Solved-Engine leak issue Emergency!

Anotrin

Solved-Engine leak issue Emergency!

Postby Anotrin » November 27th, 2014, 7:03 pm

Good day tuners, got stuck with a huge problem coming down the highway today. Seems like a hole has developed in my engine and is leaking out all my coolant. I'm not that mech savvy but and advise on this issue would be much appreciated.
The leak is a bit above the oil filter on a 2005 almera(local) N16 engine. Car will be towed in the morning to the mechanic buit for the time being if anyone can elighten me as to what this means (in terms of repair,parts location, qualified mechanics ,issues to avoid during repair etc) I would be grateful.

-----UPDATE-----
Got a mechanic to do the repair at my house.As it would have required me towing the car to a shop this was great. Guy took out the manifold etc and I got the part at the motorist.$35 for 3 (bought an extra for precautionary measures) .Changed the 2 plugs-good thing as the other seems like it would have lasted a few more days and be destroyed. Took about 2hrs max-included the time to reach motorist in Debe on a Saturday morning! After mounting there was no bubbling etc so i will monitor the fluid level and engine temp for a few days to really know. Below is a pic of the both plugs.Mechanic was reasonable in price even though it was done home by me.
Again thanks for all the info tuners,very much appreciated!

Last edited by Anotrin on November 29th, 2014, 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Engine leak issue Emergency!

Postby pioneer » November 27th, 2014, 7:24 pm

You gonna need a new engine.

Best part is ah N16 engine is about $800 in bamboo.

Cheddar

Postby Cheddar » November 27th, 2014, 7:31 pm

It looks like a water jacket cover. These covers are available at most parts places and are not expensive, just remember to carry the old one when your mechanic takes it out to match the new one to it because parts places may not know the size off hand. Repair is fairly simple just remove old cover apply sealant and put in new cover ensuring it goes in even, but where this one is located the intake manifold would have to be removed to gain access. Your main cost would be labour.

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » November 27th, 2014, 7:44 pm

pioneer wrote:You gonna need a new engine.

Best part is ah N16 engine is about $800 in bamboo.

looks like a water jacket
about $10 at most parts places

Postby pioneer » November 27th, 2014, 7:46 pm

$2000 labor to change a $10 part?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 27th, 2014, 7:47 pm

remove IM, change cover,replace IM, $500 tops...

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » November 27th, 2014, 7:49 pm

pioneer wrote:$2000 labor to change a $10 part?

yuh serious?
yuh know how much of these we changed in various cars allready
the last one was on a Libero wagon,labour wasn't so much
but is up to the guy if he want to buy a new engine
just my 2cents

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » November 27th, 2014, 7:51 pm

Cheddar wrote:It looks like a water jacket cover. These covers are available at most parts places and are not expensive, just remember to carry the old one when your mechanic takes it out to match the new one to it because parts places may not know the size off hand. Repair is fairly simple just remove old cover apply sealant and put in new cover ensuring it goes in even, but where this one is located the intake manifold would have to be removed to gain access. Your main cost would be labour.

Thanks for the info guys. I expected to pull out the manifold. May end up chanrginf all. PIO doh freak me out. Cant handle new engine scene right now

Thanks again

Postby pioneer » November 27th, 2014, 8:19 pm

hyperdude wrote:
pioneer wrote:$2000 labor to change a $10 part?

yuh serious?
yuh know how much of these we changed in various cars allready
the last one was on a Libero wagon,labour wasn't so much
but is up to the guy if he want to buy a new engine
just my 2cents

So what is your price?

zaria

Postby zaria » November 27th, 2014, 8:22 pm

Part cheap.Problem is how long you drove the car with leak.If overheat could cost you a new head and block.
Maybe try and plug with some epoxy($20 )and check for bubbles in radiator,if bubbling then might be best to just replace the engine(if engine is $800),But be warned,no bubbles doesn't mean you got away.Problems can come up later on.
Epoxy is just to test eh.

