2 weeks for motorists to get their affairs in order

John_Doe

2 weeks for motorists to get their affairs in order

Postby John_Doe » October 21st, 2014, 10:39 am

In two weeks, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) will initiate a “crackdown” programme which targets motorists for breaches of motoring laws and regulations.

This was disclosed Thursday by PC Brent Batson of the TTPS Road Safety Campaign, during the weekly news briefing at the Police Administration Building on Edward Street, Port of Spain. “The ACP mobile and the senior superintendent of Highway patrols want to express their concerns over the increase in accidents which are taking place over the weekend periods. Drivers continue to operate in a reckless manner and as such we continue our appeals to the motoring public to take note that their actions can have fatal consequences on roadways. “As a result, ACP Doolalchan wants to warn the public that in two weeks time, the Highway patrols will commence a crackdown initiative against all motorists. Everything from inspection stickers, permits, insurance, non-functioning lights, faulty licence plates, defective tyres, and the list goes on, everything will be targeted,” Batson said. He then asked that the motoring public “get their affairs in order” in the coming two weeks to avoid receiving tickets for basic offences. He noted that the exercises were expected to focus on the highways of this country between 10 p.m. and 4 a.m. and that there would be no excuses for any infractions. “Get your documentation in order and make sure that you and your vehicles are in order as there would be no excuses when this crackdown begins…If a hammer is needed to change people’s behaviour on our roadways then so be it,” Batson said. He reiterated his plea for drivers to stay away from alcohol if they knew they had to get behind the wheel later, noting that two of the road fatalities that occurred over the past weekend involved drunk drivers. Batson also asked drivers to observe the speed limits, noting that the tenders to acquire speed guns had opened this week. “The tender was handled by the (Vehicle Management Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago) and on Tuesday, the tenders were opened. If I am not mistaken, five bids were put forward, and following this, an evaluation committee from VMCOTT will review these submissions before the next stage begins. But are we going to wait for the police to be deployed with this high-tech machinery before we change our behaviour? I am saying no! We need to change this behaviour now, check your speedometers now, because the radars we are acquiring are very accurate,” Batson said. —AB

Re: 2 weeks for motorists to get their affairs in order

Postby pete » October 21st, 2014, 10:50 am

10pm to 4am? That to throw people off?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 21st, 2014, 10:50 am

John_Doe wrote:In two weeks, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) will initiate a “crackdown” programme which targets motorists for breaches of motoring laws and regulations.

This was disclosed Thursday by PC Brent Batson of the TTPS Road Safety Campaign, during the weekly news briefing at the Police Administration Building on Edward Street, Port of Spain. “The ACP mobile and the senior superintendent of Highway patrols want to express their concerns over the increase in accidents which are taking place over the weekend periods. Drivers continue to operate in a reckless manner and as such we continue our appeals to the motoring public to take note that their actions can have fatal consequences on roadways. “As a result, ACP Doolalchan wants to warn the public that in two weeks time, the Highway patrols will commence a crackdown initiative against all motorists. Everything from inspection stickers, permits, insurance, non-functioning lights, faulty licence plates, defective tyres, and the list goes on, everything will be targeted,” Batson said. He then asked that the motoring public “get their affairs in order” in the coming two weeks to avoid receiving tickets for basic offences. He noted that the exercises were expected to focus on the highways of this country between 10 p.m. and 4 a.m. and that there would be no excuses for any infractions. “Get your documentation in order and make sure that you and your vehicles are in order as there would be no excuses when this crackdown begins…If a hammer is needed to change people’s behaviour on our roadways then so be it,” Batson said. He reiterated his plea for drivers to stay away from alcohol if they knew they had to get behind the wheel later, noting that two of the road fatalities that occurred over the past weekend involved drunk drivers. Batson also asked drivers to observe the speed limits, noting that the tenders to acquire speed guns had opened this week. “The tender was handled by the (Vehicle Management Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago) and on Tuesday, the tenders were opened. If I am not mistaken, five bids were put forward, and following this, an evaluation committee from VMCOTT will review these submissions before the next stage begins. But are we going to wait for the police to be deployed with this high-tech machinery before we change our behaviour? I am saying no! We need to change this behaviour now, check your speedometers now, because the radars we are acquiring are very accurate,” Batson said. —AB

Yes

Postby pioneer » October 21st, 2014, 10:52 am

Inb4 essay submissions

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2014, 11:11 am

WTK - Anywhere on Caroni Savannah road does vehicle inspection? Hada get a sticker.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 21st, 2014, 11:15 am

I remember warning people about Brent Batson nuthead. Now he has stripes to terrorise people.....people please get your affairs in order

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 21st, 2014, 11:19 am

Slartibartfast wrote:WTK - Anywhere on Caroni Savannah road does vehicle inspection? Hada get a sticker.

