3ne2nr fishermen

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » October 31st, 2014, 6:04 am

Thanks bro....anybody went behind dem dolphin on d north...plenty out there rite now...catching dem either close in 3-5miles out or out by the rigs...there are a few FAD'S out there too...

mrlantra

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby mrlantra » October 31st, 2014, 1:02 pm

reeLpACE wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1414695501.520576.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1414695522.889088.jpg

Yup, mine will be here in a week or so

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » November 1st, 2014, 10:45 am

ryan99tt wrote:Rubber, when was that?

that was about a month now

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » November 1st, 2014, 10:47 am

ryan99tt wrote:Rubber, when was that?

that was about a month now

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 2nd, 2014, 10:25 pm

Real cro cro bite today in d gulf, dey wasn't giving d salmon a chance to bite. Just a few salmon in between and a hammerhead bout 10lbs.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » November 3rd, 2014, 12:25 pm

proton17 wrote:Real cro cro bite today in d gulf, dey wasn't giving d salmon a chance to bite. Just a few salmon in between and a hammerhead bout 10lbs.

got an approximate location or even better a gps coordinate?

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 3rd, 2014, 8:41 pm

Bout 6 miles out into d gulf like if u come through d middle of the second bocas, like 100 plus feet depth. But actually right now I think on dat side almost anywhere u drop salmon and cro cro biting.

Dem cro cro not even giving d salmon or ancho a gd chance to bite, as ur sinker drop dey biting.
But d ancho and salmon around.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 3rd, 2014, 9:19 pm

It hav ah drop off out there...plenty boats gather there to bank...we hav the spot marked on d gps of the drop off so we get gd action wen we go out...

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 8th, 2014, 7:11 pm

How d shore fishing these days?

Postby joker » November 9th, 2014, 1:23 am

saw some men on CG jetty cedros today from bout 10 am till this evening , looked like they were not having much luck , but saw fish jumping out the water regularly .

RobertsHayden

Postby RobertsHayden » November 9th, 2014, 8:50 pm

joker wrote:saw some men on CG jetty cedros today from bout 10 am till this evening , looked like they were not having much luck , but saw fish jumping out the water regularly .

Passed last weekend and the guys were experiencing the same thing
1415580588512.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 9th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Fishing was hard on d north today...water dirty...held 6 kings and one tarpon bout 130...

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » November 10th, 2014, 9:21 am

Hey can anyone recommend me some good lures for shore line fishing?... Ive never used them before... Only fresh/live bait...

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » November 10th, 2014, 3:33 pm

Start off with a spoon like a kastmaster.... Cast out and reel in, nothing to it
When you get that down then u can try twitch baits (mirrolures), jigs, plugs etc

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » November 10th, 2014, 3:38 pm

Ryan no dolphin? D talk is they around in numbers...A bredren mash dem up bout 2 wks ago caught 12 in a three hr session
I really need to make a tide soon to try for dem.

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » November 10th, 2014, 3:52 pm

Nah, d day before we went out, padnas went out by d rig an make paleass...wen dey heat back up, we will go...btw padnas held like 65 head of dolphin in ah couple hrs wen dey were around...ended up using bout 12 as bait...lol

steve_rms

Postby steve_rms » November 15th, 2014, 1:26 pm

Have some fishing tackle for sale fellas.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=602411

reelman

Postby reelman » November 17th, 2014, 11:26 pm

fishing
Last edited by reelman on December 1st, 2014, 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2014, 7:11 pm

not too sure how to embed a facebook vid...

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=48 ... =2&theater

but very funny..

Postby meccalli » November 18th, 2014, 9:15 pm

Rofl, Lucky he didn't go with his hand, sea lions have some serious teeth. Guy got mugged. :lol:

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » November 19th, 2014, 9:08 am

reeLpACE wrote:Start off with a spoon like a kastmaster.... Cast out and reel in, nothing to it
When you get that down then u can try twitch baits (mirrolures), jigs, plugs etc

Thanks bro... Where can i get one of the kastmaster spoons to buy?!... Mankees?...

grad

Postby grad » November 19th, 2014, 11:30 am

-Roach- wrote:
reeLpACE wrote:Start off with a spoon like a kastmaster.... Cast out and reel in, nothing to it

Thanks bro... Where can i get one of the kastmaster spoons to buy?!... Mankees?...

