Transferring A vehicle without Reg owner

freshlexus2006

Transferring A vehicle without Reg owner

Postby freshlexus2006 » October 23rd, 2014, 6:02 pm

Delete
Last edited by freshlexus2006 on November 11th, 2014, 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Transferring A vehicle without Reg owner

Postby skylinechild » October 23rd, 2014, 6:17 pm

freshlexus2006 wrote:Ok so the scenario is someone bought a car from some1 they gave them the original certify copy with chit, two forms of Identification from actual registered owner (not them) because they buy and sell, transfer form signed by registered owner and receipt. Would u still need the actual owner present at the licensing office to get the vehicle transferred to the person or could they just go in by themselves and handle it?

once transfer form is signed there should be any issues.
owner doesnt necessarily need to be present however it may be easier in case the officer start to ask questions.

Postby Team Loco » October 23rd, 2014, 6:46 pm

freshlexus2006 wrote:Ok so the scenario is someone bought a car from some1 they gave them the original certify copy with chit, two forms of Identification from actual registered owner (not them) because they buy and sell, transfer form signed by registered owner and receipt. Would u still need the actual owner present at the licensing office to get the vehicle transferred to the person or could they just go in by themselves and handle it?

Yes. By law both parties must be present. It cannot be transferred by yourself. Its against the law

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 23rd, 2014, 7:07 pm

Both parties need to be present unless car is in company name.
In that case a letter of auth with your name and IF signed by a named director and photocopy of their ID and yours will suffice

aka

Postby aka » October 24th, 2014, 3:01 pm

so whas the scene like if yuh cyah find the registered owner?

freshlexus2006

Postby freshlexus2006 » October 26th, 2014, 11:56 pm

Good question

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 27th, 2014, 1:50 am

too many people buy cars without transferring it into their name. more than half the people selling cars dont have them in their name. its always in the name of either an uncle, friend, padna working offshore or in tobago, or they have copies of the owner id and signed transfer form and it "ready to transfer"

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » October 27th, 2014, 5:39 am

it's also the registered owner's legal obligation to come foward to transfer
however "buy and sell" ppl,get paperwork ready,to avoid hassel,in case of death,injury,or plain
and simple if the owner doesn't want to come foward to transfer,however
as long as paperwork is in order,transfer can be done without registered owner
we do it all the time.....

Details

Postby Details » October 27th, 2014, 6:10 am

I bought a vehicle from a buy and sell person already and that was the scenario, it's not the best practice but once the vehicle in order they not checking for the owner...

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » October 28th, 2014, 9:17 am

Whats the scenario or what can be done to transfer a vehicle if you can't find the owner?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 28th, 2014, 1:54 pm

that procedure isnt legal btw.

ive done it twice and the first time the buy and sell man paid the "fee"

the second time i had to pay 500 dollars to get it done.

although its the obligation of the registered owner to get the car transferred upon sale, its usually the buyer that has to pay for the fee. thats why i think a better practice in selling vehicles in trinidad would be to always include the transfer fee in ur price. no matter what.

and insurance companies are not supposed to issue any insurance for a vehicle unless its the registered owner who can show proof of ownership wants it, or someone from the board of a company authorising it in the case of a company. but they dont do that, which is wrong. the most youre supposed to get from them without proof of insurance and just a transfer fee chit is a one day covernote.

if they do the right thing, then when jack buy a car from paul and decide to squinge on transferring it, he could take it home and wash it and shine it up, drive it in his yard and cant go on the road legally. in that case paul would be safe legally until jack decide to come up with the money for transfer. i know a guy when he buy his cars he never transfer, he does the copy of ids and sign transfer form thing. he has a link up in the worst insurance company and they always grant him insurance. then when he is ready to sell he does the illegal procedure. or sometimes send the new guy to look for the owner.

i was going to buy a car from a guy i saw advertised on the net. it was like 20K cheaper than the average market value, i was keen on getting it as well as sceptical. the man started off by moving rel strange. i check out the car etc. nothing was wrong. the paperwork he had was a photo copy of a certified copy, two copies of ids of some guy, and a signed blank transfer form and a signed blank recipt. he didnt have to explain to me anyting about why thats the paperwork he had. he said the owner is his cousin from offshore or sum like that and he never transferred. tempted to buy it on the spot cuz of the price and the man wants cash right now and for me to take the car right away.... i looked over the paperwork and decided the signature was way too easy to forge, they guy had a rel primary school signature. told him ill go home and make up the money and call him back. then i went tru the directory and searched for the guy from the id card copies. found him and called, the car was a vehicle he had with the man on a work to own arrangement and somehow he got copies of his id and forged everyting. the man thanked me for the information... i dont know what happened after that. its important that the owner of the vehicle be there upon transfer, the lil transfer form thing its too easy to forge.