"sluttyfartblast" monroe road has a place on the left hand side heading from the highway.

Postby S_2NR » October 21st, 2014, 11:21 am

Lol oh please. These people ain't tired talking and not doing sheit.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2014, 11:21 am

Lol @ fartblast

How far into Muroe Road? Before or after the Mosque and the big field?

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2014, 11:33 am

get your documents in order, but in the meantime, you cannot even get a car transferred properly or get a certified copy in a timely manner

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 21st, 2014, 11:33 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Lol @ fartblast

is 2 to 3 minutes drive from the flyover. not sure if is before or after the mosque/big field. Take ah drive nah man is right dey, you guh find it.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 21st, 2014, 11:46 am

inspection sticker not on lock...guuuud
Last edited by Spitfir3 on October 21st, 2014, 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » October 21st, 2014, 11:53 am

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 21st, 2014, 11:57 am

I transferred my almera from a family member years ago...applied for an updated 2 page copy...guess what the car still on her name......what the hell

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2014, 12:01 pm

they'll tell you the onus was on you to get an updated copy soon after car was sold :-/

Postby SR » October 21st, 2014, 12:02 pm

Lets see licensing pos cashier closes at 12 no matter how long the line still is...salt and they close at 1.....no matter where you are in your transaction.....and if your info is not on the system the request for a card copy is 3 to 4 weeks and it must be inputed on the system first before you can do a transfer......

Yeo

Postby Yeo » October 21st, 2014, 12:14 pm

in two weeks time, the Highway patrols will commence a crackdown initiative against all motorists. Everything from inspection stickers, permits, insurance, non-functioning lights, faulty licence plates, defective tyres, and the list goes on, everything will be targeted

Amm... shouldn't that be the norm? Regular/daily enforcement?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2014, 12:26 pm

lost to all wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Lol @ fartblast

is 2 to 3 minutes drive from the flyover. not sure if is before or after the mosque/big field. Take ah drive nah man is right dey, you guh find it.
tanks man. Blessins on you and yours

Postby sliderz1 » October 21st, 2014, 12:35 pm

lollies

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2014, 12:54 pm

Yeo wrote:
in two weeks time, the Highway patrols will commence a crackdown initiative against all motorists. Everything from inspection stickers, permits, insurance, non-functioning lights, faulty licence plates, defective tyres, and the list goes on, everything will be targeted

Amm... shouldn't that be the norm? Regular/daily enforcement?

you issa police or summ?

dogg

Postby dogg » October 21st, 2014, 1:08 pm

Is the inspection sticker thing now a law?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 21st, 2014, 1:21 pm

and in other news microsoft changes the nokia name to microsoft lumia. big surprise there.

Postby Les Bain » October 21st, 2014, 1:24 pm

Is 10 pm to 4 am they say dey?

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » October 21st, 2014, 9:49 pm

hmmm this outta be interesting...why give a warning tho, an out of the blue crackdown would have spawned alot of tickets and shock everyone into doing the correct thing...no?

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » October 21st, 2014, 10:10 pm

I have ah old nissan 720 pick up I does only use it to carry meh german Sheppard dogs to the vet. Anyone could link ah inspection sticker.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 21st, 2014, 11:42 pm

Finally, I hear it have men on the road "ghost riding whips" whatever that means.

Postby redmanjp » October 22nd, 2014, 1:36 am

ammm- OP what's the source of this article? cause d car hadda fix transmission & get certified copy to do inspection now in less than 2 weeks :shock:

Postby rollingstock » October 22nd, 2014, 1:51 am

Fcuk inspection stikka, I ain't taking off mih tint or anything else, in fact fcuk de poleece

aidan

Postby aidan » October 22nd, 2014, 5:46 am

so how tint does cause bonxedent?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » October 22nd, 2014, 9:09 am

As far as I'm aware inspection sticker is still a grey area.I personally have my stuff in order but after going through that process for proper transfer in the last 4 months I would advise Mr. Batson that TTPS and Licensing Office should take the two weeks and get their affairs in order.

In addition my Navarra was stolen 6months ago and to this date the only time I've seen or heard from TTPS was when it was reported or if I went in, there has been no follow up.