpg
w.jpg

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 21st, 2014, 12:03 am

why does the earth looks round when it is flat?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » November 21st, 2014, 12:20 am

Anyone else noticed that they changed the southbound signs at Golconda from indicating the way to Point Fortin to now read Debe?

abbow

Postby abbow » November 21st, 2014, 1:46 pm

yup because it was misleading....

you could have ended up in woodland if one did not know the south land good...
the HW currently ends in debe...

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 21st, 2014, 1:49 pm

pretty cool

Postby UML » November 21st, 2014, 1:57 pm

When I see the amount of work being done, employees, machinery, material, bridges, street signs, street lights, safety measures, oil well capping, land acquisition, delays, repairs, losses, etc and consider it is not only the highway but from Gulf View to the Creek (and I assume beyond) as well I wonder if $7 billion is even enough. This government really working for the people!
Last edited by UML on November 21st, 2014, 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » November 21st, 2014, 2:05 pm

^^^ PNM ppl think other wise, some never even been to south.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 21st, 2014, 4:21 pm

UML wrote:When I see the amount of work being done, employees, machinery, material, bridges, street signs, street lights, safety measures, oil well capping, land acquisition, delays, repairs, losses, etc and consider it is not only the highway but from Gulf View to the Creek (and I assume beyond) as well I wonder if $7 billion is even enough. This government really working for the people!

or they could be selling you a couch set, a new fridge and stove when all you really went in the store for was a pair of shoes.

Postby nervewrecker » November 21st, 2014, 5:37 pm

bluesclues wrote:
UML wrote:When I see the amount of work being done, employees, machinery, material, bridges, street signs, street lights, safety measures, oil well capping, land acquisition, delays, repairs, losses, etc and consider it is not only the highway but from Gulf View to the Creek (and I assume beyond) as well I wonder if $7 billion is even enough. This government really working for the people!

or they could be selling you a couch set, a new fridge and stove when all you really went in the store for was a pair of shoes.

This is where I have to agree with you.

Its a lot of work to be done and I'm hoping pockets aren't being filled when no one is looking.

Should have gotten some pics when the creek jampacked with bumper to bumper traffic though lol

Postby UML » November 21st, 2014, 6:07 pm

....especially when you compare it to our $1,000,000,000 Tarouba Stadium :roll:

Redman/Rfairy how much per meter the PNM pay for that? :|

Postby Redman » November 21st, 2014, 6:25 pm

Ent you say 1B???

Almost as much as the commissions on the hway.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 21st, 2014, 9:18 pm

bluesclues wrote:

This is where I have to agree with you.

Its a lot of work to be done and I'm hoping pockets aren't being filled when no one is looking.

Should have gotten some pics when the creek jampacked with bumper to bumper traffic though lol

the same contractor getting charged in corruption case for bribery etc. in brazil. let's just ask ourselves if that is an isolated case or if that is his usual M.O. from what i saw this highway was railroaded. even if half the country wanted a reroute they wasnt getting it. for whatever reason that highway had to pass where it pass possibly to justify the expenditure. i not against the highway, i against distressing both ppl and nature and overpriced quotes for giant kickbacks syphoning the treasury to do it.

grad

Postby grad » December 5th, 2014, 11:09 pm

Segments of highway to be opened in January

BY January, several segments of the extension of the Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway to Point Fortin should be opened to the public, including part of the controversial Debe to Mon Desir section.

Some portions would have been ready for use at the end of this month, but the recent bad weather delayed completion, said head of the National Infrastructure Development Company Ltd (Nidco) Dr Carson Charles.

“Rain has really slowed down construction, especially the excessive rains we have which are more than what we usually expect at this time. We had some lost days—where we had lost days, we will try to make it up but there will be some delay due to rain. We are still hoping to have the Penal section opened by next year and we are still going past Penal with construction starting in January,” said Charles.

“On the Mon Desir end, we are still hoping to open the segment from St Mary’s Junction straight down to Mon Desir and across to Branch Road, Rousillac. We were trying for December but rain has us now in a bit of a jam, so I think in January, when the sun comes out, we will work on that segment so people could then use the highway. They could use the South Trunk Road, get onto the highway from St Mary’s Junction in Oropouche and they could go all the way down to Branch Road, Rousillac, on the highway by that time,” he added.

Work was also being conducted from Mon Desir to Fyzabad. Construction was halfway completed and if good weather permitted should be ready also by the end of January, Charles said.

He said Nidco wanted to begin works at Penal into San Francique next month.

“We are doing very well from Debe to Penal right now. We are looking to open that segment mid-year. We might be able to open some portions before, but basically we expect to open the Debe to Penal section by the middle of next year. Most of the people have moved out. We still have about one or two persons that still have to move. One at Suchit Trace and the other somewhere near the Penal interchange.”

