New Station to start selling E85 locally!

BRZ

New Station to start selling E85 locally!

Postby BRZ » December 1st, 2014, 12:02 pm

Have been hearing a lot of rumors about a new Station that may open up and start selling E85 on the local market.
Any truth to this?

Re: New Station to start selling E85 locally!

Postby Redman » December 1st, 2014, 12:34 pm

Ive not heard anything...but the MOE regulates the sale of transportation fuel, and therefore will have to amend the law to enable the sale of ANY fuel that is varied(in terms of the law.

If that is done then ALL the stations would be able to do that...
At 1.53 USD a gallon this would just be another fuel to subsidize albeit around the level of diesel.
So Im not sure what the benefit would be.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 1st, 2014, 12:36 pm

Dey wud make a mint

Postby Redman » December 1st, 2014, 12:39 pm

Margins are regulated as well.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 1st, 2014, 12:47 pm

Redman wrote:Ive not heard anything...but the MOE regulates the sale of transportation fuel, and therefore will have to amend the law to enable the sale of ANY fuel that is varied(in terms of the law.

At 1.53 USD a gallon this would just be another fuel to subsidize albeit around the level of diesel.

Will probably sold similar to how race fuels are sold, I doubt it may be at an actual public facing pump.

Postby A172 » December 1st, 2014, 12:52 pm

if dah sellin cheaper than vp lubetech etc hadda fold up

Postby j.o.e » December 1st, 2014, 1:16 pm

Gullible guys in here

FS: Unicorn Meat
unicorn meat.jpg
unicorn meat.jpg (15.49 KiB) Viewed 3290 times

Postby 16 cycles » December 1st, 2014, 1:36 pm

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2014, 1:38 pm

BRZ wrote:Have been hearing a lot of rumors about a new Station that may open up and start selling E85 on the local market.
Any truth to this?

Who would buy this if sold?

Postby A172 » December 1st, 2014, 1:50 pm

BRZ wrote:Have been hearing a lot of rumors about a new Station that may open up and start selling E85 on the local market.
Any truth to this?

only on trinituner u wud see this question

Postby DFC » December 1st, 2014, 1:55 pm

what is e85?

and a new station meaning radio station?

please more info.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 1st, 2014, 2:19 pm

A172 wrote:
Any truth to this?

makes you wonder what would become of tuner if they removed the ole talk forum

Postby Ted_v2 » December 1st, 2014, 2:38 pm

If e85 hit.
I calling down a legacy turbo one time.

Postby tr1ad » December 1st, 2014, 2:45 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
A172 wrote:
Any truth to this?

makes you wonder what would become of tuner if they removed the ole talk forum

well there's a thought!

Postby SMc » December 1st, 2014, 2:51 pm

^^I have only 2 of them requisites... do I need to get a third or I am ok to carry on as I am?

Postby X2 » December 2nd, 2014, 12:17 am

That sounds like a lame rumour.

For the funers... E85 is a high ethanol content fuel that allows cars to make more power without blowing up the engine. It's corrosive, doesn't work in most cars and burns out so fast your head will spin.

E85 would only be in demand from racers... you would need to have about 12 stations minimum to properly service the country otherwise. I would be happy to hear of availability but that just isn't realistic.... I'd be happy to simply get the equivalent of US market 93 pump octane.

Postby black start » December 2nd, 2014, 12:34 am

this ched...:lol:

Postby javishm » December 2nd, 2014, 7:28 am

bra must be happy

Postby sliderz1 » December 2nd, 2014, 9:15 am

did a research paper on this. once we're producing ethanol locally it's a decent market to go after

Postby Dizzy28 » December 2nd, 2014, 9:28 am

sliderz1 wrote:did a research paper on this. once we're producing ethanol locally it's a decent market to go after

Produce ethanol from what though?
With the current price of oil there would be little incentive for blended fuels other than the feel good effect of being green.

Postby sliderz1 » December 2nd, 2014, 9:49 am

reviving sugar cane industry

Postby Dizzy28 » December 2nd, 2014, 9:51 am

sliderz1 wrote:reviving sugar cane industry

^ Anyone knows what has become of the former Caroni lands? I mean statistics wise? What percentage has gone into small farms, housing etc and what percentage remains?