I also tried some spoon type lures from shore, but no luck. i use braid line so i get some distance on it. i have seen countless vids online how to cast and retreive, but when i try it, nothing bites, ever. sometimes id try about 20 or 30 casts and nothing. you guys have any places in trinidad where you guys actually catch with these spoons, from shore?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 19th, 2014, 3:47 pm

grad wrote:
-Roach- wrote:

I also tried some spoon type lures from shore, but no luck. i use braid line so i get some distance on it. i have seen countless vids online how to cast and retreive, but when i try it, nothing bites, ever. sometimes id try about 20 or 30 casts and nothing. you guys have any places in trinidad where you guys actually catch with these spoons, from shore?

20 to 30? If you are serious about fishing artificials you will make countless casts in a day, especially when you are blind searching (don't have the benefit of a fishfinder, etc). By countless I mean hundreds.

If you are using spoons/jigs etc then you are targeting species like cavalli, tarpon, carite, barracuda etc. Anywhere on the north coast would be a start, but...you have to check the conditions. You have to make sure that the bait are close enough inshore that these predatory fish would follow and then they would be in casting range. That is usually in the middle of the year, but different places have different conditions, the fellas who fish east coast could tell you about conditions up there.

Also, if you are new to this type of fishing I would recommend nylon over braid, it is a lot more forgiving on your fingers. Also, braid is very visible whereas nylon is less so, depending on the colour. You should also use a short wire leader, coffee coloured single strand.

I know some people on the forum have caught fish like snappers on artificials too, you have to vary the speed of your retrieve, and also let the lure sink to different depths to make sure you cover the entire water column. Fish tend to stay deeper as the sun gets higher in the sky, so as I said cover the entire water column.

A kastmaster is a good choice to start with, it wobbles and flashes like a spoon but is a bit heavier so you can cast further and work it deeper in the water.

Where do you go to fish?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » November 19th, 2014, 4:12 pm

^^what he said

Your casting finger, usually your index finger should be sore when ya done... I'm sure I rack up close to 200 casts and retrieves within a 3hr session easy. If u still saltin' then find a new location or try it back at a different tide, time of day or moon phase.... If ya really into it you will start to think like ah fish lol good luck

Postby meccalli » November 19th, 2014, 7:16 pm

Lure fishing easy if you learn fish trends, tides, time of day, structure. Most important thing is if the area holds fish. Resolve yourself to go lure fishing and lure fishing only- you'll make alot of casts and hopefully catch 1 fish, or 2..lol
If you want something a bit more passive, grab one of those DOA shrimp popping corks @ mankees. Cast it in some current and pop it, let it sit, rinse & repeat. But spoons and bucktails really can't be beat if you stick with it, there's always one dumb fish hanging around lol.

grad

Postby grad » November 21st, 2014, 8:11 pm

thanks for all the advice guys. i have only realised i havent been fishing hard enough lol. usually id fish south when i wud set out rods and fish with a hand line too. if i go certain places where i think there would be deeper water id try the spoons, like chaguaramas, cedros jetty or the wreck off sando. thing is everyone would be fishing dead bait and getting lots of bites, so 20 or 30 casts would be my limit before i go back to using hand lines. If everyone around me is getting bites and I am not, well it makes sense to go back to dead bait.

edit: typically i do vary speeds and jig the rod as well sometimes. i do lots of variations.

also is this jetty part of CDA future plans or can we fish here now? lol

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFpJTmPIkbE

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 21st, 2014, 9:05 pm

Yea bro, casting countless times to get that one bite makes it worth that much more...I rather use my braid and a leader of mono or fluoro...I hav superslick 30 an 20 on my onshore gears and caught tarpon up to 80lbs on dem...I hav ah nice inshore rod to sell if anybody interested also a penn torque jigging rod with a battle 8000 up for grabs...

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 21st, 2014, 9:21 pm

Where north side can I get d red 5 gallon gas container to buy reasonably priced. A lil extra gas in d boat nah.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 21st, 2014, 9:23 pm

Went out patos side on ah deep bank last Sunday an come out wit bout 200lbs of salmon ranging from 2-8lbs wit one or two nice deep sea reds in d mix and some racando...

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 22nd, 2014, 7:24 am

Whey, like nobody know........