When the Golconda Interchange was opened on October 20, Charles said the Debe Interchange would have been opened by the end of this month.

However, he explained why the opening would be postponed till next year.

Making reference to the 56-inch cross-island pipeline belonging to National Gas Company (NGC) that was recently repaired, Charles said a bridge was being constructed at the site where the pipeline crosses the highway in Debe.

“The gas line that crosses the highway, because it is so important, we have to build bridges over it. At Debe, just before the interchange, the gas line crosses the highway so we actually made a bridge over the gas line to get access to the highway, the Debe gas corridor bridge which is still under construction. We can’t do the interchange without that bridge. Until that bridge is finished the interchange wont be open.”

There were at least two other “gas corridor bridges”, one at Fyzabad and the other at Vance River Village, La Brea.

Charles said Nidco was still having discussions with NGC and bpTT concerning the gas lines at Vance River since both companies had pipelines in that area.

He said Nidco was more concerned about BP’s gas line since that one needed a huge structure to cross over.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 6th, 2014, 2:55 am

good update....can't wait!

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » December 6th, 2014, 8:48 am

Kubs still living?

Postby Habit7 » December 6th, 2014, 2:27 pm

The bridge after Dumfries Rd on the South Trunck Rd has been nothing but a crater for the last year causing epic traffic. They better start something soon.

Postby UML » December 19th, 2014, 5:45 am

Strange that the landslide on the Claxton Bay Flyover, which happpenes the same time, was not reported or a big issue like the Golconda shoulder one

Postby j.o.e » December 19th, 2014, 6:00 am

UML wrote:Strange that the landslide on the Claxton Bay Flyover, which happpenes the same time, was not reported or a big issue like the Golconda shoulder one

Which road was recently built? A landslide on a 45 year old road and 1 yr old road kinda different IMO

Postby UML » December 19th, 2014, 7:41 am

which one has had time to settle and compact?

it was an issue of extraordinary rainfall...as we see in the aged CB Flyover..not the Propaganda, Hype and Hot Air the PNM were promoting!

:lol: :lol: :lol: @ PNM logic and voters

Postby Habit7 » December 19th, 2014, 7:53 am

UML wrote:which one has had time to settle and compact?

it was an issue of extraordinary rainfall...as we see in the aged CB Flyover..not the Propaganda, Hype and Hot Air the PNM were promoting!

:lol: :lol: :lol: @ PNM logic and voters

According to the govt, it wasn't an issue of settling and compaction, it was because still after a year the appropriate drainage was not done yet.

Be informed UML

Postby UML » December 19th, 2014, 7:56 am

so drainage of the heavy rainfall would have affected it?

so then why did the CB Flyover have a landslide as well?

or did OAS build it as well?

TeamEVO

Postby TeamEVO » December 19th, 2014, 8:11 am

Habit7 wrote:The bridge after Dumfries Rd on the South Trunck Rd has been nothing but a crater for the last year causing epic traffic. They better start something soon.

The name of that bridge is Ally's Creek, and work has started a few months now...piling is completed and they have already started on the next phase of the bridge, sometimes it may seem like no work is ongoing but when certain works are completed (concrete pouring) they have to give it 28 days to cure to ensure that they achieve the design concrete compressive strength.

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2014, 8:50 am

TeamEVO wrote:
Habit7 wrote:The bridge after Dumfries Rd on the South Trunck Rd has been nothing but a crater for the last year causing epic traffic. They better start something soon.

The name of that bridge is Ally's Creek, and work has started a few months now...piling is completed and they have already started on the next phase of the bridge, sometimes it may seem like no work is ongoing but when certain works are completed (concrete pouring) they have to give it 28 days to cure to ensure that they achieve the design concrete compressive strength.

Good update bro as many tuners and the general public would not understand these engineering things.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » December 19th, 2014, 9:07 am

^^passed there 2 nights ago around 9pm and saw a crew of 20-30 people working... Just wish the highway would finish!

TeamEVO

Postby TeamEVO » December 19th, 2014, 9:58 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:^^passed there 2 nights ago around 9pm and saw a crew of 20-30 people working... Just wish the highway would finish!

Everything takes time bro...the thing with big projects like these are we never notice the change drastically, because everything is done in phases and as soon as a structures is finished it is opened and we don't get to appreciate everything in a grand scheme, (i'm not sure if i put myself across clearly here).
On another note all politics aside this highway in my opinion when it is completed will be the best thing to happen in south for a very long time to come, we will look back 5 years from now and say things like "I remember being stuck in the creek for hours trying to get to work, now it takes 20min" "I remember by Debe market being stuck in traffic for so long, I use to have to leave home 30min early to get to work"....

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2014, 10:02 am

^^^ PNM Ppl think otherwise and say project behind time with cost overruns.