Postby sliderz1 » December 2nd, 2014, 9:56 am

^ Anyone knows what has become of the former Caroni lands? I mean statistics wise? What percentage has gone into small farms, housing etc and what percentage remains?

the report has it all actually. there is still ample acrage to produce an E85 blend to sustain the annual consumption of T&T.

im bounded by confidentialty papers though.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 2nd, 2014, 7:25 pm

I hear Richard Armitage is gonna be the new batman....fleck affleck

link

Postby link » December 3rd, 2014, 7:14 am

Redman wrote:Ive not heard anything...but the MOE regulates the sale of transportation fuel, and therefore will have to amend the law to enable the sale of ANY fuel that is varied(in terms of the law.

don't worry.
as soon as the diesel refining is upgraded & the cost comes on par with super unleaded, we'll see that e85 price suddenly become 'reasonable'
rgds

Postby X2 » December 3rd, 2014, 2:48 pm

sliderz1 wrote:

the report has it all actually. there is still ample acrage to produce an E85 blend to sustain the annual consumption of T&T.

we wouldn't be able to produce enough cane to make e85 at a viable price... and where did you estimate annual consumption in T&T from ? The sky ? We don't have cars with flex-fuel systems... so you'd need to know demand for flex fuel cars before you can estimate e85 demand.... which there is likely zero demand as e85 will not be subsidized if it is made here... hence the price will be well beyond that of premium gas currently.

Remember, the crops that eventually can yield ethanol in the US are ALL government subsidized to a level un-heard of elsewhere in the world.... and US farmers are much more efficient at reaping those crops than we would be at cutting cane.

Like someone said... this ched is lolz...

Postby sliderz1 » December 3rd, 2014, 3:06 pm

X2 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

we wouldn't be able to produce enough cane to make e85 at a viable price... and where did you estimate annual consumption in T&T from ? The sky ? We don't have cars with flex-fuel systems... so you'd need to know demand for flex fuel cars before you can estimate e85 demand.... which there is likely zero demand as e85 will not be subsidized if it is made here... hence the price will be well beyond that of premium gas currently.

Remember, the crops that eventually can yield ethanol in the US are ALL government subsidized to a level un-heard of elsewhere in the world.... and US farmers are much more efficient at reaping those crops than we would be at cutting cane.

Like someone said... this ched is lolz...

wrong

Postby SMc » December 3rd, 2014, 5:22 pm

^^what is correct then..other than just saying that what makes sense is rubbish because that is your thought on the matter.

Postby r3iXmann » December 3rd, 2014, 5:44 pm

X2 wrote:That sounds like a lame rumour.

For the funers... E85 is a high ethanol content fuel that allows cars to make more power without blowing up the engine. It's corrosive, doesn't work in most cars and burns out so fast your head will spin.

E85 would only be in demand from racers... you would need to have about 12 stations minimum to properly service the country otherwise. I would be happy to hear of availability but that just isn't realistic.... I'd be happy to simply get the equivalent of US market 93 pump octane.

Exactly. Almost nobody uses E85 and E91 over here. Don't know what the hype is

Postby X2 » December 3rd, 2014, 6:33 pm

People reading this thread that may be taking the 'yuh go see' claims seriously should also know that, although it is capable of producing more HP per cubic inch of displacement... E85 is consumed by your engine about TWICE as fast as low ethanol gasoline....more fill ups, horrible mileage.

Just look at world consumption... look at the sheer size of the countries that are pushing the E85 agenda... huge land masses with huge populations. Ethanol SEEMS cheaper than gas due to US crop subsidies (farmers paid and financed by the government to grow and sell ethanol producing crops). Unless we grow and process the ethanol here, which requires massive tracts of land, significant investment in plant, staff and equipment, we won't see the price advantage... US subsidized pricing will not be offered in TnT.

Mothballs in gas tank yes... It's a secret all yuh doh know about... yuh go see !