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » November 27th, 2014, 8:23 pm

for what?
I carry my vehicles to my mechanic
last job cost me $200
and that was to change waterjacket and some other small stuff
sorry can't link anyone to him,he has too much work as is...lolz...

Postby pioneer » November 27th, 2014, 10:38 pm

When you said "we" I thought you meant "you".

My bad.

Postby S_2NR » November 27th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Seriously,buy the new engine and save yourself alot of headache.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 28th, 2014, 1:00 am

wais de water jacket....that lil circular thing?

Fighting the autoprune...

ModMania

Postby ModMania » November 28th, 2014, 6:04 am

S_2NR wrote:Seriously,buy the new engine and save yourself alot of headache.

A whole engine just for a core plug?.....nah man

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » November 28th, 2014, 6:41 am

Talk done,QG's are very common for head problems with the slightest overheating 8-)

zaria

Postby zaria » November 28th, 2014, 7:43 am

ModMania wrote:

A whole engine just for a core plug?.....nah man

Below tuners can see both problem and consequence

You can only see problem

S_2NR wrote:
Seriously,buy the new engine and save yourself alot of headache.

Talk done,QG's are very common for head problems with the slightest overheating 8-)

Postby K74T » November 28th, 2014, 9:10 am

Drop in le SR20 and you orn, oui.

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » November 28th, 2014, 9:11 am

Wil keep that in mind. Guess I need to look for a good engine and a mechanic too. Any recommendations for good mechanics in south?

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » November 28th, 2014, 9:13 am

Did you use Coolant at all? Your water jacket just rusted away........

Postby RBphoto » November 28th, 2014, 9:31 am

bigchief3679 wrote:Did you use Coolant at all? Your water jacket just rusted away........

This, and I doubt the car running a thermostat either. Pro tip, change your thermostat one time whenever you change coolant. Do not put silicone on it as that will damage the seal.

jattsrobby

Postby jattsrobby » November 28th, 2014, 10:00 am

Had similar problem in our almera, first time in 9 yrs i believe, total cost 230.. towed vehicle to the mechanic. Half day fix.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » November 28th, 2014, 10:13 am

water jacket is small thing to change. Might need to tow it unless you mechanic close (3-5 mins away). If its low down on the engine block, all the coolant will leak out. If it higher up by the head, it wont leak that heavy. Happened to me twice. Its about $10 for 1, but i would recommend buying different sizes unless your mechanic take out the one that bad. Ga15/16 carries different sizes based on their location on engine.Not sure on n16.

Postby RBphoto » November 28th, 2014, 10:17 am

^^Best to replace all and done, plus thermostat change, radiator clean/replace and fill with genuine nissan coolant. Good for 4-5 years again easy.

Postby A172 » November 28th, 2014, 10:39 am

K74T wrote:Drop in le SR20 and you orn, oui.

F'real.

Postby pioneer » November 28th, 2014, 11:30 am

sr20.exe

Postby DFC » November 28th, 2014, 11:33 am

that bolt screw on wrongside btw.

take it out and use a left hand spanner and turn ultra clockwise.

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » November 28th, 2014, 12:05 pm

I replaced faulty thermostat earlier this year with new nissan one. I kept losing like about 350 ml of fluid a day and kept topping up with distilled water.thought it was a cap issue as the radiator guys could not find a leaky hose. I guess thst topping up changed thr mix to the point where it started rusting thr caps. I got a mech. Scheduled for Monday. Will change all that can be accessed after the intake comes out.mechanic is about 5 mins away so he suggested epoxy up the hole for the short drive. Hopefully the engine didnt sustain much damage. No lights came on but the guage was high.

Postby RBphoto » November 28th, 2014, 12:25 pm

Hope you get through faddah. Strength and powers!!

jattsrobby

Postby jattsrobby » November 28th, 2014, 1:26 pm

Aren't u supposed to use distilled water in the battery? Never heard of it being used in the radiator.